We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel;
what made the biggest impression on us was definitelly the huge selection of breakfast items, all well presented and of a great quality. I loved the Kempinski garden where you can walk and see the organge/lemon/avocado trees, herbs, etc. all fruits and veggies organically grown. The outside pools, the old tower and all of the outside area is very well kept & clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear venusss

thank you for having stayed with us recently.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback and appreciation on our breakfast offerings, the vegetable garden and our facilities.
We look very much forward welcoming you back soon.

With kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Bahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were granted a sea view room, on entering the room we looked at a wall, the room was small and not very clean with smears on the shower. We asked to speak to a manager and was told there was no manager there ! The offered us another room but it was smaller shaped like a corridor corner and again looking onto a wall of another block! We were so upset so we wnt Back to reception and said we aren't happy and pl can we speak to someone In Charge , a duty manager spoke to us on the phone which was not acceptable, finally a young guy with ruffled hair and not even a name badge ( clearly we had woke him up! At 10,40 pm!) came down nd said sorry there is nothing we can do we have no more rooms ! The hotel of a 5 star complex should not offer guests something they can not give particularly at 250e per night you don't expect a dirty small room with loud motorway noise and for aug a huge resort you at least expect a manager on duty to help guests with any issues! What would have happened if there was a fire or bomb scare for example ...... Who would take responsibility of such a huge resort?!!!! V v bad !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HK Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear HK Y,

We are really sorry for your stay and we are really sorry that we could not speak with you. This is not the way we do things here. Regarding the rooms we are reclassifying
problematic rooms like yours (three in the hotel) currently. Again please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I do t typically review hotels but felt the need to leave my comments:
1. Prior to our arrival I contacted the concierge so they could arrange three excursions for us. They arranged an amazing private tour to tangier, trip to gibraltar and a tour in Granada and Al Hambra palace. The trip to tangier was so well executed and we were met by the best local private tour guides in tangier (said introduced us to his very capable guide hamid who took such great care of us). I couldn't find any tickets to al hambra palace anywhere with any tour companies or even private tours and asked the concierge if there was any way they could make this trip happen for us - they literally must have found the last two spots left on a tour and we couldn't have been happier. If you only have a few days I definitely recommend contacting the super concierge team ahead of time for any reservations/excursions because your trip will go flawlessly.
2. Because we left so early every morning before breakfast was served the hotel arranged for continental breakfast to be set up on either our room or the lobby lounge, which was great.
3. The steak and fish restaurant food quality is superb but I personally felt the fish restaurants service was a little "frazzled" - not on their toes whereas the steak restaurant service was outstanding. I had to attend to my baby before my main course came out and they brought my steak to the room so I could eat in peace.
3. The actual property is beautiful And room size was great - I wish we had one more day here to actually enjoy the pools and beach.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank sra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear sra12,

thank you for having stayed with us during your recent visit to Andalucía.
Thank you for having enjoyed your stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your trips to Tangier, Gibraltar and Granada. Thank you for the appreciation on our personnel, restaurant offerings and facilities. Your comments will be shared with all concerned.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Hotel Bahía.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I and our three children spent four days here in late April. The weather was perfect and I think that must be the appeal of coming to this area. We have stayed at other Kempinski properties (in Munich, Istanbul and Bodrum) and this one left a lot to be desired. Our bathroom was dirty upon arrival and the shower never worked properly. I mentioned it to the front desk several times and it was only taken care of on our last day. Perhaps it is a language barrier, but when I mentioned it, there was never an apology...only "thank you for telling us." There was construction at the Spa/Gym area and some parts of the pool area looked a little shabby and run down. Highlight is the bar in the main lobby.....we watched a big football match there and the service was super...friendly, relaxed and spot-on with customer service. Also, while it is set on the ocean, it is also on the freeway and at night if you have the windows open you do not hear the ocean, rather you hear cars speeding by all night long. Overall...I would not return here.

Room Tip: Make sure you face outward toward the Sea.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Libby L,

thank you for staying with us with your family and thank you for your comments.
We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings with your room. This is not up to our standard and should not have happened.
We are currently upgrading our Spa facilities and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay.
Thanks again for your time and feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we knew it was an amazing hotel. Champagne was left in our room on our arrival. We stayed in a room with an ocean view, which was just fabulous. Every time you come back to your room there is some nice treat awaiting you; strawberries covered in chocolate etc. The food is just fab, and even if you only order the main meal in the restaurant you get to sample a starter and dessert. I would travel just for the breakfasts in the morning. You are absolutely spoilt for choice. Fantastic display of all types of cold meat, cheeses, hot food etc. The decor is very modern and the grounds are exceptionally well kept, even able to swim in the outdoor pool in January! Staff very friendly in particular the waiter in the restaurant in the evenings. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. Highly recommend this hotel :-)

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ocean view and you are guaranteed not to be disappointed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNeary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear MNeary2014

thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel for your honeymoon stay and for celebrating this special occasion with us.
We are very pleased that you had a great time and that you will remember this vacation for the rest of your life. Thank you for enjoying our services and offerings and for all you nice comments towards our employees.
We look forward welcoming you back to your new home away from home and would be very pleased to organize you a special wedding anniversary in the future!

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Bahia Kempinski for 4 nights in the run up to Easter weekend. It's a beautiful hotel set in a peaceful beach location. Great pools, lovely maintained grounds and a sea view from most angles.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful and they took time to make our two youngsters (7 & 5) feel right at home. The kids club staff were especially good with them and kept them busy with lots of fun activities .

The gym and spa areas are an added bonus and the hotel exudes an overally feeling of calm and tranquility.

A special mention has to go to Ana in the reservations team who was brilliant in assisting us with our booking.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustafarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Rustafarian,

thank you for having stayed with us during the Easter weekend.

Thank you very much for enjoying our services and offerings. We are very pleased to hear that your children had a great time at the Kids club.
Thank you also for your nice comments on our employees. Your comments will be shared with all concerned.
We look forward to your next visit at your home away from home in Costa del Sol.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Perfectly located, with a nice view over the bay and beach, this restaurant has very frienfly waiters. But the quality of food is... Well... Average at best. My fish was raw inside. They apologized, removed this item from the bill, provided with free desert - but the evening was spoiled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ryszard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Ryszard W,

thank you very much for having visited our Restaurant La Cabaña del Mar Andalusian Seafood.
Thank you very much for enjoying the ambience and for your nice comments towards our employees. We regret that our food quality did not meet your expectation and would like to apologize to you. Please be kindly informed that we are currently changing the whole food and beverage offerings of our Hotel.
We look forward welcoming you back in near future.

Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
3.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#3 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £146 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing