We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyably Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyably Quirky”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good location, nice rooms and lovely quiet pool area. Quite a busy hotel for functions, but not particularly noisy. We stayed for 6 nights and used the hotel as base for getting out and about to explore the nearby towns and villages. Just a part of a great holiday in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    236
    155
    59
    40
See reviews for
75
354
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night - had 2 rooms. Both rooms looked very tired and the plastic floors installed on top of the old carpet floors were worn through leaving the old carpets below visible - in both rooms.
Such a pity in an otherwise nicely remodeled old monestery. The hotel needs to urgently refurbish - at least the 2 "superior" rooms we had. I would not stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in June 2014. Location very good for El Puerto. Hotel very quirky. Pool area clean. Wifi didnt work in our rooms and had great problems getting a signal in various parts of the hotel. Rooms a bit tired could do with a revamp but kept clean. Breakfast a bit of a hit and miss staff couldnt seem to cope if the breakfast room was busy. Staff werent that friendly but hey ho we all have off days...........

Room Tip: Although free wifi is available to most residents....................we didnt get a signal in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The best choice for that money, hotel was wonderful. We travelled to Cadiz, and it is very near to Puerto de Santa Maria with a train or ship. Monasterio de San Miguel is very beautiful, wifi works good, breakfast was excellent. Our triple room had even 2 habitations, one with 2 beds and another one with one bed and sofa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Daina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A completely transformed convent/monastery, with very well decorated public spaces and full of religious art and artifacts...quirky but attractive and tasteful. Is IS a bit sprawling, and I found it to be a bit confusing to navigate the various levels and corridors around the breakfast area, restaurant, and parking garage. Having said that, we 4 enjoyed the hotel and it's location. 2 of our party had limited mobility but that did not have too much of an impact on our stay at the hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were good, spacious, and very clean. We stayed three nights with half pension which we took as dinner each night. The food and service started out very average our first night midweek and got better each night towards the weekend. Breakfast was not vast, but the quality was excellent with fresh fruits, juices, a few hot choices, and a very good selection of pastries. Good coffee. We would stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 112 is very quiet but not much of a view. Ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKChang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wonderful hotel location and exterior, and reception / common areas excellent, clean, interesting artefacts.
Food and Drink very good value.
Bedrooms fine but lack feel quite ordinary compared to the overall hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is my first visit to the area and I was very glad I stayed at the Monasterio.
We had a superior room overlooking the gardens . It was a twin with balcony and large bathroom. The place was scrupulously clean and beds very comfortable. My only niggle was there was chipped plaster behind the curtain, some of the veneer boards on the floor needed repair and we think some ants had come in via the balcony but only a couple.
One thing I could really done with is tea making facilities in the room but it did come equipped with fridge, safe and hair dryer so must complain.
We stayed on a B&B basis and were very happy with the food and quantities (it was buffet). Breakfast is served up to 1030am.

For lunch/dinner we chose to eat in the cafeteria which is part of the hotel. Limited menu but food was good and waiting staff pleasant. We did look around town but suspect, being low season (end of March) many places were closed for the Lenten break??

Anyway overall we had a very nice time and would definitely recommend this hotel: it's clean, very comfortable and has beautiful public rooms decorated in fantastic antiques and fresh flowers.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nickinbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
#2 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodega Real Hotel
Bodega Real Hotel
#8 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#9 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Cantaros
Hotel Los Cantaros
#6 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
#5 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel

Property: Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de los Milagros 27, 11500, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in El Puerto de Santa Maria, Monasterio de San Miguel offers 4-star accommodation, as well as a swimming pool. It also provides valet parking, a concierge and a currency exchange. The rooms are air conditioned and include free wireless internet access. The hotel's restaurant, El Claustro, serves Spanish dishes. In the evening, guests are invited to enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. Buffet breakfast is served daily. Monasterio de San Miguel is ideally situated in Jerez - Xeres - Sherry, making it easy for guests to try the region's specialities. There are also a variety of popular restaurants and bars nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monasterio San Miguel
Monasterio San Miguel cádiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing