We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better the second time around!”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
231 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 231 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and how staff really respect guests privacy
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LIZ187510
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private Luxurius Perfection”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

DDG Retreat is like a dream come true and definitely what the doctor ordered!

The privacy, luxury, location, peace and quiet, ambience, bird life, the casa, the pool, spa.... oh the spa..... the food is delicious, the wine chilled to perfection, the attention to detail is amazing.

I would recommend DDG Retreat to anybody seeking a luxurious peaceful holiday and I challenge you to switch off your phones, IPads and IPods and listen to the silence, it's truly incredible.

Thank you Daria, Olga and all the team. I will be back! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privacy and Peacefulness
Liked least: Having to Leave : (
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob M
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gorgeous haven for couples”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just come back from one of the most relaxing short breaks of my life. DDG is an absolute dream!!
We stayed in Casa Oliandre which was an amazing split level apartment. 4 poster bed, private plunge pool, terrace with views to the sea and Gibraltar, it was delightful. The casa has been brilliantly designed and decor was well thought out and too many nice touches to list them all, but here's some: coffee machine, robes, fresh juice on arrival, free wifi, the best infinity pool, free DVDs, great music selection, honesty bar etc etc. the time, energy and passion that has gone into this place is clear to see.
The hosts, Olga and Alex are very welcoming, knowledgeable and adaptable to your needs. The casa's are far enough apart so you feel like you're the only ones there!

If you want peace, tranquility, relaxation, fantastic views and with a feeling of being in a far off place (Caribbean / Asia / Africa) while enjoying the closeness of the Costa del Sol, I highly recommend. This is not a place for the usual costa English crowd, this is pure decadence, peace and love.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C
Cadiz
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As the gates to the retreat open tranquility is revealed and one instantly feels relaxed.
Not only is the natural surrounding of Casares beautiful, but the design and decor of DDG is wonderful. A blend of Morocco and Asia with the Spanish weather means you will never want to leave.
Everything has been planned and well thought out from living space to the delicious food.
Breakfast here is a must, especially for those who like a steady start to the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, this really is the prefect retreat.
Liked least: The bathroom is the 2nd bedroom of casa olivo was a little small and not well lit
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan W
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and luxury with a personal touch”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's the small things that make the DDG Retreat in Andalusia so special.

From the freshly-squeezed orange juice and cold hand towels on arrival, to the rose petals floating in the fountains, fresh every morning. The torch by the villa door, for a safe return from evening outings. The tiny pelargonium flower decorating the plate on which your croissant or toast is served.

Or perhaps it's the big things, like the fabulous views from the six villas, each one in a private setting on the hillside above Casares. The hand-picked antiques decorating our rush-clad villa. The infinity pool, a length rewarded with a view of the mountain and the birds soaring overhead. The leisure complex with its exercise machines, nicely-stocked bar and endless supply of towels, with a choice of places to relax from sun lounger to shaded settee.

But it's probably the personal touches. The welcome in person from hosts Olga and Sasha who simply cannot do enough for you, from booking a table in a local restaurant and giving you a ride there, to cooking the most delicious meals. The choice of pillow (from a menu, no less). Daily carafes of water filled on request; by day two we didn't even need to ask.

We explored our villa to find a personalised postcard, wishing us a relaxing stay. A basket was filled with hats, flip flops and robes for use during our stay. We loved the fabulous organic shower gel made with wild plants from Siberia, home country of Olga and Sasha. From the minute the gates swing open, you just know that this place is a class act.

We decided to try out a spa treatment in what must be the most perfect therapy centre, one side open to the mountain views, with a gently twinkling fountain alongside and the services of the talented Ilde. From inhaling the lavender oil to the deep tissue massage, the whole experience was a sensual delight. Below and visible from the therapy bed, a bowl of floating rose petals and ivy leaves. And treatment over, refreshing water flavoured with mint, lime and a cinnamon stick was served with a choice of herbal teas as you relaxed on a day bed in the pine grove setting of the spa.

Then there's the food. The first night we enjoyed mussels in a spicy tomato sauce, followed by baked sea bass and apple strudel with ice cream. Night two we dined at a local restaurant, as recommended by our hosts (who provided our transport) with the most delicious lamb served three ways and a baked apple cake with a Calvados panacotta. And night three was dinner back at the retreat, served in a private booth within the paved courtyard, this time melon and Parma ham followed by a stunning paella and a delicious home-made honey and brandy ice cream.

This eco-friendly resort has been created from a 4-hectare site on a wooded hillside. Our villa's sun terrace was charmingly located on stilts above the woods, a staircase leading down to a wooden swing amid the pines. You can barely make out each villa as you explore the resort, such is the sense of privacy created here. And the peace is delightful... no traffic noise, only bird song and the occasional distant dog bark.

It's hard to do justice to this place in only words; it's a whole-sense experience. If you want shopping and bustle and nightlife, it's not for you. If you want away-from-it-all relaxation in virtually private surroundings, with innumerable touches of luxury and loving care, book it now.

A friend messaged to say she hoped we were enjoying every second. We did our best - it was certainly no hardship.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$352
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing