We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's a safe bet to go for Kempinski. It's a very nice hotel chain. We had a wonderful time. I travelled with a friend because we were attending a wedding, we both thought our choice was the best. The beach is not impressive because it looks like there are lots of rocks, but if you are brave and you walk a little bit further, then you reach the sand and it's really nice to have a dip/swim in the sea water. The service was very nice, the quality of the food was very good, the breakfast was also good. All in all very nice. The area is a bit away from the "action". You can walk to Purobeach (a really nice beach club to enjoy dinner and drink) Or you can just take a taxi (or even bus) to Puerto Banus/Marbella and there you can have plenty of things to do. Then back to the quiet hotel with the beautiful garden area around the pool. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Crvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Crvald,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your visit to the Costal del Sol and thank you for your comments about our services and offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Bahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

For a short break from summer in the city, the space and air at the Kempinski Bahia is exactly what you need to recharge. And although it is accessed from the main highway, once you are inside reception the only sound you hear is of waves and birds...plus an occasional helicopter taking an oligarch or two to a yacht or some golfers to one of the 60 plus golf courses along that coast.
However it's best at allowing you to do nothing at all. The gardens are beautiful, the free-form swimming pools are fantastic and while the beach may have more pebbles than you would like, the sea is exactly what you want the Med to be in summer. There is a serene new spa, a terrific fitness centre and three restaurants...all just a couple of hours from London, and 45 minutes from Malaga airport...and by the way on a clear day you can see Africa

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Jo F,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your short break to the Costa del Sol and thank you for your nice review about the hotel and the surroundings. It makes us happy to see satisfied guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife daughter and I booked for our holiday, meeting up with friends. The staff are very attentive and polite. The rooms are reasonable, we had connecting rooms and it worked quite well for us as a family. The frontage onto the beach is nice, the lawned area particularly, but the beach itself is disappointing, rather dusty and feel s little dirty. The pools are reasonable but a little cold! The fish restaurant is very good, we were disappointed in the Steak House restaurant, poor service and not a brilliant meal. The resort has the feel of a USA resort hotel, not a bad thing as the standard is pretty good. We would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecoopersCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear thecoopersCheshireUK,

Thank you very much for having choosen our hotel to spend your holiday with your family and thank you for your comments regarding our services and offerings. We are sorry to hear your experience at Alminar Wine & Steak House was not up to your expectactions. May I suggest getting in touch on a different platform to find out more details?
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here with another couple for one night. While the beach view and location was absolutely stunning, we were disappointed that things several things did not work. I expect basic things like the hairdryer to work. It didn't and I had to go to breakfast with wet hair. We also discovered that the power point for the shaver in the bathroom also didn't work. I guess it was on the same fuse. Unfortunately, despite reminders, the hotel never fixed it nor did I get a replacement hairdryer. Our friends complained that their air conditioning did not work and this was also not fixed. And lastly, the wifi didn't work for any of us! (4 different iphones and 1 android phone). And the concierge wasn't able to fix any of these things for us.

Plus points: My husband and I had chosen the sea view room and felt it was worth the extra money. The breakfast buffet was excellent and it was really nice to enjoy our meal on the terrace. The saving grace of this hotel was it's view of the ocean and the seafood restaurant where we had a wonderful dinner. But if I had to do it again, I would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoKGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear JoKGo,

Thank you for having stayed at our Hotel. We apologise for the hairdryer and Wi-Fi shortcomings, which we have taken note of.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Kempinski near Estepona for a week in mid-June to unwind, enjoy the sun and play some tennis. Unlike so many hotel properties along the coast, the Kempinski is on a particularly wide plot and you therefore enjoy a tremendous sense of space, enhanced by the large and well maintained gardens and beachfront (which is very private, despite all beaches being public).

Like all coastal properties, the coast road is close by, so it is important to have a room that truly faces the beach, and not side on. Once inside the hotel and in the gardens and around the pool, there is no sense of road noise, particularly when the southerly sea breeze is blowing.

It didn't feel like the hotel was full and there were more than enough sun loungers scattered throughout the gardens, around the pool and on the beach. The breakfast was fantastic, as others have commented, with a great range of everyhting you could possibly want. The fresh fruit selection was of a particularly high standard.

We tried both the seafood beachside restaurant (a bit expensive for what you get, but a lovely setting), the Trattoria (fabulous food) and the pool restaurant for lunch every day (very good value, but could do with a little more choice - perhaps a couple of light pasta dishes on top of the salads, wraps and burgers). We didn't try the steak restaurant as it looked a bit dark and formal.

There is a little and very smart beachclub a few hundred yards down the beach (to the east) that has a couple of great restaurants (Camuri and Gaucho) that are well worth a visit if you want a change of scene.

We had a sea view deluxe room on the 5th floor which was very comfortable, clean and quiet; perfect for our requirements. Another reason we chose this hotel was its tennis court. While a little noisy given its location, the court was in excellent condition and there was no charge for using it (quite unusual in Spain). I would recommend booking the court a few days ahead at reception, particularly if you want to play at the popular times of day (7am to 10am and 6pm to 8pm). The hotel has balls, but they were heavily used, so not in great condition. I'd recommend that you bring or buy your own.

Overall, a great week and the best place I have yet found in this price bracket on the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear UrbanTed,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacation to the Costa del Sol and thank you for your comments regarding our services and offerings. It makes us happy to see satisfied guests. This and next year we will be introducing new family and restaurant concepts, please have a look at our web page to find out more. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first time visiting Kempinski Hotel with my wife and daughter. Overall our stay was great. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Both Rafael & Victor (The concierge) provided us with great suggestions to plan our stay at the Costa Del Sol, either in visiting attractions or to restaurants. The restaurants were very nice, especially the Italian restaurant. And the daily breakfast was something i'd eagerly wait for in the morning. If you're planning to visit the area I highly recommend staying at the Kempinski.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank faisal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear faisal G,

Thank you for staying in our Hotel with your family and thank you for all your nice comments. We are more than pleased to pass your good comments to both Rafael and Victor. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

...just briefly: Positive points: Nearly everything! You clearly get what you would expect from a decent 5-star facility. Outstanding, welcoming service, great food, nice amenities, you name it...Just two points concerning room for improvement: The business center costs 7EUR and newspapers are not free of charge.
Well, all in all we'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Take a room not facing towards the motorway.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear WorldTravellerG,

thank your for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Bahía and thank you for your comments regarding our services and offerings. Regarding your newspaper comment, please be aware all GHA Members (Global Hotel Alliance) receive free daily newspapers. You can join for free at any of the over 430 GHA hotels. Your comment about the cost for the business center will be taken under consideration.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,420 reviews
3.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#3 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £127 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing