We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MacDonald Villacana Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week there with the family in one of the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom townhouse. Fully equipped. Lots of pools and restaurants within the resort, right next to the beach, beautiful gardens.
Beach is a little rocky but if you drive to Estepona you will find white sandy beaches by the pier.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank FoxOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    64
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
65
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As I write this review I am sat in a cool apartment digesting the most wonderful lunch.
My husband and I first came here about 12 years ago and decided to return after two years holidaying at La Ermita.
Last time we stayed in an apartment in Dom Pietro, but on this holiday we found ourselves tucked away from everybody at Princesa which is above the mini supermarket, gym and overlooks the tennis court.
My husband was a bit put out at first as we look out over the empty Playa Sol hotel, but all this was a plus.
Quiet on our own little island we were literally two minutes walk from the beach, an even shorter walk from the on site bar and restaurant and ice creams downstairs from the supermarket were very handy as the weather was so hot!
All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and it was lovely to be encouraged to practise my Spanish.
Only one little upset. Cockroaches. Both of our bathrooms are without windows and to be greeted by cockroaches when going to the loo in the middle of the night is a bit of a shock. Someone came to deal with them the next morning but we found some more the following night. Maintenance quickly returned the next day and sprayed the whole apartment thoroughly and even removed all the bodies including one from behind the sofa which had been there some time.
Lovely to be woken by the aroma of baking bread and birdsong in the morning.
Beautifully cooked food at La Rincon on site and if you want food to die for I thoroughly recommend Barraka Bar and Restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank teddysahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed the pool/s, the small kids playground in the garden adjoining reception and the expansive green grass at the Club by the beach. Our only regret (and it's not any slight on the resort) is that we didn't feel like we were in Spain. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but the resort felt like an ex-pat country club.

Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff at the beach-side Club were good for half the evening, then seemed to forget about our table after we finished our main course. Nothing to really stress or worry us, we were in holiday-mode and perhaps as it wasn't the peak tourist season yet, the staff at the restaurant were also in "holiday mode" as well?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I cannot fault this place it was fantastic! Everything about it was fabulous and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would not hesitate to go there again. Beautiful grounds fabulous facilities, great apartments, 5 minutes from the beach.

Only thing you need to know is that if you are happy to eat out every day and want to stay at the resort then you are fine but if you want to do self catering and get out to different places , then you will need a car.

From Malaga airport to the resort cost us 100 euros in a taxi so for a bit extra you might be better off hiring a car and driving yourself.

We have stayed in all the macdonald resorts in Spain and this is the favourite love it !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank jools2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed in early May and so limited restaurant offering. Resort well maintained and very colourful. Our one bedroom apartment had all we needed for the week. Friendly and helpful staff. Car essential to explore the surrounding area although some local bus services. We had private garden area with loungers situated only a few yards from the smaller pool. The larger pool was much warmer. Didn't use the indoor pool but it looked good. Just a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Cancelada had reasonable choice of restaurants. Villacana is very well situated for San Pedro/Puerto Banus/ Marbella and the inland white villages. Closest town, Estepona, has been improved dramatically with colourful floral displays all around the central area. We like the area and will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Petrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a 1st floor 1 bedroom (134) with roof terrace. Very quiet and superb roof terrace which had the sun all day. sat on roof at 8pm and watched sun go down with a nice glass of Rioja. Had a pool 2 seconds away with lots of beds available. Only downside was that with shutters or screen closed it made the rooms very dark. Well equiped with everything you needed. On site resteraunt was very clean and food was very well cooked and good price. Their were 5 or 6 bars/resteraunts within a couple of minutes walk that were also excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 760JockS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January with two friends. Our accommodation was a three bedroomed, two bathroom house over three floors. It was very spacious house, there were only three of us on this trip. We had a lovely enclosed private garden, with comfortable seating and barbecue. The resort has two outdoor and one indoor pools. The whole place property, grounds, and pools are very well cared for. A small shop was open were you could get the basics, larger supermarkets are a taxi or car ride away, the bus stops are close by. I should mention that two of us had mobility problem's so we were restricted on this trip. Villacarna was very quiet during our stay January 7-14, the restaurants had short opening times, but we managed. A lady called Lisa Reece Fernandez was brilliant, she worked at the resort, organising local walks, wine tasting, Spanish lessons etc. she was very knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, taxi firms. She was a real help during our stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
460 reviews
7.3 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacDonald Villacana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Property: MacDonald Villacana Resort
Address: Calle Cadiz 165/166, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
MacDonald Villacana Resort Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing