We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Bahia
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked a suite at the kempinski at €700 a night (plus taxes) and I couldn't in good conscience recommend it to anyone. We arrived at 3pm to be told that our room wasn't ready and we're shown into a tiny room where we could wait indefinitely. The previous guests didn't leave our suite until after 7pm and we didn't get into our room until after 9pm at night. The front desk offered us a complimentary drink to make up for it which became a 50% discount after much back and forth. It really shouldn't have been any sort of discussion and was completely unacceptable. To top it off the complimentary drinks never materialised.

The next morning we took a cabanna on the beach for €110 plus taxes, expecting to have drinks service as advertised. By the fifth trip to the pool bar our patience was running thin and I began yo question how this hotel got its stars. We ordered lunch and the food was sent back - medium burger was completely uncooked, still actually bleeding. By this time the waiter apologised and just said the service wasn't good enough - it still didn't improve though.

Day three we take a cabanna have relatives come for lunch and order paella from the restaurant . Don't make the mistake of assuming that the min two order means the paella is fresh it was dry and stodgy and with no alcohol or desserts the €155 bill was ridiculous for the calibre of food although the service was slightly better than the non existent service around the pool and on the beach.

Back at the cabanna a free lance beach massage chap is working on some reflexology on my partner when the pool boys arrive, not to take a drinks order but to start shouting loudly at him and us. First sign of service all day and admittedly most hotels don't like he freelancers on the beach but I've certainly seen things dealt with in a considerably more professional manner in true 5* hotels. This was about the last straw and having to witness for men shouting at an Asian man trying to make done money on the beach was unpalatable at best.

My boyfriend used to stay here a lot a few years ago and was incredibly disappointed by the fall in standards at the hotel. I've never stayed in a suite that has two single beds pushed together to make a king size and gives you separate single duvets for a cover before. We travel a lot and we stay in fab hotels but we actually checked out a couple of days early due to the terrible standards they keep. The spa is good and breakfast is good although they could do with more than one person making eggs. If you like impeccable service and luxury this really isn't the hotel for you. If you have children it looked as though they entertained them well. It is hugely expensive and there are much better hotels along the coast with better service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Alhigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alhigs,

First of all thank you for staying with us and secondly please accept our apologies as you did not enjoy your stay in our Hotel. We should have anticipated the Suite not being ready upon your arrival and despite offering another room to relax, we should have shown more consideration. Again, please accept our apologies as this is not the way we treat our guests.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Bahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Such a great time we had at the hotel. Good facilities for everyone. Big swimming pools, Kids Club, gym, SPA, excellent restaurants. Close to city Marbella. Friendly staff, good size and very clean rooms. Breakfast is outstanding!!! The varioty of food and fresh juices is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Marina L,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment and for having been our guest recently. We are pleased that you had such a great time at our Hotel and that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurants and specially our Kempinski breakfast as well as the room accommodation and our brand new Spa. Thank you very much!
We would be more than happy to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent hotel. Large, comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities for kids of all ages. Beautiful pool complex with plenty of lounge chairs and nice bar menu. More than made up for the disappointing beach. Excellent buffet breakfast. Returned very late one night and Italian restaurant easily accommodated our large (11) group.
Only drawback was Spanish restaurant in pool area. The kitchen is completely confused with no sense of timing in serving a meal. Thereafter we made use of the restaurants in the Marbella and Puerto Banus areas. Also, try Crusoes up the beach for lunch.

Room Tip: Stay in higher number rooms; i.e., above 600.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Maureen H,

We would like to thank you for having been our guest recently when visiting Costa del Sol in Andalucía. We appreciate you taking your time to share your experiences about your stay at Kempinski Hotel Bahía. Thank you for enjoying our services and facilities and also for your appreciation on our personnel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a very relaxing vacation and truly a wonderful time in this hotel. The location is excellent with easy access to all major sights in the surrounding area. Although there's a highway running in front of the hotel, you will forget about it the moment you cross the main entrance - there's no noise heard from it anywhere across the property. One of the main advantages is the wide garden area which provides plenty of space for all the hotel guests to enjoy the sun during the day. The beach is a bit rocky and the sea refreshing, but this was what we expected, and indeed loved swimming in the clear water. Hotel services are excellent with a choice of several restaurants, each having its own flair with unforgettable meals and lovely service. I strongly recommend Kempinski Hotel Bahia to all who want to have a genuine relax in Costa del Sol.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones directly facing the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Falc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Falc01,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your recent trip to Estepona. Thank you for you feedback and nice comments. It’s our commitment to provide you endless hours of relaxation, good service and excellent food quality. We are happy to see that you enjoyed all this and would like to thank you once more for your comments on our garden area, the restaurant offerings and your recommendations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just stayed in the Kempinski for a few days at the end of our holidays following a stay in a villa in Andalucia. There were many pluses such as extremely friendly staff, beautiful pool and grounds and good facilities. However a number of things made it a less than satisfactory experience.

1/ I couldn't book "one" room online for 2 adults and 2 children (4 years and 1 year) so I contacted the hotel to ask if this was in fact possible. I received a response stating yes and they could do a suite or 2 interconnecting rooms to accommodate me. They quoted me around £350 per room per night which I was happy with and paid. On arriving at the hotel I was told that I had only paid half as the interconnecting rooms counted as two. I pointed out that this was not made clear in the communications and had a disagreement about it. They ended up reducing outstanding balance by 30% which I reluctantly accepted.

2/ That night we ate as a family in the Italian restaurant where my wife ordered a pasta dish with seafood including "Norwegian Lobster". When it arrived there was zero lobster in the dish. She asked the waiter in charge why this was and he simply mumbled that it was a "mistake on the menu and is supposed to say Scampi" ..................wrong on so many counts!! Almost laughable if it wasn't so expensive. She mentioned it again to the waitress at the end who simply said she'd inform her supervisor. So we paid full price for a lobster dish with no lobster!!

3/ In our bedroom despite it being clear that we are a married couple, we were given twin beds pushed together.(we had to chase up the travel cot)

4/ When I came to check out we had actually forgotten the bad experiences to a large extent as the kids in particular had a brilliant time at the pool and made so many friends. We were in fact thinking of rebooking for October. However my mood changed when I was presented with a bill for nearly 600 euros outstanding. When I asked to go through the bills the girl on the counter was completely confused and once again I spoke with the manager (who to be fair is very pleasant and professional). Turns out the 30% discount mentioned in Point 1 had still been included in final bill + someone else had signed a large bar bill on to my room. To top it off, the blue water bottles left innocuously around our room were not in fact complimentary but charged at 4 euros + the obligatory "service charge". Once I'd argued the point and nearly left late for the plane there was little by way of explanation as to they'd tried to charge me nearly 400 euros more than I actually owed.

All of these points left a very sour taste in the mouth. It is such a shame as we loved the pool and general ambience but you just get the feeling that you have to watch the bills closely.

ps The beach is horrible, but the swimming pool complex make up for this to a large extent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Col&Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, Director General at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Col&Nicky,

First of all, thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your stay in Costa del Sol and thank you for having stayed with us. We also appreciate the comments you made on certain facilities and its services and our colleagues at the reception, whom you mentioned in the internal survey from Kempinski
Secondly, we would like to apologise the shortcomings in services especially at the Italian restaurant. "Being ripped off" is quite a strong expression and has an underlying feeling of concealment. Regarding the reservation process, we have been transparent all the way. The written correspondence and the reservation confirmation you received, mentioned the price per room per day, which is an internationally agreed practise.
We are really sorry about what has happened as your experience and view of our hotel has been marred.
Thank you again for your understanding and once again sorry.

Kind regards
Jean Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed for a week so didn't have any plans to do a lot of sightseeing.
The hotel has a nice garden and swimming pools and there's also a Kids Club.
We never go in high season so were there earlier this year with Easter. It's nice because it doesn't get that crowded but at the other hand not all swimming pools were heated enough to be used.
Breakfast was very nice and also dinner in the hotel was fine.
The hotel is a bit isolated from the closest City Center but a taxi will bring you to Puerto Banus where you can shop and get a drink.
All by all a nice experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loeka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Loeka B,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel for your stay at the Costa del Sol. We appreciated it when guests try all our services and offerings. Regarding your comment about the hotel location, please know in 2015 the boardwalk "Paseo Marítimo" connecting our hotel to Estepona will be complete. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The service was perfect. The setting was paradisiac, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The food is outstanding. You get what you pay for. The only thing that bothered me is that you have to pay for wifi. With the price of the hotel rooms, I think they should put it free or a lower price!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Londoner1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMP_Kempinski, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Londoner1710,

Firstly we would like to thank you for for staying with us and thank you for your nice comments about our services and offerings. Please know we have recently improved the quality of our standard wifi which is free of cost for our hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you and kind regards,
Jean-Marc Poli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
4.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
5.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 35 in Estepona
1,417 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
891 reviews
3.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bahia

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, km 159 | Playa El Padron, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#2 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £144 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bahia 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short drive from Marbella, the Kempinski Hotel Bahia is a lavish, five-star property sitting within breathtaking subtropical gardens, and affords extraordinary views of the Mediterranean Sea, Gibraltar and African Coastline. The Kempinski Hotel Bahia has created a fresh and elegant look to its 128 spacious rooms and 17 luxurious suites. It boasts a host of fabulous restaurants and bars (some seasonal), Kempinski Spa with sauna and steam room, and excellent children's facilities, amongst other things. Situated near most Andalusian cities and a mere 45 min. Drive to Malaga International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Resort Bahia Estepona
Kempinski Hotel Bahia Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing