We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa del Sol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena
Ranked #453 of 532 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a stag do.

Location is excellent, just up from the marina (5minutes walk) and just along from 24 hour square (2minutes walk).

The apartments themselves are super basic, 2 single beds and a sofa bed+pull out bed underneath sofa. Room had a safe, fridge and aircon.

Bathroom was tiny, something was leaking from the roof when you sat on the toilet, seemed to get worse when the toilet above us was flushed (urghh). Shower was okay.

They occasionally ask you to pay for your sun loungers but dont really enforce it so long as you are spending money in the bar.

The irish cafe down the road is decent for food and drinks in the evening.

I'd say this place is okay for stag and hens but dont take your family here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jamouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked for three nights with my family and could only actually cope with one. Checked out early with no refund. This is a very poor hotel with basic facilities. The rooms have no balconies/terrace and feel claustrophobic. The room was sold to sleep four and was barely suitable for two. Very grubby fittings and furnishings with bedding and towels sparce, threadbare and uncomfortable. No soap and one toilet roll per room. Towels are changed weekly unless you are prepared to pay per clean. Please don't waste your money here it's very disappointing . Benalmadena has many alternative superior choices.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trotmortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel today I would advise anybody going to benalmadena to avoid this place and don't waste your money, it's dirty, the receptionist is really rude, we had 2 rooms which we specifically asked for ground floor coz my parents and my children were with us dad is disabled, anyway we ended up on the 5th floor, our room number 510 smelt like something had rotted in it was filthy so they changed our room to room 502 that was even worse we had 2 beds in one room which was stifling hot and a couch with a mattress underneath for 2 more beds covered in hair the rooms were dirty the pillows looked like they were stuffed with cotton wool balls the 3rd floor smelt strongly of cannabis. We had to pay deposits on the room! And pay each day for Sunbeds round the pool which when I spoke to tour operator cosmos they were not meant to charge for! Damp patches on the ceiling and the noise from residents at night was horrendous going on till 430am it's more like a hostel than apartments i cannot rate this place at all, we had 4 young Spanish lads sat drinking beer on the roof above the main entrance we reported it they wasn't asked to move now bearing in mind for us to go here cost 3 grand utter waste of money I have been to benalmadena before and I will be going back in September I can not fault the people in benalmadena or benalmadena it's self, just do not book this place you will be disappointed badly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed there for 3 days with my sister her dog and onther friend.İts great.İ feeled like at home.Recepsion has know english,and very friendly too.Apartmant very clean and very echonomic.I will be back again.when I left ı took amount of visit cards and I suggestted my friends too.great one.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we booked into the Doramar for 2 nights we walked into our room and walked right back out again it was FILTHY and the smell was vile, we had to go find another place to stay, filthy beds ripped sheets that where just left folded on the bed the windows where that filthy you could not see out of them.the door on the fridge was also broken. They refused to give us a refund even though we didn't use anything at all.I wouldn't let my dogs stay in there its that bad.

Room Tip: I recommend the sunset beach hotel xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lizzypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Male receptionist not at all helpfull requested a sea view room on booking got back of apartments block. TV remotes dont work windows absolutley filthy you even have to make up your own beds on arrival.Would certainly not recommend these apartments.What a let down.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1947BrianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed in room 410 which was very clean and comfortable. WiFi is payable ( I didn't bother this time ). Cooking facilites are a little poor ( 2 hot plates and a toaster ) but there are 2 cafe/bars next door THE JOLLY PIRATE and IRISH PUB 3.5 euros for a small english breakfast, 7 - 10 euros for an eveing meal at very good quality and value. Parking in the street outside the entrance for about 6 cars so in the high season would be difficult.the staff are very helpful and nice ( 100% ). Other reviews say to try and stay in rooms ending with 10, ie:- 410, as these rooms face towards the sea. Bed linen & towels were changed after 3 days.But the place could do with an update.

Room Tip: don't bother to cook,it's cheaper to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJWBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa del Sol hotels
0 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
0.2 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doramar Apartments Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doramar Apartments Benalmadena

Address: Calle del Siroco 6 Benalmaden, 29630, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #453 of 532 Hotels in Costa del Sol
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Doramar Apartments Benalmadena Hotel Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing