We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great little hotel, rooms not large but bright and lovely painted doors. Excellent breakfast in charming dining room, foyer candlelight at night, so pretty. Nice little roof garden. Helpful staff. Good location and good value.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ramona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Argantonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back from staying at Argantonio for one week. We arrived about 1pm and were greeted by very friendly staff. We had booked online and requested a balcony room. The room wasn't ready but we were told there were 2 rooms which would be available and if we wanted we could choose which one we wanted. We were taken to the second floor and shown both rooms, a very nice welcome . Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the old town with some wonderful tapas bars and restaurants nearby. Reception staff booked a table for us at Cava Flamenca Bar which was well worth the visit and only a 5 minute walk. We were glad to have arranged a transfer from Jerez airport as Cadiz old town has very narrow streets and quite easy to get lost in. Excellent value for money and would certainly recommend to family or friends travelling to Cadiz

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My Fiancé and I stayed at the Argantonio for one night in June when we drove up from Gibraltar for the day.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of the old town making it easy to walk everywhere (make sure to check google map if driving in, it will make it very easy to find)

We booked online and when I emailed the hotel for confirmation they were good enough to even tell me what room we were in, this meant we could view the room on their site before we arrived.

The reception was warm and we were able to leave our bags at reception whilst we went for a walk, we arrived at 12 noon but check in is at 2pm.
We arrived back and our bags were in the room already.
The room itself was well appointed and furnished nicely, the bathroom was very modern for such an old building and spotless.

We had a good nights sleep, very peaceful and a great bed.

Breakfast the next morning was a relaxed affair, a good continental offering with good service.

The staff at this hotel are great, we will certainly recommend it to friends going to Cadiz.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CapetownManager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions (multiple nights each time) and would certainly return when in Cadiz again. This rightfully gets a listing in the lonely plant guide with the standout features being the location of the hotel (easy to get to on arrival when carting luggage from bus/ train/ ferry and easy to walk the old town) and the level of service by the staff. The rooms are simple and effectively decorated, extremely clean. They may be considered on the smaller side, but for the price and compared to other options in Cadiz, this is an insignificant concern and the hotel is highly competitive for its price point. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, yoghurt, breads, cheeses and pastries. I would like to see a little more fruit and was thankful not to see the hot English breakfast options. Prices will vary around peak seasons and on both occasions when I stayed, I was a ‘walk in’ and found the price I paid was reasonable to what other guest were paying. However, don’t chance this as a ‘walk in’, book in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TessaCastlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Everything was just TERRIFIC We arrived very late and we were welcomed by the staff in front of the hotel... and we started our great time there.
Very rich and good breakfast, clean rooms, extremely friendly and helpfull staff from the first till the last minute of our staying there!
Good value for money! I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just stayed for 1 night in this lovely small hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. After reading reviews, had requested a room on 3rd floor, with windows opening onto street, and they said they had noticed this and gave us Room 301, which was very nice. Twin beds , good sized bathroom and shower worked very well. Plenty of towels, and little extras. Air con worked too. Very clean. As it was in the old town, the streets are very narrow, so you are looking at a window or wall on the opposite side of the street, but this is to be expected. It was very quiet, and no noise at night. Comfy bed and pillows. We only had toast, orange juice and coffee at breakfast, because that's all we wanted, but thought the choice of the usual continental breakfast was adequate, very nicely presented. Thought this hotel was lovely, definitely value for money. We paid 95 euros for 1 night including breakfast, in good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linpegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous value. We arrived several hours prior to check in, and the staff was so friendly, had no problem holding our luggage for us until the room was ready. When we came back, they had already put our luggage in our room for us!

Most importantly, the beds are very comfy. And the shower... The shower! Great water pressure!

Location is superb. Right next to great shopping and a 5 min walk to the water front.
Quaint decor, like restoration hardware meets anthropologie with a little Arabic flare thrown in.

Super breakfast which was included and made to order cappuccino.

I would stay here every time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kkroschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#6 of 28 in Cadiz
771 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patagonia Sur
Hotel Patagonia Sur
#10 of 28 in Cadiz
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range: £74 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing