We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights while working at a conference running at the Hotel Villa Padierna nearby. If you can afford it and you're a couple, go there as it's simply stunning. However, families are well catered for at Caledonia.

The pools are excellent (not that I had a chance to use them) and there's plenty of space around them.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The air-con is excellent - you can really chill the room down if needed. The TV gives you Sky News and BBC World as far as I recall, in addition to a range of European services.

Parking is limited, as others have mentioned, and the hotel is located in a residential area some distance from civilisation. You will need a car to make the best of it, unless you're happy by the pool for the duration of your stay.

One complaint over service. No irons in the room but you can borrow one from reception. But, no ironing boards. So, you have to iron over the dining table or the kitchen's breakfast area - not ideal. I put some clothes in for washing and pressing on my first morning but they weren't collected until late that day and weren't going to be dealt with until the following day, so I had to get them back (with difficulty) and resort to ironing them over the table again.

Overall though, a good choice for families with cars.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JonathanHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2007

I have just returned from one week at the Caledonia Golf with my husband and 9 year old son. We have had a great time. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place for you, if you want loads of activities and late night Disco's stay away. My son enjoyed the Mini Club it runs from 11am - 1pm, 4pm - 6pm and a half hour of Games/Music at 8pm it was enough for him, activities are limited but as he had never been abroad befor he had nothing to compare it to !. We had a one bedroomed apartment with air conditioning in the living room and bedroom - fantastic, the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels supplied every day - they do not wash your dishes but I don't have a problem with that at all but just be warned to supply washing up liquid and a tea towel. The hotel has a brilliant large freeform pool which was only really busy on the Sunday - there seemed to be a lot more people (locals ?) in the hotel on the Saturday night / Sunday. Despite this though we were always able to get a sunbed, although not in the shade. We were there on a B & B basis and we thought the breakfast was fab, there was a selection of 6 hot items, fresh fruit, cheese omelettes or pancakes made freshly, and a selection of cold meats and cheeses. There was a leaning towards German and Spanish but as they make up the majority of the guests why not ? The evening buffet had about 10 choices plus 4 or 5 different salads. If you stay in this hotel you MUST hire a car as it is off the beaten track- we hired a car in advance from malagacar.com as the transfer cost with Freedom Direct was more expensive than a weeks care hire. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that although they say no smoking is allowed at the poolside this was not enforced, although it was only really noticable on the Sunday when it was busy. I have given this Hotel 8 out of 10, one point deducted for location and one for people smoking round the pool. English was not spoken well by all hotel staff so take a phrase book - go on make an effort.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MrsJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

My partner and I booked our stay at the Caledonia Golf Resort a month before travelling there, and had read the mixed reviews on tripadvisor before going. The reviews led us to believe that the staff would be unhelpful and unfriendly, that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere and that is was essential to hire a car. Upon arrival at the resort, the staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. In fact, we found this to be the case for the duration of our fortnight there (although some of the waiting staff struggled with English as much as we did with Spanish, which is a lot!). The resort looks exactly like it does in the photos, and the rooms were clean, fresh and bright. We did not hire a car, but the main bus stop for Puerto Banus and Marbella is only a 15-minute walk downhill, and for £1 you can get the bus to these towns every 20 minutes, which was excellent. The only criticism of the hotel that we have is that the food in the hotel restaurant was overpriced and mass-produced, but this is to be expected in a large resort, so we got the bus to Puerto Banus or went restaurants a 15 minute walk from the hotel, at the bottom of the hill close to the bus stop. There is also a supermarket there, called Mercedona, which we used for breakfast and lunch supplies of bread, cheese, meat etc and was excellent. So, in short, if you would like a relaxing first class accommodation with a lovely pool area and don't mind a bit of a walk to get a decent meal or a bus stop, this is the place for you. Finally, don't use the hotel internet service as it is VERY slow and costs 1 euro per 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank alison_heron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2007

After spending 4 hours trying to find the hotel (it is in 'Cancelada' not actually in Estepona!!)we arrived at the Caledonia to a very spacious well furnished room. All modern furniture, and it had all the appliances needed for self catering.

The pool and poolside area were really nice. Everywhere is immaculate! Stunning hotel. Plenty of sunloungers and also shady areas. We went s.c. but ate in the hotel buffet resturant one night for 22 euros each and it was a very good standard. If I went again I would go half board. The bar staff were quite slow but polite. Shop onsite for basic needs.

A CAR IS A MUST! a good 30 mins walk to the beach and hotel is on top of a hill!. The hotel offers underground Car parking for 7 euros per day but there is plenty of room to park on the road and there are also 30ish marked parking spaces around the hotel entrance. Supermarket 5 mins drive / 25 mins walk - much too far to walk with bags of shopping in heat and uphill!

Selwo safari is definately worth a trip - 10 mins drive away - great day out.

I would highly recommend the resturant called Antigua on the Cancelada beach FANTASTIC food and reasonable prices!

Overall a really nice 4 star hotel, I would recommend especially to couples and families.

Stayed: July 2007
14  Thank Annika22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Before you read this, you must understand that we somewhat knew the area, we booked the hotel "room only" (no BF, LN or DN) and knew we had to have a car.

So, maybe this is more of a guide rather than a review.
1) You do NEED a car, no doubt about it
2) The kitchen has a couple burners, a fridge, dishes/silverware and two pots (small & big). No Pan!
3) PARKING at the hotel during high season will be difficult to be polite. You can use the Hotels garage and we paid €7 per day - well worth it in my opinion.
4) We did not use the Hotels Spa or Restaurant, so I can't comment

Rooms are clean an spacious. Nicely equipped. TV has several english channels, a couple german at least one french and of course spanish.

Maids will NOT wash your dishes. There are NO cleaning supplies (dish soap, sponges or the alike).
You can buy everything you need at the two supermarkets at the bottom of the hill. Right at the exit is a Marcadero as well as a SuperSol (SuperSol a little hidden: go behind the Mercadero, turn towards the highway, it's next to the yacht dealer, a little in the back). Both are excellent though the Mercadero has a much better selection of fresh fish and meats.

The pool is nice, big and busy. There were a lot of families with kids. There are rules posted all over about proper attire, opening hours, taking shower before hopping in, balls, floaties etc. etc. The lifeguard made a few futile attempts to enforce the rules but gave up after a few days.... So, as long as nobody's getting hurt, it's all fair game.

The staff was nice, spoke reasonably well English (better than my Spanish anyway - wink at those who complain about it, how good is your Spanish???).

It's a Hotel I would stay in again, no question.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Djotomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

the bad points
its really hard to find
its a long way from the beach
the parkings a problem
breakfast not good
you need a car its a must
the area is just for a base

the good points
its a nice hotel
good pool
relaxing
good rooms, sky news , cnn,eurosport only english t,v
price can be amazing

i paid £23 per night, hardly anyone there, until the weekend when there was a cocaine ex users seminar, so it got a lot busier,
and the people were fine, no problem at all,
really nice rooms, very peacefull at poolside, just use supermarket to stock up, i saw rooms as cheap as £17 a night,
self catering,
this hotel is good value up to £40, after that its to dear because of position,
if you dont mind driving, and using this for base for gibralter, puerto banus, and inland andalucia stop here its fine,
no golf course isnt finished, and the resort of estapona i think is very overrated,

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank exglobalagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

This is the second time that we have stayed in this hotel. The first time in 2005 the construction was not quite complete so we got a very very good deal on a half board for our entire family. The pool was nice for the kids and us to relax in at the end of the day. The food was average but we put this up to it being new and we thought things would improve when it was complete.

We went back a second time just this past April. We paid quite a lot more for it this time. It was absolutely packed. There was absolutely no parking except on the road about four blocks away. The service was terrible and the staff not very helpful. The food was still average at best. The worst thing of all though was that I had booked this hotel again because the kids loved the pool and games/play area. But, this time we had to pay 15 euros per person per hour for use of the pool and had to book it ahead of time(and it always seem to be full). It was very crowded and had limited space to be able to go in with children.

I would never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank glabonte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
0.7 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,512 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
767 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diana Park
Diana Park
#17 of 34 in Estepona
276 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona

Address: Carretera de Cadiz 165 Calle Hinojo | Urbanizacion Bel Air- Estepona Malaga, 29688, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La residencia moderna con piscina exterior esta al borde de un campo de golf, adosado en la montana. La plaza cuenta con terrazas para tomar algo y restaurantes. Estepona, en la extremidad de la Costa del Sol y sus 21km de playas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Estepona Residence
Pierre & Vacances Estepona Residence Hotel Estepona
Pierre & Vacances Residence Estepona Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing