We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient apartment-dated but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed recently in this two bedroom apartment in El Puerto de Santa Maria. Nice accomodations. Very friendly and helpful staff. There were two bathrooms-one with a shower, two TV's, kitchenette, laundry machine, small fridge, and all the necessary plates/utensils for a long stay. The beds (two separated twin beds) were small and somewhat inconvenient for a couple to sleep together. The breakfast buffet was included for the very reasonable price, and was a great selection of all food types (Spanish and Western options). Overall, a very nice experience for the price.

Room Tip: See if you can get a queen bed and not two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

My company housed me in one of the serviced apartments in the hotel grounds.
Everything is clean and tidy, a little dated but that's okay.

The cleaning and laundry service is very good, and the staff are really pleasant and helpful.

Shame it's winter, as there is a nice pool in tropical garden setting, but alas it's not heated!

A few minute walk across the street, there's bars restaurants and banks, so all you need really.

There is a great beach 10 mins drive down to Las Redes, which has a nice vibe about it. I've surfed there a few times and the locals are really friendly too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulldogwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel for over three weeks the room was large ours had a large sunken bath in it and the shower was in the bathroom which was very clean, we had a small balcony but to be honest the area around the pool is just lovely, there is a pool bar manned by Mercedes or Maria but I have to say part of the charm of this hotel is the great staff!
I have breakfast in the most delightful bright breakfast/ dining room fresh orange juice bread pastries local ham fruit very tasty we had the three course menu it was also delicious and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just got transferred to the area and while we house hunted, we stayed at Los Jandalos. We had a two bedroom/kitchenette apartment. It is a large and older property, but beautifully landscaped and located in a PERFECT location for varied shopping, eating and going to the beach. There is minibus service. The pool area is excellent, private and very relaxing. The hotel has it's own restaurant, which we tried just once for breakfast and the buffet was plentiful. I agree with another reviewer that the furnishings are "tired" - they were just plain old and drab, but there is a nice TV with cable and free internet; telephone, washing machine and a spacious porch - really enjoyed the air conditioning. The hotel also has a spa, but we didn't experience it. The hotel also has a special deal with Europcar Car Rental, so we took advantage of a low daily rate.

Los Jandalos is located in Vistahermosa which used to be a gated golf community - it is an upscale neighborhood with excellent bus service - the houses are all beautiful. The entire area is wonderfully landscaped and very clean. The drive to Rota Naval Station is at most 10 minutes. Two grocery stores are within walking distance - 2 or 3 blocks.

We had an affordable rate right before high season, but had we stayed longer, the rate would have exceed the government allowed per diem. For having stayed as long as we did, we are disappointed that the staff was not consistent in their service - they are all very moody, but one person in particular - Emilio - was a delight. I suggest that if you are going to stay, make sure not to stay in apartments 405 or 406 (we were in 406). They are located right above the reception area which is always very busy and you can consistently hear the comings and goings.

Room Tip: Do not stay in apartments 405 nor 406, located right above the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I was under the impression that I had booked a Hotel room but because we were three adults and a child travelling together we were put into one of the apartments. I can understand the thinking behind this and it was nice to have two separate bedrooms but the lounge/kitchen was very tired with well used furniture and a very old TV with poor reception whether accessing the Spanish TV channels or using the DVD player. It was clean and the linen, curtains and towels appeared new.
The garden and pool area were very nice but the pool bar was not open at all and the restaurant did not open until 8.30pm. Not good with a young child. They did do room service and I saw the cleaners delivering meals to some of the apartments close by. We did not try it. The small two seater sofa had seen better days and with only the addition of a bamboo seated armchair there was little real comfort for relaxing or watching the TV, although there was a more up to date flat screen in one of the bedrooms. The staff were very welcoming and when we had to leave after one night thorugh our child's illness they did not charge us for the second night which we had booked. The superior rooms are obviously of a higher standard and the Hotel did look more luxurious. I guess our rate of 110 euros was a fair price for what we got but it was disappointing

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Having never traveled to Spain the thought of being in a hotel during the day without my husband had me nervous but I felt safe and secure the moment we arrived here. There is a security gate to buzz you in. We were greeted warmly by the receptionist who was able to speak English and tell us everything we needed to know about their facilities. We were staying in the Supreme section which granted us privileged to an additional pool and thermal pool separate from the regular guests. The landscaping is gorgeous, the amenities abound and the wind constantly blows through the trees setting the atmosphere. The room is spacious with double bed, settee, a sitting area with couch and chair, balcony with table and chairs and a large bathroom with shower, and tub. Everything is clean and the bathroom is modern. The hotel has a very nice decor with several sitting areas outside and in for relaxing. Restaurants are within walking distance and teh beach is a 5 minute drive away. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Pick a premium room. You get a nice balcony view, private thermal pool and outdoor pool and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived hot, tired and a litTle late to Los Jandalos after a journey from Ronda. Unfortunately, the guy on reception was not at all friendly or helpful and had a very condescending air as if we were a 'bad smell' under his nose.

I had planned our short road trip around Andalucia on route to a few days rest on reading reviews and have learned through much travel for work and leisure, that the way you are greeted and treated can really make a happy memory of a place, often over facilities and we had chosen this place for it's 'friendly' staff recommendations as well as the pool and spa.

This guy did the bare minimum, was not clear about the parking (a little complicated, especially when tired) and acted like I was stupid, answering impatiently if I so much as 'dared' to ask a question, reception was not busy at the time. Surely hotels are there to greet often weary travelers peasantly after their journey? We were rather too late that evening for the pool as we were so tired and needed food. Unfortunately, the weather was not good the following day and the pool way too cold to swim in (although a couple of brave souls braved it, the only two other people in the agrden area), there was a very bad smell coming from the garden servicios which we discovered were locked etc so the things that may have endeared us to Los Jandalos were rather lost on us.

We were traveling as a family with two teenage girls and were put in an apartment the furthest walk from reception and up steps with 4 heavy suitcases. The first time we tried to unlock the door, the card wouldn't work. Thinking we were a litle tired, we tried for some time, but it didn't work. I then had to trapse back tor eception and ask. The receptionist took the key from me with the usual charmless manner and after a couple of times run through the machine handed it back without any sort of explanation. This time it worked, so the error must have been the hotels. The apartment seemed like it hadn't been in use for a while, although equiped enough, the dining room table was 'extremely' stained and unpleasant, there was no view from the small balcony as foliage was in the way. We headed out to dinner in the puerto. The cab driver organised by the hotel ripped us off and took us the long way round. We knew this when we returned and it was a much quicker journey!

As we only had one night, we needed to check out by 12 the following morning - In the concern to get all our things down the stairs and hiked back up to reception, I had checked us out, so we could relax until we left. The morning receptionist was more pleasant and said we could use all facilities until we went. Unfortunately, you needed your key to the spa, which I had handed in! OK-not the hotels fault, but really, nothing at all was explained where it was or what the protocol was with keys etc and we had no inclination to ask at this stage. We hadn't even seen it and didn't discover the rather pleasant looking restaurant until then either as the former receptionists manner had put us off eating there.

I took the girls to this hotel for the pool, spa and beauty treatments before our longer spell further down the coast, but after the receptionists unpleasant demeanour, our enthusiasm was lost and the girls hated it. It's amazing how one sourly staff member can ruin your day! I should point out that subsequent receptionist (lady) was very pleasant, but we were off the next day to hit the road to another, hopefully more welcoming venue! It was our only less than perfect stay during our trip in which we stayed in three hotels in three different towns and a private house rental. We shall not return.

Room Tip: The hotel looked much nicer than the apartment we stayed in. If you are paying for the whole family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lachicamusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Puerto de Santa Maria hotels
1.8 mi away
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
Monasterio De San Miguel Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
718 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Puerto Sherry
Hotel Puerto Sherry
#10 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
Hotel Duques de Medinaceli
#3 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bodega Real Hotel
Bodega Real Hotel
#6 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palacio San Bartolome
Palacio San Bartolome
#7 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Jandalos Vistahermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Jandalos Vistahermosa

Address: Calle Amparo Osborne Vazquez s/n | Urbanizacion Vistahermosa, 11500, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Puerto de Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Puerto de Santa Maria
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Puerto de Santa Maria
Price Range: £41 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Jandalos Vistahermosa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Los Jandalos Vistahermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Jandalos Vistahermosa Hotel El Puerto De Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing