We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa del Sol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena
Ranked #464 of 529 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ruined holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel today I would advise anybody going to benalmadena to avoid this place and don't waste your money, it's dirty, the receptionist is really rude, we had 2 rooms which we specifically asked for ground floor coz my parents and my children were with us dad is disabled, anyway we ended up on the 5th floor, our room number 510 smelt like something had rotted in it was filthy so they changed our room to room 502 that was even worse we had 2 beds in one room which was stifling hot and a couch with a mattress underneath for 2 more beds covered in hair the rooms were dirty the pillows looked like they were stuffed with cotton wool balls the 3rd floor smelt strongly of cannabis. We had to pay deposits on the room! And pay each day for Sunbeds round the pool which when I spoke to tour operator cosmos they were not meant to charge for! Damp patches on the ceiling and the noise from residents at night was horrendous going on till 430am it's more like a hostel than apartments i cannot rate this place at all, we had 4 young Spanish lads sat drinking beer on the roof above the main entrance we reported it they wasn't asked to move now bearing in mind for us to go here cost 3 grand utter waste of money I have been to benalmadena before and I will be going back in September I can not fault the people in benalmadena or benalmadena it's self, just do not book this place you will be disappointed badly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    33
    11
    30
See reviews for
24
38
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed there for 3 days with my sister her dog and onther friend.İts great.İ feeled like at home.Recepsion has know english,and very friendly too.Apartmant very clean and very echonomic.I will be back again.when I left ı took amount of visit cards and I suggestted my friends too.great one.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we booked into the Doramar for 2 nights we walked into our room and walked right back out again it was FILTHY and the smell was vile, we had to go find another place to stay, filthy beds ripped sheets that where just left folded on the bed the windows where that filthy you could not see out of them.the door on the fridge was also broken. They refused to give us a refund even though we didn't use anything at all.I wouldn't let my dogs stay in there its that bad.

Room Tip: I recommend the sunset beach hotel xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lizzypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa del Sol hotels

Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Male receptionist not at all helpfull requested a sea view room on booking got back of apartments block. TV remotes dont work windows absolutley filthy you even have to make up your own beds on arrival.Would certainly not recommend these apartments.What a let down.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1947BrianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed in room 410 which was very clean and comfortable. WiFi is payable ( I didn't bother this time ). Cooking facilites are a little poor ( 2 hot plates and a toaster ) but there are 2 cafe/bars next door THE JOLLY PIRATE and IRISH PUB 3.5 euros for a small english breakfast, 7 - 10 euros for an eveing meal at very good quality and value. Parking in the street outside the entrance for about 6 cars so in the high season would be difficult.the staff are very helpful and nice ( 100% ). Other reviews say to try and stay in rooms ending with 10, ie:- 410, as these rooms face towards the sea. Bed linen & towels were changed after 3 days.But the place could do with an update.

Room Tip: don't bother to cook,it's cheaper to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJWBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Was there Xmas 2013, reception and lobby looked dated upon arrival but clean. Initial impression of room was very poor, I had a room on ground floor overlooking the pool, but couldn't see it because the windows were so dirty !
Be prepared to make your own bed on arrival and pay 50 Euros deposit for 3 remote controls !
Room size was ok but only ok cleanliness wise, large sofa had some very suspicious stains !
Fridge ok, bathroom ok but mine did have an obvious long term ceiling leak. There were constant complaints from other residents as well.I was on my own , would not recommend it to families. But sunbeds were free and the pool and bar are spot on, nice food and good service. Free WiFi in reception and bar, typical entertainment, not for me but will appeal to many, very good location. I won't return but that should not stop anyone who is happy with cheap and not very cheerful. Basically a very tired and dated building.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor will hear entertainment till early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

You get what you pay for here. The rooms were not a bad size and were relatively clean. Staff were helpful and it was in anideal location for going out a walk or jumping on a bus. Ideal for a short stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa del Sol hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doramar Apartments Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doramar Apartments Benalmadena

Property: Doramar Apartments Benalmadena
Address: Calle del Siroco 6 Benalmaden, 29630, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 529 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena Hotel Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing