We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I booked fairly last minute so didn't do much due diligence. I arrived and spent a few minutes looking for parking. There were no staff anywhere outside at 4pm, so I just guessed I could park anywhere.

I walked in and the room was ready, my room had been upgraded to a suite. I tried to connect my laptop but my adapter wasn't designed for the deep concave shape around the power cord. I couldn't push it in deeply enough to get power, so I trudged back to the front desk to discover the hotel had no adapters. None. For a hotel that markets itself internationally I was pretty shocked. Nor did they have a double adapter. They suggested I drive the 9km into town to find a store!

I guess I'm more used to business hotels in Europe but was shocked by the situation and the complete indifference of the 3 staff that I spoke with. The hotel is a little isolated but perfectly nice, I'd just warn you that there's not even a whiff of a service culture.

Also, if you want shampoo ask for it when you arrive. They're too tight to leave any in the rooms, even a suite, using the eenvironment as cover for trying to save money. No one answered at the front desk when I called down to ask for any, of course.For €158 I'd have expected a totally different standard of service. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveinlondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for this review and for giving us your feedback of your stay with us. We really appreciate all and take into account your comments, because they are very important for us. We are very sorry to know that we have not reached your expectations. We apologize for all the inconveniences.

Kind regards,

Yolanda López
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    256
    84
    20
    19
See reviews for
375
268
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a holiday here in August 2013. Overall we had a great 6 days with our three boys, age 13, 12 and 8 years old. The room was fantastic, and we couldn't fault it, we had a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms and a large sitting room too. It was very clean and had air conditioning.
The hotel itself is all clean and nicely laid out, with a fantastic swimming pool area with lots of sun loungers and a great poolside bar. The pool is divided into a few different sections, which makes it much easier to keep track of your children, and it isn't too deep either. Deep enough to be able to practice diving, but also shallow enough to keep your toes on the floor, which is great for ball games etc.
The downside for us was the food. There isn't really much choice. I am a regular visitor to another Fuerte hotel in Marbella (Mirimar Spa), and we were expecting the same kind of food. The buffet breakfast in Estepona is ok, but not amazing and certainly not the same standard as you get in Marbella even though it is the same chain of hotels. The Estepona buffet is rather more like school dinners. The only alternative to the buffet is a VERY small a la carte menu, which you can only have on the terrace in the evening, which in itself is a lovely area, BUT... This is also where they have the childrens entertainment, so we couldn't even talk to each other because the childrens disco was SO loud! Fantastic entertainment for the little ones, but I just can't understand why they have it in the only place in the hotel where you can sit and have a drink and some food, other than the awful buffet. We had to abandon our card game until the music ( heads, shoulders, knees and toes!! ) was finished, and this wasn't until about 10 pm each evening.
Estepona itself was also very disappointing , rather dirty and run down. We went there twice in the evening, (by car) once to the old town and once to the marina. Neither were great, and we also had to drive past the groups of prostitutes on the round a bouts on the way back to the hotel!
Overall, it's a lovely clean hotel and fantastic pools, but not great area and not great food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert19992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Albert,

thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.

Thank you for your comments about our rooms, cleaning, swimmingpool area and bar service.

We will take in consideration your opinion about the place and a la carta service. We are deeply sorry that food were not pleasant for you.

About Estepona, It is a charming fishing village 15 minutes from Puerto Banús and 20 from Marbella but different than these.

We hope you choose Fuerte Hoteles to spend your holidays again.

Best regards
Yolanda López
Guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemskerk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is our fourth stay over the last six years in the Marbella area and this time we (family of three) stayed here during the last week of June, first of August. A wonderful experience and we really enjoyed this Hotel. Upon arrival we noticed the hospital like building. It is a matter of taste but we prefer the Andalusian earthly colors and atmosphere. This building, its surrounding and decoration of the room has a modern approach. We got used to it as all the other amenities make you forget where you are and of course the weather helps a lot!! Very friendly staff, cleaning of the rooms is daily and we stayed in a double bed-bathroom suite with a giant living room. The atmosphere of that living room is very....like a ballroom. I would cut the thing in halve and add a kitchen-appliances area. We stayed in room 4004, which is a ground floor room with a nice spacious outside garden with 2 sunbeds, 6 chairs and table. Coming back from the pool and/or the beach we stayed there a lot. We could hear the waves and had a view on the ocean, what do you really want more??

The beach, I do not know why people sometimes complain, is a very quiet place to be. For the first time we were not approached ever 30 minutes by our African friends trying to sell us "Guess" and "Gucci" stuff. Non there! On this same beach there are two beautiful palm trees and unfortunately management used it to secure a garbage bin. I would place beach beds there! What does hard working men-women want more than sunbathing under a palm three?? Exploit the trees men!! I like to sit in the shade so lots of beach beds and umbrella's and yes you pay € 5,- per bed per day.....Not complaining but many other hotels offer it for free and have a better beach service as well. If you want your coffee-refreshments you need to walk a bit to the pool bar. Which is not bordering me, just comparing to other hotels that are alike! The beach is sandy-gravel like and not the pure sand we all like to see. It is not inconvenient at all unless you want to dig holes.....

The pool area's are great especially the quiet pool with no animation. But the pool that has animation is just around 03;00 AM for a few minutes or so. Before and after a very quiet tranquil music is being played.
The first week there were a lot of people reserving beds, but the second week not at all. So I would say to management, take away the towels if there are no people on them or in the pool! It is something I would promote. No bed reservations unless you actually pay for those beds. (And maybe that is why we have to pay € 5,- per bed at the beach)

The hotel is 25 minutes away from Marbella old town and 15 minutes from Puerto Banus. Also this Hotel is away from Estepona a car is a necessity. Free (also in the sense of no money involved) parking space is a bit of an issue but for € 5,- a day you park you car under the Hotel which keeps is safe and away from the sun.

The breakfast buffet is amazing. Lot's of fresh fruit, eggs any style prepared as you like, a variation of bread, cheeses, meats, yoghurts, cereals....overwhelming!

We stayed with great pleasure in hotels like Guadalpin, Guadalmina and the Marriot Beach club Marbella, and really this Hotel deserves the four stars. BUT... don't sit on your buttocks management!! Keep this place in good condition. Compared to the other hotels; there are small things like an easier pool towel change, a small beach bar for ordering food and drinks, ordering food at the pool! I know it is a young garden but there are too many open spacings. Utilize the space better.

Room Tip: If you are early sleepers, ask for a room away from the evening entertainment. It is just outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for kind words about your stay with us.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed our facilities, our restaurant buffet and of course the treatment received by our staff.

We hope to see you again at this that will be always your home.

Kind regards

Yolanda López
Guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a king size bedroom with large bath, spacious balcony and great view. Plenty of closet and drawer space. Very comfortable and clean. Our room was on the top floor with shared common area with three or four other units on the floor below. Never used nor saw common area being used. We had to climb 20 or so steps out of the common area to our room. Very difficult if one can't lift heavy luggage or has a climbing handicap. Nice looking pool and grounds. Excellent breakfast. Easy car park under our building 5. Liked the top floor. Beach OK for walking, but not much else. Did not try to swim, but didn't appear to have sandy footing. Having a car or being willing to take taxi essential if one wants to visit near by Estepona or other towns for entertainment or meals. Would return.

Room Tip: I'd get a top floor unit on one of the end wings even though it is a good walk to the main buid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coinchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinnion with all the tripadvisor's users.

We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed our facilities like pool areas, rooms and our breakfast and dinner buffet.

We hope see you again soon.

Kind regards

Yolanda López
Guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed with my wife and two young kids for 2 weeks in a 2br apartment. The room and factilities at this quite new hotel were good, although one can see that the build quality is not the best and wear will start to show soon.

As other have said the beach outside the hotel is not that great. However, there are several options within 5-10minutes by car - a car is recommended.

Breakfast and F&B in general were of rather good quality for this category of hotel. We enjoyed the option of eating in the restaurant but ended up cooking ourselves a few evenings.

Overall we would recommend Fuerte Estepona for a quiet family holiday.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid hearing your neighbours above....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Markus26,

thank you very much for writing your comments about us in tripadvisor.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed our facilities and services. The hotel beach is the typical beach in Costa del Sol and it is specially calm, like a private beach! Also, in Estepona town you can find other beaches like the familiar "Playa del Cristo" or the urban "Playa de la Rada".

We hope to see you in Fuerte Hoteles again!

Best regards

Yolanda López
Guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

After a long road trip across Spain, that was the perfect way to spend the last 3 days, relaxing by the wonderful pools, with easy access to everything...
- the family SUITE is soooo large, a duplex made up of 2 rooms and a living room, with 2 bathrooms, very comfortable for everyone, with balconies and sunbeds on the balconies to enjoy the sun even from your room...
- underground parking access is perfect and very convenient.
- A welcome bottle of wine was a pleasant PLUS surprise room delivery...
- you feel completely disconnected from stress, and children can enjoy daily activities around the pool and the snack, like theatre plays, and disco dance shows...
- the buffet breakfast was perfect and very rich in variety and quantity.
- it has a direct beach access to the sand, so u can enjoy the pools and the beach...


everything was great, except some minor points:
- No wifi access, since we arrived on check-in they apologized that the wifi wasn't working for that single day, but it didn't work all across our stay, so we were completely disconnected
- Sunbeds on the sandy beach should be free to hotel guests, as if a family of 6 has to pay 5 euros per sunbed to stay only one hour on the sand, it is really not a convenient expense
- towels and bed sheets are not changed if dirty but only upon guest request, which is quite weird as a policy. i mean, my baby vomited a bit on the bed and it was quite dirty, and after room service, it wasn't changed because we forgot to make it as a special request... well maybe with that point, then it will be a 5 star hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinnion with all the tripadvisor's users.

I am happy to know that you had a nice stay with us.

In the last days we repair the WiFi incidence and now it works very quick!

We have a responsible sistem for change the towels and sheets. It works with a sign that you can leave for the housekeeping department.

We hope to see you again!!

Kind regards,

Yolanda Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a great resort - we rented a 1 bedroom apartment and were blown away at the size of it - huge living room, very spacious bathroom and kitchen. Very nice balconies as well. the place is just huge and in very very good shape. The location is 3-4 km outside of estepona with vacation houses left and right. the beach is nice and rather large and not crowded. we had halfboard and the food was good, although not very diverse.
Overall, a good choice if you want a quite family vacation with access to what costa del sol and surroundings has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanv03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrppfes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your opinnion with all the tripadvisor's users.

I am happy to know that you had a nice stay with us.

We hope to see you again!!

Kind regards,

Yolanda Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
8.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.0 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.2 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Estepona

Property: Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Address: Arroyo Vaquero Playa | Crta. A-7 km 150, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Estepona 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fuerte Estepona is a magnificent hotel with 210 rooms and deluxe suites with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms with sea views. Thanks to its location, a modern spa and its specifically-designed spaces for couples and families, the hotel holds a respected place among the hotels in Estepona. It is 82 km from Malaga International Airport and half an hour from Gibraltar.EL OLIVO RESTAURANT: Our traditional, high-quality Mediterranean cuisine using natural flavours with a modern touch to be enjoyed in modern surroundings. Our exclusive Fuerte Estepona restaurant, located within the hotel, is the perfect place to start and end a day at the beach, enjoying all the flavours it has to offer. A wide range of breakfasts, lunches (solely during the months of July and August) and buffet dinners.The Estepona Spa is a place where you can alleviate stress, charge your batteries and return home better than ever, thanks to our cutting-edge hydrotherapy circuits and massage and beauty treatment regimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Fuerte Hoteles, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Estepona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Estepona Hotel Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing