We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa del Sol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena
Ranked #441 of 529 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Reviewed 29 October 2013

These apartments are in an excellent location just two minutes walk from the beach and ten minutes from the Marina. The rooms themselves were basic, a bit worn and quite small, but nevertheless clean and for what we paid, good value. Not much late night guest noise as others have reported and the sound of the adjacent busy roads did not affect us too much as we were quite high up, with a good lift service. The lady on reception was pleasant and helpful, free wifi was available both downstairs and in the bar / cafe, which was reasonably priced for food and drink. The swimming pool area is a bit cramped and we were charged for sunbeds at 2e per day, but the pool itself was clean and the refreshment service friendly.
If you are going for value and service you won't be disappointed, but don't go with any expectation of luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and make more of the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrism25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here a couple of weeks ago for a stag due there was no food on but there's a good bar downstairs only five minutes away from all the nightclubs & bars & shops great hotel just down from an Irish bar & met some great people there bedrooms & showers were spot on cleaner was in everyday doing the beds & the bathrooms there was a security guard on the hotel if anything happened he was straight there to sort it out

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomdixon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We arrived here on Fri 6th Sept 2013 for a 4 night stay. We had originally booked for different apartments but were changed to here. We weren't too happy with the change at first as we'd read reviews about noise and drunkenness but as we were only there for a short stay we were prepared to make do.
On arrival quite late on, we were allocated room 204. The apartment was clean and the kitchen had everything you'd need for a self-catering break with a good array of utensils, kettle, toaster, pots etc, (you should also use the fan above the cooker, we couldn't find any buttons to switch it on so we didn't bother but opened the windows, the smoke detector must've bleeped down at reception and someone came up to the room to check and showed us how to use it, it's pulled out from the base of the cupboard above and switches on automatically!) A couple of other things also... when the air con was switched on there was black dust blowing out onto the sofabed below, this happened everytime we switched it on but was fine after that, it was also noisy. The water in the bathroom wouldn't drain quickly enough when showering so had to be switched off until it went to stop it from flooding the bathroom, you could then continue. The pillows we had in the room had seen better days but the sheets were okay. After check-in we decided to go out and get something to eat, have a couple of drinks then back to get some needed shut-eye after travelling most of the day. Not long after lights out the dreaded noise started, the knocking on doors, shouting, singing, banging doors shut, and general drunkenness we had read about in some reviews was heard throughout the early hours so with that and it echoing along corridors, the noisy aircon in the room, sleep wasn't happening too much. Thankfully though from the Saturday night and the rest of our break we had peaceful nights.
The staff here were very polite and accommodating with us and even on the day of departure (Tues 10th Sept) when we asked if we could keep the room until 6pm because of a late return flight, it was no problem, and only charged us 20e. Much more preferable to leaving at the 10am check-out time and wandering around with bags/cases etc.
The apartments are very basic and don't have balconies, you have to pay if you want bedding changed or toilet rolls replaced but there is a small shop at reception for basic rations. The bar downstairs has live entertainment on every night and is reasonably priced. This also leads on out to the pool terrace. This could really do with being sorted, there was uneven crazy paving round the pool and it had limited areas for sunbeds ( you also had to pay everytime you wanted to use one - 2e) but the water in the pool was clean and not too cold.
The hotel is up quite a steep hill (maybe not so good for less mobile people) but is in an excellent position for the beach, a 10 minute walk down and through the underground passageway in front of a bank (round to the right as you come down the hill), it's also in a great position for the Ibensa area with plenty bars including the EuroBar (1e for every drink!) this is out the hotel and uphill, round from the Embassy Bar, follow the road round. 24hr square isn't far either and there were some good bars and restaurants down the main street. Plenty bars/cafebars along the back of the beach and some excellent restaurants and shops round the marina.
When we first got told we would be moved we weren't too happy but in the end, we were glad we were, the other apartments we had booked were in the middle of nowhere and near Torremuelle station so to have everything reasonably close by was a bonus. Benalmadena itself was great, we loved it, we'd only ever been through twice before, both occasions by train for an evening out on two separate holidays to neighbouring Torremolinos. In such short a space of time couldn't really do or find much then, so to actually be in Benalmadena properly was a good experience for us, we will go back! As for the Doramar Apartments.. not sure, we may not actively look for them but we did have an enjoyable time here despite the few niggles. We usually do All Inclusive holidays but wanted to try self-catering for a change, especially as a long weekend option, it served it's purpose pretty well and if we did ever do a last minute booking to Benalmadena again and were offered the Doramar, I wouldn't be too displeased, in fact I think we'd look forward to it.
Jambonian.

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries and extra cash to buy food/drinks for the apartment, rooms don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jambonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

These are basic apartments but for the price e paid are more than adequate. No balcony but large opening windows. Well placed near the marina and reasonable walking for Torremolinos and la carihuela. We were near the top of the apartments and would advise that you do not stay on the lower floors as they would be a little noisy. Big up for Titos in La Carihuela.

Room Tip: Book upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peatbogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ok, so it's not the Ritz but it's comfortable, clean, the staff are very friendly and it's in a good location. I went with two mates and we had a ball. The best bar/club we found 'Kaleido' in the Marina. Stayed clear of 24 hour square as we were looking for a slightly older crowd.
I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

9 of us stayed here for a hen weekend Friday- Monday. I was worried at first because it was so cheap but these apartments are excellent value for money! The decor is a bit groovy but it was clean and tidy. We each had to pay €75 deposit & was allowed this back providing nothing was broken/stolen, the washing up was done and the bins emptied. At first I thought this was a bit of a cheek but actually wasn't a problem at all. We were allowed a late check out for €20. We got 1 loo roll for the 4 days so brought some from the local shop and you have to pay for an extra set of towels but we didn't need to. You also have to pay €2 per day for the lounger, you have to get there early, 9.30am, otherwise they would all be taken! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with young children because there is no shallow end of the pool. There were 2 other stag parties there at the same time so it was quite noisy. We didn't get home until 4-5am so I hope we didn't wake anyone!! The restaurant was nice, serving basic meals which were reasonably priced and tasty. Happy hour was 8-9pm and 241 on spirits & beers. There's lots of shops & restaurants just a few minutes walk away. The Marina is about 10 minutes walk and the beach front about 5 minutes if you use the tunnel on the right hand side of the main road from the hotel. 24 hour square is about 5 minutes in the opposite direction. The location of the hotel was excellent! The only downside was that the rooms do not have balconies but for our short stay it was not a problem. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed at the Doramar Appartments between 18th April and 245th 2013. This was my 2nd time here. I returned because of the price and central location and last time was good. This time it was also good. It is basic but has all you need. It is close to the very reliable bus service. No problem taking a public bus from the airport. If you prefer the quieter bars then go up the hill to Bonanza Square. You will find several bars with outdoor terraces and the prices are real good. Try the Euro bar, pints a€1, yes true €1 and La Ibensa, El Nido and Dec,s bar. Also just a little away be sure to call to The Beer Garden, the best local anywhere. I avoided 24 hour square, too expensive and loud. If you are self catering there is a good supermarket just down the hill and over to left on main street, further on past 24 hour square the is a Lidl store, handy for sun lotion and cheap wine and drink. One thing against Doramar, the towels are not changed and you pay €3 for replacements. Also buy loo paper. The reception staff are helpful Manual, Thomas and 2 ladies. There is free wifi at reception and the bar. I will stay there again when in Benalmadena.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st floor, same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa del Sol hotels
0 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Luna Blanca
Hotel La Luna Blanca
#2 of 71 in Torremolinos
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Timor by Melia - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
471 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doramar Apartments Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doramar Apartments Benalmadena

Address: Calle del Siroco 6 Benalmaden, 29630, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 529 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Price Range: £30 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena Hotel Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing