We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smal hotel in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Being slightly put off by the 3 star ranking of this hotel we were very pleasantly surprised on
our arrival to find it to be very good quality. Located right on the beach it has a natural advantage and the rooms are furnished to a very good standard with plenty of storage space and good air-conditioning. Wi-fi is available throughout for free and works. while breakfast is more than adequate (bread is particulalrly good here) the star of the hotel is the bar and restaurant. The service is excellent and food is very good quality too. We stayed for 4 nights and ate at the hotel every day. Given the local habit of eating dinner late service started in the reasurant at 8:30 pm which was earlier than anywhere else in the area. We would recomment both the hotel and the resort to anyone who enjoys the peace and quiet in the sun.

Room Tip: The sea view room which we had was particularly good but had some noise form the bar.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrantPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Por Les Francais Qui Visite Le Hotel, Le Cuisine Es Excellent, Bon Appetite!

Hotel Embarcadero De Calahonda, a good 3 Star Hotel with an Excellent Restaurant.
A Very Proud Proprietor, helpful reception staff and great waiter service.
Located by the beach and peaceful bay.
Excellent base for exploring the ’ La Alpujarra’ mountain range area,
which offers stunning views and pretty small villages
set high Bubion, Capileira, Trevelez- reputed to be the highest small village in Spain.
Another Full Day is needed to visit Granada, the Old City and the Alhambra,
with the back drop of the Sierra Nevada.
If you like a drink,try a visit to the Rum Bodega ‘Ron Montero’ in Motril,
now celebrating 50 years and ask for his delightful niece to give you a tour.

We will be back 2014
Corinne & Tony Barker.
Our second top hotel out of 22 hotels on this Spring 2013 travels.

Room Tip: A Room with a View
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spanish-antonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My wife and I stopped here for Lunch, on our way to Almeria. We were very pleaded we did.
The service was great. Food very good. and the view of the sea boats was lovely. We will
defnetley stop here again, the next time we are going to Almeria

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stopped by here trying to get out of riding motorcycles through a heat wave we'd been in in Granada. The town is tiny and this stretch of beach, with boats bobbing in the harbour and not very many people on it, was so sweet. The rooms are basic, but it's worth it to get a view of the sea and there is a little balcony to sit out on. The service at the front desk was excellent and even better in the restaurant - our waiter kept us plied with wine until dinner time and then brought us out the catch of the day, caught just in front of the hotel. Not sure what it's like in the high season, but we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This place is amazing. We stayed there for 3 nights in low season and really enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is very nice, located on a lovely pebble beach. We had a room with a little balcony and views to the cliffs and sea. The room was modern, big and very clean with a large bathroom. The village was very quiet and lacked places to eat in the evening time as the chiringuitos closed early, but I expect it to be busier in the high season. Definitely do not expect this village to have a busy night life. The only thing that disapponited me a little was the hotel restaurant and its menu which was overpriced for a standard place. But we found there what we were looking for, relaxing few days, good book to read on a big beach with only few people and sunshine.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth it to pay a bit extra for room with sea view, trust me.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conejitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

In spite of our late arrival, we were greeted very nicely in this hotel. It is decorated with excellent taste - modern, simple and relaxing - and we enjoyed a wonderful room with sea view. Very clean, good beds and excellent quality in every aspect. Calahonda itself is a cute village. We defininately will come back.

Room Tip: Enjoy its relaxing terrasse by the sea next to a small park. Is protected from winds by a small bay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We went in mai, high season will b very different exp i think.
The town is very quiet, desserted during t day. At first we were taken aback by the hideous road that leads to calahonda, and to make it worse it was raining horribly. Morning came to reveal a nice pebble beach 40 m from the hotel, lovely breakfast area. Dont go there if you want resort luxury, but u will find all u need here, except a pool :-).
Beds very nice mid firm, bathroom very nicely done. Staff very friendly, only daystaff speaks english i seems.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esarhaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calahonda
11.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salobrena
7.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Motril
9.9 mi away
Hotel Avenida Tropical
Hotel Avenida Tropical
#1 of 2 in Salobrena
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Playacalida Spa Hotel
Playacalida Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Almunecar
1,770 reviews
16.0 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 24 in Almunecar
893 reviews
8.5 mi away
Playa Granada Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda

Address: Calle Biznaga 14, 18730 Calahonda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Calahonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calahonda
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embarcadero de Calahonda is a 3 star hotel, located by the beach side in the Costa Tropical in Granada. 35 non smoking rooms with sea (supl. 10€/day) or mountain view and all with a balcony. Great restaurant and lovely terrace in front of the sea. Ideal for family with children. Built in 1965 and completly renovated in 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Embarcadero de Calahonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing