We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a real character hotel”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and a real character hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The rooms aren't perfect and plastic but have real character. When i visit Spain i want to experience Spain and this hotel is very Spanish. The staff are lovely: very helpful, very friendly always smiling, and do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When we go back to cadiz we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Follar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    197
    41
    12
    13
See reviews for
57
292
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel was recommended by regular travellers to the area and it did not disappoint. It is very well situated, delightful, comfortable and friendly. The bedrooms are lovely.

It is 'small but perfectly formed' - you really don't need anything grander in this city, it fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey_UKHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Hotel Argantonio for 3 nights in May 2013 for a wedding. I was somewhat skeptical about staying at a hotel and we were looking at sublets or airbnb properties, but could not find one. Argantonio was a last resort.
Staying there turned out to be excellent luck for us. The Hotel is beautiful, staff friendly and outgoing, and great ambiance. Every morning we ate breakfast in the dining room, which I was expecting to be some rolls and butter, but instead found fresh pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bread, etc. They also made us fresh cafe lattes when we sat.
I was very happy to find this hotel as well as this city. I would recommend both to anyone!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor Fenecia. Everything was great, but didn't see any other rooms to compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is absolutely charming, beautifully decorated, with a modest fountain in the entryway and an inviting bar just across from the reception desk. It is quiet but well-located. Super breakfast. But it is the staff I'll remember best. I made the mistake of renting a car in Seville, and just couldnt bring myself to turn up the narrow street that seemed to be the way to the hotel. After brief discussion by phone, the hotel sent one of their staff to find us on the street, and guide us to the hotel. All the receptionists were charming and more than helpful. After I asked about flamenco, the receptionist called the local Pena Flamenca, discovered there was a competition that evening, and gave us the insider info so that we got a great seat (unforgettable performance). The next day, I needed some things from a pharmacy, but as it was Saturday, all the ones nearby were closed. The owner Theresa and her son Julio drove me to the other side of town, and by the time of our return, we looked forward to having drinks together at the bar that night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisM525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I arrived in Cadiz with no accommodation booked so walked around to find a hotel. I looked at two 3 star hotels, Hotel Patagonia and Hotel Francia Y Paris (new big modern bathrooms had just been installed here but beds could do with updating), and then decided to look at the 2 star Hotel Argantonio. This hotel was better by far, and cheaper too.

The lady on reception was really friendly and the booking/checking in and out process was easy and efficient. I paid 55 euro for a room with breakfast and it is probably the best value I've come across for the standard of hotel. I stayed in the Maratus room, spacious, clean, comfortable bed, air conditioning available (which the other hotels I looked at didn't have switched on for April) and a big bathroom. Breakfast was ok, loads of sweet things available which isn't really what I like, but the coffee was great.

I would come back to this hotel and now will definitely look at 2 star hotels in Spain as it seemed to provide the same facilities as 3 star ones I looked at, but for a better price and in my opinion a nicer room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We noticed this hotel had great reviews on trip adviser so looked it up on it's own website. It looked very picturesque. On arrival it met all our expectations. Wonderful helpful, friendly staff. Clean and in perfect order. Breakfast was great, we could help ourselves to a very good selection of dishes and as it was served between 7.30 am and 11.30 am there was always space for us in the small breakfast room. Our rooms were colonial in décor on the third floor, bright and clean with super bathrooms which included an overhead shower that was always hot and powerful. We were only disturbed once by a few noisy revellers walking by in the early hours of the morning. Not the hotel's fault obviously. The location was in the old town, just behind the port in a narrow side street. It was an easy walk to the bus stop, the ferry port and the railway station. If going into " new" Cadiz for the beach or night-life best to bus or taxi. It is at least a 40 minute walk. The long beach in the new town is award winning for cleanliness and worth a visit. The old town has plenty of walks, A cathedral, museums, a fort, it's own small clean beach, parks and squares to look at. Great hotel and great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKMaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pressbaum, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

If you look for a very romantic small boutique hotel with beautifully decorated rooms, friendly service at a very affordable price right in the middle of Cadiz than you can’t find a better place! Highly recommended and reason enough for us to come back to Cadiz!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Property: Hotel Argantonio
Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing