We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Experience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would warmly recommend this hotel. Very high standard of accommodation. Service was friendly and prompt.
The dinning facility were great providing us with plenty of options for a gluten free diet all freshly cook and broad enough range to provide good variation.

Room Tip: sea view rooms on request - better view than the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr. Paul
Thank you to share your kind comments with all the users of Trip Advisor, we are aware of this kind of allergies, and try to offer a nice choice for their special taste. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again.
Best regards
Juan Ramón Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    279
    89
    21
    20
See reviews for
411
288
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I echo the views of many others regarding the location. it is not in estepona, it is in the middle of nowhere next to a nudist beach. the service was dire. Never enough reception staff, usually one person invariably dealing with a dissatisfied guest. We had booked room only, so booked breakfast and some dinners only to find that there was no communication between reception and the dining room so they tried to turn us away. The buffet food was, in my opinion, very poor indeed. Undercooked, overcooked, tasteless, lacking variety, and certainly not worth 23 euros. My daughter and son in law visited and wanted to eat with us and they were charged 30 euros for the same meal. We are still in the hotel and will not be eating here again having given the benefit of the doubt. We will see whether or not they can get the bill correct tomorrow morning when we check out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mr. Tim
Thanks for your constructive critics, for us our guests satisfaction is really important, actually it is the main point of why we are here, and we take it so much in consideration.
In some aspects we can improve, as we are doing with the quality of the buffet, we are really sorry that it wasn´t what you expected, we are working hard to sort it out.
Regarding the location, unfortunately we can not move the Hotel, it´s four kilometers from the Marina of Estepona, I don´t consider it far, but it´s also true that there is nothing around. We have bought a shuttle that takes our guests to Estepona center, hoping that this helps decreasing the disadvantages of our location. The nudist beach is in the middle of Fuerte Hotel Estepona and other Hotel which is in the other side of this beach, so far the people who goes to this beach, have been very respectful not invading our space on the beach.
I thank you again for your comments, and I truthfully take them very seriously.
Best regards
Juan Ramón Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First impression when we got off the bus for our much needed break was "Wow, good choice". Beautiful hotel, brilliant staff who couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming glass of cava, free wifi and free beach towels. The room was luxurious, big comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. The grounds were well manicured, the pool areas were clean and enough sun beds for everyone. The beach was at the bottom of the hotel. It was lovely.

However, there were other things to consider - right next to a nudist beach so this was a bit of a surprise and also, the location wasn't great. We chose the hotel because it seemed to be within walking distance of Estepona, only 2 miles. However, there is no path and the road out front is a major fast road, too dangerous to walk alongside. There were no buses and taxis cost between 12 and 14 euros each way so the cost of a night out in town was pushed up considerably but we had to go as there was no entertainment. Perhaps the hotel could consider running a shuttle bus?

We had a lovely Mother/Daughter break but any more than 4 nights would have been too much as we ran out of taxi money!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Anne
Thanks for sharing your experiences in Fuerte Estepona. Our distance to the town of Estepona makes us in a privileged place ideal for relaxation . We have put a free bus into town for our customers.
thanks and Best regards
Juan Ramón Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and we were so spoilt duing our stay we wish we could have stayed longer!
The reception and concierge were ever so helpful, and got us always exactly what we needed (including an extra pillow for myself!!)
we were greeted nicely on arrival and were shown to our room which had a lovely sea view.
we had dinner and lunches at the hotel restaurants and bars and everywhere the standard was good, nothing over the top, but definitely worth the money.

a friend recomended we eat at a nearby restaurant and concierge made the reservations for us (the restuarnt was called tikitano and we had a fabulous time by the way if you ware looking for entertainment)

the neds wee clean and the rooms were looked after.

overall from 1 to 10 I will give this hotel an 8 becuase they are just very good, and what you lok for in a holiday to spain,.

we will be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: ask for a seaviw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Adams
Thank you very much for your opinions and your stay with us is a pleasure to get to your complete satisfaction at Fuerte Estepona.
We hope to see them again and personally greet here.
Juan Ramón Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in an apartment for a couple of beach days. The hotel is spacious as well as the apartment we stayed in. It is a well equipped room but was missing some basic utensils. The decor is of good quality but the finishings seems to have been a bit of a rushed job.

It was quiet season but it still was very empty, much quieter than hotels closer to Marbella.

Overall one gets the sense that the hotel was built during the boom time, and is now struggling to keep it's head above water.

Be aware, the hotel next door seems to be for nudists!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenoniRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback that are sure to help many customers and I hope you enjoyed the tranquility of this hotel.
Team Fuerte Estepona
Juan Ramón Pérez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We turned up at the hotel very late, but with a 24 hour reception desk there were no problems checking in. We booked a family suite and the rooms were enormous and very comfortable with plenty of storage. We had a sea view which we asked for and the balcony was also large. The only thing about it was it was a shared balcony, which if you had noisy neighbours could be an issue. A cot was in the room as requested, and there was also a baby bath which we hadn't requested but thought was a nice touch on behalf of the hotel.

The swimming pools are well looked after and there is a shallow kids pool which we made use of. There are plenty of sunbeds with parasols and we didn't have a problem getting one. The hotel is also located on a pebbly beach which is great if you fancy a dip in the sea, but it isn't the nicest beach and it has a nudest section patrolled by a man on his horse!

Our booking included breakfast which has a massive selection and was generally very tasty. We also had the buffet dinner one night and the food again was impressive; probably the best buffet hotel food we have had. It includes a chef section where they cook meat on order in front of you - the veal was great!

We were fortunate enough to be offered free parking in the underground car park. There were only a few outside spaces left as the majority of guests will have hired a car which made parking easier, but it also meant the car was always shaded from the hot Spanish sun. The underground car park is also very secure so I would recommend this option if possible.

The only downside to the hotel is the location. It is a few km from Estepona and you need a car or a taxi to go anywhere. The hotel is easy to find from Malaga airport (took about an hour) and there are also some lovely hillside towns to explore such as Casares.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, but would advise renting a car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review as descriptive of what our hotel, if that is not within the city but that makes it a very quiet and nice place to relax.
We hope to see you again soon at Fuerte Estepona

Juan Ramón Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Let's start with the bad.

The food! I made the awful mistake of booking the half-board option. I very very very strongly recommend that you DO NOT dine at this hotel. It was simply the worst dining experience I can recall having anywhere at any time.
The dining room is that of a 1970s youth hostel or perhaps a 1980s prison. The food was somewhere between school dinners and bad hospital food.
DO NOT EAT HERE!

Next we mention the staff. Never in the history of my travels have I encountered staff so scared to ask guests if everything is OK in fear of the response. Staff simply do not give a hoot. Awful.

Next we mention location. This hotel is not in Estepona. I wouldn't call it near Estepona. It isn't near anything except the beach but that's no big deal in this part of Andalucia. Look at it on a map before booking and decide if your aim is to be away from Estepona and everything else. A hire car is pretty essential because trust me you will want to drive to a restaurant.

Now we mention the good bits.

It is in Andalucia and Andalucia is a very nice place. Andalucia however also has many many hotels better than this and I haven't been to any as bad or worse.

Finally the room. It was very nice. It was the best they had and was very expensive and probably overpriced but it was very nice. I did get the impression that it had been empty since the end of the previous season. It was extremely cold, even on a hot day, and was only comfortable by having the heater on full for the entire stay..

In general the property is nice but by virtue of being huge and (due largely to its location) being mostly empty, it did feel like a sad ghost hotel with very miserable staff. I found myself singing Hotel California a lot to cheer myself up however thankfully I was able to check out and leave

If I was paid to go back I would refuse. it would be a waste of a night in otherwise fantastic Andalucia. I resent the fact that most expensive stay of our Andalucian tour was also the worst.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a kitchen and bring food to cook a meal and have your breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUANRAMONPEREZ, Director del Hotel at Hotel Fuerte Estepona, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mr. Trevor
First of all, we would like to thank you to take your time in writing your comments about Fuerte Hotel Estepona, we are really sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us, and that you got so disappointed,
I would l like to give you some remarks about your comments; the hotel buffet is characterized by the Andalusian and Mediterranean typical cuisine, accompanied with international food. The Hotel buffet is set up with different areas, cold station: first we have a selection of different kind of breads and olive oils, pickles, crudités, assorted cheeses Iberian ham, could cuts,… a cold soup different each day, cannapes, smoked salmon, sea food, salads already made, and individual ingredients so you can make your own salads.
Then we have the show cooking where the Chef prepares a la minute meats and fishes for our guests, with homemade sauces, different garnishes to accompany, vegetables.
Also, we offer typical dishes already prepared like paella, meatballs, roast meat, fish stew. Then fried food, like fish fingers, fries, nuggets, fried fish…
Desserts: Ice-creams, natural fruits whole and sliced, and cakes
Regarding the staff, you can feel the enthusiasm that we put in satisfy our guests, the work team to aim the effort of guests satisfaction, our main goal, sorry that you took that impression.
Location; El Fuerte Hotel Estepona is not located in Estepona city old town, but driving it takes 10 minutes, around 4 km.
Thanks about the comments of our rooms, I m glad that you liked it.
We thank you again for your time, we take the feedback of our guests as the maximum priority in order to improve our quality, even if we are aware that it s difficult sometimes to satisfy all our guests in the same way.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
8.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.5 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
10.2 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 35 in Estepona
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Estepona

Property: Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Address: Arroyo Vaquero Playa | Crta. A-7 km 150, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#4 Family Hotel in Estepona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Estepona 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fuerte Estepona is a magnificent hotel with 210 rooms and deluxe suites with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms with sea views. Thanks to its location, a modern spa and its specifically-designed spaces for couples and families, the hotel holds a respected place among the hotels in Estepona. It is 82 km from Malaga International Airport and half an hour from Gibraltar.EL OLIVO RESTAURANT: Our traditional, high-quality Mediterranean cuisine using natural flavours with a modern touch to be enjoyed in modern surroundings. Our exclusive Fuerte Estepona restaurant, located within the hotel, is the perfect place to start and end a day at the beach, enjoying all the flavours it has to offer. A wide range of breakfasts, lunches (solely during the months of July and August) and buffet dinners.The Estepona Spa is a place where you can alleviate stress, charge your batteries and return home better than ever, thanks to our cutting-edge hydrotherapy circuits and massage and beauty treatment regimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Estepona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Estepona Hotel Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing