We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort stay with a home feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Villacana Club Resort
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed staying in the Villacana Resort in Estepona and the grounds were absolutely immaculate and beautiful with bougainvillea overtaking the resort. The accomodations were lovely townhomes with two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and fully equiped kitchen and living room. The wonderful part was the courtyard in the back with a brick BBQ. There were only a few things that were a drawback. The beds were not very comfortable compared to the Mariotts and Hiltons. They also charge for electricity which I never had experienced considering we are HGVC members and have travelled extensively to many timeshare resorts and WIFI was not included which I understand in a way. Other than that the two restaurants that were on property were very pleasant for a quick bite to eat and karoake night at 90 miles restaurant was great fun. The beach was very cold and rocky but that is how the coast is and not the resorts fault. The resort had many pools and areas to tan. Overall, very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank V662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of May 2014 in a two bed apartment on the second floor.
A large, fully equipped, spotless apartment to a very good standard with balcony and solarium on the roof.Air con and DVD player. Extremely helpful staff, immaculately kept grounds and stunning shrubs and flowers abound, around intimate courtyards and walkways. The pools were well kept and clean.
Onsite shop for emergencies, but no newspapers, you'll have to go up the hill to the small village for them.Did not use the onsite restaurant so cannot comment.
Once outside the complex it's a bit run down, derelict car park opposite, and disused holiday complex next door. The beach is close 100 yards or so but it's not special and some may be disappointed at the lack of amenities.
We had car hire which we were pleased to have and went into the center of Estapona some 6/7 kilometers away. The car was useful for the supermarket, as although it's not very far, you've got to cross the main road, which is a pain. Would recommend car hire as there really is not that much in the vicinity and useful for Puerto Banus, Marbella etc
Such a pity that the resort cannot be transplanted into the centre of Estapona.
Having said that we had a very relaxing week in a superb apartment, where we relaxed in a quiet, peaceful resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank AndyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with private balcony and roof terrace.
The apartment was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Maid service was provided mid week. It had everything we required even an orange juicer!
We used the on site restaurants several times and they were great value for money.
We did not have a car but this was not a problem as the bus stops outside. We travelled from Malaga airport on the bus to Marbella bus station then got a bus for Estepona. We told the driver we were going to Villacanna and he let us know when to get off. It stops across the road and you cross the bridge ( it takes about 5 mins)
The reception staff very helpful and the gardens around the resort are gorgeous. You see the gardeners most days.
The Villacanna North (McDonald Resort) resort has 2 pools. The main pool has a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and an indoor pool. There are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available. This area also has evening entertainment and activities during the day ( basic Spanish lessons, sangria making, scuba diving in the pool, wine tasting etc.,)
This is a fabulous resort and very secure. It can be a busy holiday or a nice relaxing quiet one. It's up to you. I would
highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank franki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week there with the family in one of the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom townhouse. Fully equipped. Lots of pools and restaurants within the resort, right next to the beach, beautiful gardens.
Beach is a little rocky but if you drive to Estepona you will find white sandy beaches by the pier.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
10  Thank FoxOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As I write this review I am sat in a cool apartment digesting the most wonderful lunch.
My husband and I first came here about 12 years ago and decided to return after two years holidaying at La Ermita.
Last time we stayed in an apartment in Dom Pietro, but on this holiday we found ourselves tucked away from everybody at Princesa which is above the mini supermarket, gym and overlooks the tennis court.
My husband was a bit put out at first as we look out over the empty Playa Sol hotel, but all this was a plus.
Quiet on our own little island we were literally two minutes walk from the beach, an even shorter walk from the on site bar and restaurant and ice creams downstairs from the supermarket were very handy as the weather was so hot!
All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and it was lovely to be encouraged to practise my Spanish.
Only one little upset. Cockroaches. Both of our bathrooms are without windows and to be greeted by cockroaches when going to the loo in the middle of the night is a bit of a shock. Someone came to deal with them the next morning but we found some more the following night. Maintenance quickly returned the next day and sprayed the whole apartment thoroughly and even removed all the bodies including one from behind the sofa which had been there some time.
Lovely to be woken by the aroma of baking bread and birdsong in the morning.
Beautifully cooked food at La Rincon on site and if you want food to die for I thoroughly recommend Barraka Bar and Restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank teddysahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed the pool/s, the small kids playground in the garden adjoining reception and the expansive green grass at the Club by the beach. Our only regret (and it's not any slight on the resort) is that we didn't feel like we were in Spain. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but the resort felt like an ex-pat country club.

Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff at the beach-side Club were good for half the evening, then seemed to forget about our table after we finished our main course. Nothing to really stress or worry us, we were in holiday-mode and perhaps as it wasn't the peak tourist season yet, the staff at the restaurant were also in "holiday mode" as well?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I cannot fault this place it was fantastic! Everything about it was fabulous and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would not hesitate to go there again. Beautiful grounds fabulous facilities, great apartments, 5 minutes from the beach.

Only thing you need to know is that if you are happy to eat out every day and want to stay at the resort then you are fine but if you want to do self catering and get out to different places , then you will need a car.

From Malaga airport to the resort cost us 100 euros in a taxi so for a bit extra you might be better off hiring a car and driving yourself.

We have stayed in all the macdonald resorts in Spain and this is the favourite love it !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank jools2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
797 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Al-Ana
Hotel Boutique Al-Ana
#13 of 34 in Estepona
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 34 in Estepona
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Villacana Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Villacana Club Resort

Address: Calle Cadiz 165/166, 29680, Estepona, Spain (Formerly MacDonald Villacana Resort)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#3 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £58 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Villacana Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Villacana Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
Macdonald Villacana Club Resort Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing