We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find”
Review of Da Mario

Da Mario
Ranked #15 of 479 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A real find”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited yesterday for the first time and were delighted we did. The restaurant has inside and outside seating and we were outside. The outside area is covered by a canopy which keeps it cool but may not be to your liking if you want to sit under the stars. From the beginning we felt very welcome from all the staff , especially the owner who is very friendly and chatty . The menu is very kid friendly and has the usual mix of pizzas , veal and chicken dishes. We had melanzane alla parmigiana and smoked mozzarella with mushrooms to start and a calzone , a pizza and saltimbocca Al la Romana as mains. Everything tasted really great and the full restaurant showed that this was a fact known by a lot if people. With very nice service throughout , we really enjoyed our evening in Da Marios

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    89
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Italian takeaway”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just around the corner from the Costalita apartment complex. Relatively inexpensive but great quality and authentic Italian dishes. Lovely decor and atmosphere while we waited, Given complementary olives and offered a drink. Friendly and accommodating staff. They even gave us a pot of parmesan cheese to take with us!

Only quibble might be that they aren't the biggest portions but no smaller than any other Italian restaurant. Overall, highly recommended whether eating in or taking out.

TOP NOTCH!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dprmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food, nice staff”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

i was there with family, typical Italian friendly kindness, the food was very good, pasta and the owen baked pizzas.
recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Tobias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for Pizza and Pasta”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We eat at Mario's a few times during the summer and we would visit more regularily if the menu was a bit more extensive and if the meat and fish dishes as well as the desserts would be better.

This is certainly a very simple restaurant (a blend between a pizzeria and a trattoria), but it benefits immensly by the warm welcome always offered by the owner and the staff to all the guests. And it would benefit even more if the outdoor terrace and the surrounding garden, although some improvements were made lately, would see a further makeover.

I would wish there would be some additional starters, and I would very much welcome if there would be more choice and inspiration within Mario's pizza menue. May be Mario should have a look at the California Pizza Kitchen website (www.cpk.com) for a few ideas....Again, the pasta dishes also would benefit from some more inspiration....

Until then, I will remain confined to his Rucola and Prosciuto pizza, which is really good, but about as adventurous as it gets. Overall, everything is very reasonably priced, and until I am finally finding a pizza/pasta place with a more interesting menu in the Marbella area (I have no high hopes...) I will continue to be a loyal customer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

On our most recent visit we were served very good food by staff who had a great attitude. Efficient service with a sense of humour. The menu is extensive, reasonably priced and the food is very good indeed. Only observation is that outdoor terrace and garden area would benefit from a make over. Good mix of local and visitor clients which is usually a good sign. Will certainly be back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Mario also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing