We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the Old Town”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the Old Town”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just stayed for 1 night in this lovely small hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. After reading reviews, had requested a room on 3rd floor, with windows opening onto street, and they said they had noticed this and gave us Room 301, which was very nice. Twin beds , good sized bathroom and shower worked very well. Plenty of towels, and little extras. Air con worked too. Very clean. As it was in the old town, the streets are very narrow, so you are looking at a window or wall on the opposite side of the street, but this is to be expected. It was very quiet, and no noise at night. Comfy bed and pillows. We only had toast, orange juice and coffee at breakfast, because that's all we wanted, but thought the choice of the usual continental breakfast was adequate, very nicely presented. Thought this hotel was lovely, definitely value for money. We paid 95 euros for 1 night including breakfast, in good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linpegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    201
    41
    12
    13
See reviews for
58
296
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mora, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous value. We arrived several hours prior to check in, and the staff was so friendly, had no problem holding our luggage for us until the room was ready. When we came back, they had already put our luggage in our room for us!

Most importantly, the beds are very comfy. And the shower... The shower! Great water pressure!

Location is superb. Right next to great shopping and a 5 min walk to the water front.
Quaint decor, like restoration hardware meets anthropologie with a little Arabic flare thrown in.

Super breakfast which was included and made to order cappuccino.

I would stay here every time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkroschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed in Cadiz and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The hotel was perfect. The beds really comfortable and the ambiance so relaxed and tranquil. The staff were all attentive and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. They seemed to have a really good working relationship offering excellent customer service. We were impressed and would highly recommend. I'd love to return to Cadiz and stroll through the charming streets and quiet plazas.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfeet6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel, well situated in the old city, has plenty of character and charm. We enjoyed staying there and the staff were very helpful. It doesn't really quite deserve the very good rating but is a bit better than the average I have given. Needs some refurbishment in places, breakfast average. The bed, however, was not very good as it sagged in the middle and so wasn't comfortable. The hotel should do something about this, especially with the prices they charge. Would go there again but would look at other options first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberdade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location - an easy to walk to all the sites. Hotel was very clean and friendly. We had a room with large windows that opened to the street and during siesta the neighbor played his violin, it was wonderful. I highly recommend the Hotel Argantonio and will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful with suggestions.
My room was perfect, quiet and very clean. The water for the shower never heated, but I was ok.
The setting you enter into is peaceful, and very quaint. Restored beautifully.
Breakfast was great too, perfect before setting out and exploring.
Great location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We booked online from England as part of two city break to Seville and Cadiz. The hotel is located in a good position in the old part of the and just a short walk to the cathedral and town centre. The room was classed as deluxe and was of good proportions with a large table, fireplace and private terrace. The bathroom was huge but also contained the wardrobes behind mirrors for clothes and is where the safe is located. Initial impressions are very good but on closer inspection there is evidence of lack and care of attention to detail. The private terrace had metal chairs and tables that were going rusty and there was only one cushion! The Venetian blinds in the room were only just serviceable with one of the controls missing and one blind that you couldn't raise. The bath room was big with a whirlpool bath but no proper shower only a handset coming off the bath taps and no bath screen or shower holder. Breakfast was good with a variety of sweet and savoury items and good strong coffee. The staff have been pleasant and helpful and the room was serviced well each day. However not convinced that this hotel offers the best value for money the money we paid.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robocor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#5 of 28 in Cadiz
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#4 of 28 in Cadiz
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Property: Hotel Argantonio
Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cadiz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing