We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Palangre - Casa del Mar

El Palangre - Casa del Mar
Ranked #178 of 457 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madrid
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very good seafood and kind personnel. It is not right on the center of Estepona but is an elevated area, so the sea con be seen

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite restaurants so it was quite disappointing to have a sub standard meal on our final evening in Estepona. Our order was mixed up and the fish we ordered was over cooked. The waiters were not in the usual white shirts and black trousers and didn't work with the usual efficiency we have come to expect at the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnHull73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“It's a trek up the hill.......but well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We went here for lunch on the recommendation of a family member. We were not disappointed. In fact, the trek up the hill from the main road proved only to enhance our appetites! We were lucky enough to be meeting a Spanish friend there, and this proved to be invaluable in finding some wonderful local delicacies which we may not have found having the conversation with the waiter in English. We started with croquettes, octopus, white prawns from Huelva, a speciality prawn tortilla (biscuit), followed by the most exquisite prawn and monkfish skewers. It really was a wonderful meal, and the service really attentive. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk up the hill - Give it a try!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This restaurant is one of our "old reliables" which we will go to when we want a completely Spanish, fishy food experience!

Not touristy in the slightest and do not be put off by the Spanish speaking waiting staff as they really friendly and patient.

When we go, the menu is so wide and varied, we tend to order three or four starters to be served "juntos" or all together and then the pair of us "dive in".

Reasonably priced and now with superb views since the old hotel has been demolished.

Certainly within our top 10 to 15 reataurants in Estepona.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy_in_Estepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Palangre - Casa del Mar also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Palangre - Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing