We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for families but limited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos.
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a great time, though mostly by the main pool where deck chairs were easily available and the size of the pool ensured everyone had ample soace. Saying that it was frequently empty. The pool at the bottom of the complex has 2 simple water slides but was popular for younger children. There are 5 pools in all.
our room was towards the end of he complex which necessated a long walk unless we left the sliding door to the gardens unlocked. Depends upon how much you trust he security and fellow guests. Saying that out ground floor room felt safe and secluded.
Food: we eat fish (not seafood)/vegetarian. We only ate at the restaurant beside the children's pool. Limited selection, acceptable, boring after the first night.
the fact this hotel was 20 min from Cadiz did not bother us. We enjoyed exploring. My wife tried the beach, returned after 30 mins saying it was too crowded and pretty horrific. Depends on personal taste.

Room Tip: For easy access to pools ask for rooms on floor -1, it's also away frim the corridors everyone h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great location right by Playa de la Barrossa, with a selection of beach bars nearby and wider selection of restaurants, within 20 mins walk. Good bus service, free car parking limited on site, but plenty of space on adjacent roads, even when very busy at wkends.

Apartments were very clean, well equipped, with comfy beds. We were situated over looking the pool, which was quiet noisy during the day (as expected), but was never hardly in during the day anyway. The pool did get very busy at wkends, with a limited amount of loungers, many guests had to sit on the grass.

It is a popular place for the local tourists, we never met any English tourists, many other Europeans were residents at the same time.

Overall a very pleasant stay, we found the apartments perfect for us traveling as a couple. Convenient base for exploring Cadiz and further a field to Tarifa and Gibraltar, with good motorway connections.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxfilly39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in this area as we were meeting friends on holiday here. The self-catering units are spacious and well-equipped. There is a nice pool with loungers and one is in walking distance to the beach and many restaurants close by. This is definitely a less costly option than many of the more up- market all inclusive resorts nearby and can certainly be recommended. The staff are professional and helpful and the visitors seemed mainly Spanish.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the swimming pool or the restaurant area, as these can be rather n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIA G, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos., responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear ExpostaySA,
we thank you for your comments received and we are happy because you had a pleasant stay with us. I hope you to come back soon to the Sol Sancti Petri.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is a nice hotel, very well located near Playa de la Barrosa, a 5 minutes walking to this wonderful beach. Recommended for families. A good breakfast and friendly service. During peak time at summer, it could be very crowded, but this is normal in Cádiz during August. From the hotel you can go walk to a mall, with some good restaurants. From this hotel, you will be able to discover the nice surroundings, and it is worth a visit to Verger de la Frontera, a white-town with arabic origins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Spent a few days at the Sol Sancti Petri at the end of June. Very clean and spacious apartment at a very reasonable price. Only the kitchenette was in need of some maintenance. Pool area and lawns very well kept and clean. Did not use buffet area so cannot comment. The location is very good, just a few minutes walk to the lovely Barrosa beach and about 15 minutes from restaurants and shopping area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Good location, nice facilities and the best beach possible

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The location is quite good just 50 metres from the beach, overall the place is quite clean the apartments do need to be overhauled but are quite nice. The whole area is very peaceful. The breakfast buffet is quite nice and there is a wide range of food which i think would satisfy just about anyone.The staff are very friendly and willing to help when asked. The pool is reasonably sized although at times there are not enough sunbeds. There are gardens all around the complex.
The aparments are a bit outdated but this to me is not a problem, ive come here five or six times in the past four years although in summer i do find it to e expensive compared to other places in the area. They do close over the autumn and winter as its really a summer complex with not much to do in the cold season.
I hope that thay do refurbish this complex as i find that its location and staff make a great destination as long as you are looking for peace, rest and plenty of sun

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are in my opnion the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclana de la Frontera hotels
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Park
Hipotels Barrosa Park
#9 of 24 in Chiclana de la Frontera
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana
Valentin Sancti Petri Hotel Chic...
#5 of 24 in Chiclana de la Frontera
1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Dunas Aparthotel
Las Dunas Aparthotel
#9 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#3 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos.

Address: C/ Novo Sancti Petri, 11130, Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Chiclana de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chiclana de la Frontera
Price Range: £52 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos. 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Sancti Petri Apartments. In Costa de la Luz, Chiclana de la Frontera (Cadiz) and in the Novo Sancti Petri, next to beach of La Barrosa. is the ideal option for travelling with family, friends or your partner. The apartments are fully equipped with a hall, bedroom, separate living room with sofa bed, the mayority of the apatments have an equipped kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, AACC, Telephone, Bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, mirror whole body, safe (*) furnished terrace (table / chairs). Restaurant Buffet, Snack Bar Pool Bar Restaurant* (*open in high season). Magnificent lagoon-style pool and sun terrace surrounded by gardens, a children’s pool, children’s play area, internet corner (*), private parking (*) and Mini-Market (*). Outside the Hotel there is the possibility to practice different sports (*) as tennis, paddle tennis, cycling, football, golf, horse riding, and water sports. Activities outside the hotel (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Sancti Petri by Melia Aptos. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Sancti Petri Hotel Chiclana De La Frontera
Sol Sancti Petri Resort
Sol Sancti Petri By Melia Aptos. Andalucia, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing