We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite hotel so far!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Argantonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Argantonio
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Cadiz
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite hotel so far!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Loved our stay at Hotel Argantonio. It's a cute roccoco style family run hotel right in the centre of Cadiz. Quiet, clean, spacious and staff are pleasant. It's no 5 star hotel but you get what you pay for and more. Perfect for a romantic break

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripDublin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    188
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
55
279
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Such a sweet, cozy hotel! The decor impresses the most. As the name of the hotel indicates (Arg - antonio), you can find in there lots of silver details like mirrors, heavy silver frames, cutlery, pots. You'll find there also lots of mosaics, arabic-style details, and stylish wooden furniture. All that very cleverly is put together. The finish touch is not cheap and accidental as it can be in 2 star hotels. Breakfast was lovely served, very memorable indeed.
We had wonderful time there!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princeps79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel is really beautiful, with Moorish styling. Each room has been decorated with care and individual styling. I absolutely loved the decor. It is fantastic. The location is also great, in the old town, a few minutes walk from the shops and tapas bars. It is about ten or fifteen minutes to the beach on foot. The staff are very kind and friendly. There are lovely, locally sourced toiletries in the rooms, as well as a mini bar with free soft drinks and flat screen TVs. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and there is free internet. The problem for us was noise. Because the building is a typical Andalucian patio, the sound travels very easily from floor to floor and we were awoken early in the morning by breakfast-ers and late at night by people returning from the bars. Not very relaxing for a holiday. A second, small niggle is that there is not much room to hang or store your clothes. The wardrobe is tiny and a few more hangers would be nice. In summary, this place is fine for a short stay and much better decorative standard than a two star.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Situated in a back street within 2 mins of the main shopping area this hotel is very well situated. At first glance the street is a little dark and grubby but the hotel surpasses any expectations that the setting may suggest. It has approximately 12 rooms around a central atrium over 3 floors. The hotel is well maintained using moorish designs throughout. There is a small bar/coffee bar in the lobby. The breakfast room is cute and the breakfast ample. The only let down is that, at breakfast, only the first cup of coffee is free. Even in the meanest, cheapest hotels I have stayed in, hot drinks at breakfast have been unlimited.

Every thing in Cadiz seemed within walking distance and there were plenty of bars and restaurants within a 10 minute radius of the hotel.

Our room was small but more than sufficient for a 2 night stay. The window faced in to the atrium so the room was a little dark, but that also meant it remained cool. The mini refrigerator was a welcome bonus.

One word of warning, although I used their web site and thought I had made a reservation (the word "reservation" was also in 14pt, bold on the confirmation email).. I HAD NOT. The email was simply confirmation of room availability and a further email was required to make a reservation. Not clear at all if your spanish is scanty or you fail to translate the text of the email. Luckily for my partner and I, they had a room available when we arrived (without a reservation).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Ga.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We loved our stay at this charming hotel . We had GREAT difficulty finding a hotel that would accomodate 3 of us in central Cadiz (not Cadiz district). This hotel was perfect. It is about a 5 minute ride by taxi to the hotel. Carmen made us feel welcome. I even left my $350 sunglasses (Maui Jim) in the lobby and she held them for me the next day. We found a restaurant with fantastic Tapas and Great sangria. It is called. Balandro. We ate in the formal restaurant one night ,but felt the value and food was better in the Tapas section. The Sangria included red wine, Malibu Rum and Orange flavored Quantra?? along with the usual fruit and Fanta orange. I made it two days ago for a party and it was great.
The beach is within walking distance of the hotel, maybe a 20 minute walk. The shopping is good in Cadiz. It's a great town and one I would want to return to someday. I read on trip advisor that there was sometimes noise in the hotel. This was not a problem. One time we heard a neighbor. Oh, the TV's are volume controlled so you can't turn it way up. Once we heard a barking dog, but otherwise it was quiet. The breakfast buffet was one of the very best we had in all of Spain. I think we paid 143 Euros a night for a triple room which included breakfast. Our last day we had an early train and one of the employees got up early and set up the bulk of the breakfast buffet just for our family. I think the buffet opened at 7:30 and we had to leave at 7 AM. It was really yummy with a large variety.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I spent a few nights in this hotel in Cadiz and I love it. It has an elegant decor, it is clean and comfortable. It was my first time in Cadiz and I had a hard time finding the street, arriving late at night; once I got there everything was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soraya-marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights 4 days . The staff was very nice, charming and helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean and very nice decorated. Breakfast was yummy!, just perfect. Very nice place to stay my 8 year old son loved it. Very well located. We had a great time in Cádiz!!!.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mispapuchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadiz hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Convento Cadiz
Hotel Convento Cadiz
#5 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tryp Cadiz la Caleta Hotel
1.5 mi away
Occidental Cadiz
Occidental Cadiz
#4 of 29 in Cadiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argantonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argantonio

Property: Hotel Argantonio
Address: Calle Argantonio 3, 11004 Cadiz, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Cadiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argantonio 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Argantonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argantonio Hotel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing