We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little place”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here after reading other people's reviews of it. It's Moroccan theme make it more endearing and it is in a quiet little street. It is positioned in between everywhere, but it is away from the hustle and bustle. Breakfast was lovely especially the coffee, which was made for you each time. . The staff were fantastic- friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatandAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

The staff here are truly incredible. The hotel is right smack in the center of the old town. The breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are a delight! This was one of my favorite hotels on my entire trip through Spain!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent 3 days and two nights in Cadiz - a lovely city, especially for its individual shops and the Flower Market. This hotel is within walking distance of all shops and restaurants in the old town. It is small, Moroccan themed, friendly and English speaking. The street is hard to find even with sat nav and is very narrow - difficult to wait outside entrance. We were there in November having driven from our home in La Duquesa. Public parking at 22 Euro per 24 hrs is in walking distance (park there first and walk) or catch a bus, taxi from rail station. The hotel does not do evening meals but the breakfast is adequate. The hotel is a little tired but full of character - I liked it and would return. Use email to get whatever detail you need - they reliably get back to you.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is probably best. The front can be a bit noisy. That said we slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We were 2 couples and we stayed here for 1 night. It's not modern and the rooms are a little bare but we had everything we needed and we found it charming. The breakfast is sufficient and there is a bar if you need drinks. The staff were really top class - very friendly and helpful in all ways. It may not be everyone's taste but we liked the local touch and central location. We'll definitely stay here again.
The hotel has no garage but you can park at a public underground parking about 400m away - it's safe and quite spacious compared to most Spanish garages!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SharonInSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This a hotel in the old heart of Cadiz. This is a two star hotel, and is in good location with exceptionally friendly staff. There is a small roof terrace. Our room was on the third floor, small but adequate. The television has many channels in English, including children’s channels. Wi-Fi is free and works well. It is close to the public beach, which was not crowded when we stayed in the second week of October. Temperatures were in the mid 30s Celsius and the sea warm. Breakfast was included in our booking, a decent selection but perfectly adequate to start the day with. For the price, location, and the friendly staff, this is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we stayed in 303 - samira - which was a good-sized and comfortable twin room with large bathroom (shower only). it overlooked the street but we were undisturbed by noise. comfy beds, less comfy pillows. nice continental breakfasts with lovely coffee.

the location is 10 minutes walk from the station and well-located for the rest of the city too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a great place to stay for visiting Cadiz. The whole of the old town is within easy reach on foot and you are less than 15 minutes from bus, train and boat. The hotel is in a quiet street and is built in a traditional town house. The entrance and courtyard are charming with moorish touches - it is quite magical to see it lit by candles as you come in at night. Staff are friendly and breakfast was fine.

Our room was a bit spartan and the bathroom was a little tired, but we had everything we needed - aircon and minibar to chill sherry/beer. We chose a room the third floor, it may be that the rooms on the lower floors are better decorated - you can preview all the rooms on the hotel website.

We had enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The reason for the average rating was that this hotel cost more than double the next most expensive hotel we stayed at in Spain.

Room Tip: You can preview the rooms on the hotel website - worth doing as the rooms vary quite a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
787 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing