We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“money grabbersl”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol Princess
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 5 August 2006

oVERALL, the costa del sol princess was a very pleasent experiece. However, my family felt that there were a few unpleasent situations.

we arrived at the hotel at 11:00pm. this is when are dreamholiday started to show its true colours, when we asked the reception where our rooms where they gave us the CAN'T BE BOTHERED attitude, we mannaged to control our feelings and search for our room. After what seemed like an eternity we found our room. The hotel staff had saved us some dinner, we were pleased until we found out that they had left us carrot food. personally i didn't like the food and left. at 12:20 we went to the bar for two pina colarda and a orange juice all calm and relaxed when they gave us the drinks and we walked away they shouted after us and told us to pay, we explaind to them we were all inclusive but they said your only all inclusive until 12:00 pm.

There are three pool bars spaced out around the complex. however, only one is for the all inclusive guests. this is some what annoying when you are seated around one of the other pools. furthermore, if you purchased a drink from the all inclusive bar you were unable to take it back to your lounger as it had to be consumed around the all in bar-WHY! can understand it if you had a tray full could be giving them away to the other guests but when you are only carrying one.

furthermore, the standard of service in and ot of the hotel could have been improved if they listened to their customers when they have a quiery or enquiry.

contact firm_but_fair@hotmail.co.uk for any questions

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank bailysforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

I can not believe anyone can write a negative review on this hotel and as it is all inclusive some of the negatives must be for another hotel.

We arrived late receptions were friendly and the security man showed us to our rooms in block 5, with a view over the pool ans sea. The hotel had then laid on cold plates so we could get something to eat as we were long past the closing time of the restaurant. The room was spacious and very clean no marks on the walls oh and free bottled water in the fridge with a new one delivered each day.

All the meals were excellent and put out in small serving vessels so always hot and not messed about with, the show cooking also did pasta to order which suited the son. The staff were friendly your drinks came quickly and the plates were also cleared efficiently (I hate it when the dirty plates mount up).

Pool bar and main bar never had any queues even at night you could get your drinks in minutes as many as you wanted and teh all inclusive range was great. The pool bar also did tubs of walls ice cream and hot and cold snacks you definitely could not go hungry. Occassions people tried to sneek down from the andulician princess to use the restauarant and the bars but they were spotted and charged.

There are smoking areas but as none smokers we found the fact that you could not smoke in doors very much to our liking. We got sunbeds every day without a problem and clean pool towels the pool is great and if you want to use the pools at the sister hotel you can.

Entertainment was not to our taste so we just enjoyed drinks in teh bar at night the hotel is out of the way but the brochure makes that clear, the local bus is only 1.46 euro to estapona which is lovely around the marina. The Thomson rep Danni was always available and helpful and gave us help on were to go when we hired the car. We also did the tript to Gibralter.

A wonderful hotel very well run and a great place to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

Returned from this hotel last Friday and was very disappointed at how remote it was, also complete lack of entertainment. Thomson rep left halfway through. On my only visit to the lounge where the alleged cabaret was being held, a cockroach was scuttling across the floor, NOT NICE. Hotel is non smoking although you can smoke on the restaurant terrace and outside.

On the plus side, there were loads of free sunbeds and towels are provided by the hotel, rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday, max of 1 hour in coach to Gibratler (went there twice in one week as little to do around hotel). Nearest supermarket is across the motorway (via a bridge), apparently 15 minutes walk BUT as all inclusive we didn't need to go. Indoor pool although small was a lovely and was refreshing as some of the days were quite windy.

Would visit this hotel again BUT would probably go on more trips.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank juliedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

The holiday started well, nice flight and private taxi to the hotel. That's where the alarm bells started to ring.
The reception staff were very polite, but they were not very forthcoming on how to get to our block. Having struggled with the suitcase and golf clubs down steps we finally found the block, surprise, surprise the lift was not working and we were on the third floor. (later found out that the maids had blocked it to transfer their trolleys). Once in the room it was very pleasant large, nice balcony and air conditioned with plenty of cupboard space.

The following morning we went for breakfast, not a bad variety of food the bacon was typical Spanish (all fat no meat), the fried eggs had seen better days but all else especially the coffee was acceptable.

There were plenty of beds around the 3 huge pools which by the way are the best I have been around in years.

There is a food Bar which serves a full menu up to 3pm and then a snack menu after that, the sandwiches were not the best and I felt that they were quite pricey. The Coco Loco Bar alongside the pool is a complete farce, prior to Happy Hour (6pm - 7pm) you have to stand at the bar to get served, the staff seemed to be completely oblivious that anyone was there to be served and I sometimes felt as if I was invisible. Happy Hour (2 drinks for the price of 1) is where the fun and games start, the bell rings and the staff all run around eagerly taking your order and asking if you want to pay CASH or CHARGE YOUR ROOM, we preferred to pay cash, you do however NOT get your bill until the end of Happy Hour, by which time you have probably had two or three rounds. The bell rings Happy Hour is over, the staff then proceed to try and match your drinks bill with what they think you have had, we were on a number of occasions asked to pay for drinks we had not had and were clearly other peoples, if you go there please ask for the bill when they deliver the drinks and pay there and then (also keep the receipt). After speaking to a number of other guests around the pool we found we were not alone in this.
We reported this to the two Reps who were a complete waste of time, none spoke Spanish and were clearly not interested in our problemand only offered lame excuses.

The evening meal is very limited and if you like fish great if not then don't bother. Almost everything is fried from onion rings to Hake, the soup is non-descript, there is however plenty of food and we didn't go hungry.

The evening entertainment is woefull and unfortunately the Hotel is pretty remote so there are not a lot of bars around to go to.

Please do not get me wrong this hotel is very clean the pools are great but it is spoilt by a couple of issues that could easily be put right if Thomson and the Hotel are prepared to listen to its' customers.

Would I stay there again? No, once biten twice shy.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

OK let's get the bad stuff out of the way.

1. It IS remote so unless you're planning on using taxis or public transport (no problems with either) you'll need to either be planning to stay on the site OR take the package tour options. SO hire car would be a good idea.

2. If you're planning a beach holiday - then choose another location. The beach whilst within spitting distance (literally!) is not great - pebbly and not particularly attractive.

3. The transfer...if you're coming on a package then be prepared for a long transfer as Estepona is pretty well at the end of the line for holidays coming into Malaga. That said, you can gloat a little as you watch your fellow travellers stepping off into high-rise over developed Fuengirola etc safe in the knowledge that you'll be ending up in a far better place

4. Er that's it!



The hotel is one of a pair on the same site. The Costa Sol is all inclusive, the Andalucia Princess isn't. Frankly I know which one I'd prefer as the room that we were in was certainly of the standard that I'd expect from a 4* hotel. Large, well airconditioned and clean.

The grounds of the hotel are fantastic - there are 4 swimming pools, little kids pools and one of the pools has a sloping beach effect to it which makes it great for kids.

In fact the whole hotel is great for kids - food, plenty of space, a kids club, little playground etc. While we were staying there, the hotel was overrun with Spanish families who all seemed to be having the time of their lives - face it, which child wouldn't be in paradise with free coke & ice cream on tap all day!!!!

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - if you're prepared to take the trip down the coast away from the high rise hell of Benalmadena, Fuengirola et al, then this could be the hidey hole for you!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OliversArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
West London
17
Reviewed 24 June 2006

One week all inc 16-23 June (couple in mid 20's).
We have just returned from the Sol Princess and had a great relaxed stay. The hotel was a good size and the room was nice, clean and had everything you needed. Comfortable beds but you may want to ask for an extra pillow! Super shower and maid cleaned everyday to a pristine standard (complimentary bottle of water daily which you can put in your fridge). Restaurant was good for an all inc, a good variety of food (nice spanish dishes, lots of fish and a fantastic salad selection) and a nice terrace- be warned men have to wear trousers for the evening meal. Good selection of drinks including cocktails! (Bars close at midnight prompt). As the hotel is sistered with Andalucia Princess (half board) you have the use of all their facilities (bars and food you must pay extra for) including their great pools. Grounds are very pretty and there are plenty of sunbeds in and out of shade. The largest of the 4 pools is great for kids too as it has a great shallow area (also many small pools for kids).

Now for the not so good..
Entertainment was naff!!! Pretty much what you would expect in an all inclusive. As the hotel is so remote you may need to get a taxi to Marbella or Peurto Banus (15 euros each way) for a little more entertainment. The hotel is situated right on the beach but we have to say we never bothered to spend one day on it as it was so pebbly and small. Transfer back to airport a bit of a drama - 2 hours for us as had to stop at loads of hotels!!! You had to be ready in a 40 minute window to be collected and ours was also 20 minutes late.

All in all a good holiday, nice relaxing, weather fantastic, food really good and never got bored of it but just very remote. We recommend a trip to Peurto Banus/Marbella for a change of scene! would go back to chill out.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of May. We booked quite late & got a very good deal for a weeks all inclusive.
Our room was to a high standard, & everything in it seemed to be brand new. Our 4 year old son had a 'camp bed' which was as large as our two twin beds, which was a pleasant surprise. The fridge in our room was on all week, although we hadn't paid for it as stated in brochure.
The 'beach' here is pretty poor but we knew this as had seen pics on website.
As there were four large pools available between the 2 hotels (& at least 3 small kids pools) we didn't feel the need to use the beach anyway.
The pools & pool areas are lovely, very spacious, & the grounds are very pretty. Always managed to get sunbeds, once we'd collected our pool towels, no matter what time it was. This could be because we went early season, however.
The staff here are very nice, helpful at reception & friendly in the bars & restaurant. We did not use the a la carte, as had heard mixed comments about it.
The food was ok. Everything i ate was cooked well, there just didn't seem to be enough choice of main meals at lunch & especially in the evenings. That said, none of us went hungry !
There was a big selection for breakfast, the only moan was the food was never very hot, even when a fresh lot had been bought out from the kitchen.
The all-inclusive drinks were all good, & the bars were open at different times, so there was never a time that we could not get a drink.
The kids club staff are absolutely brilliant. Anna & Juan are both spanish & truly enjoy their jobs. They organise all the entertainment at the hotel & work long hours & they made our sons (& our) holiday. A big thank you to you both !
The location of the hotel is not a problem. There are courtesy buses laid on every day, which can take you to Estepona & Puerto Banus. The reception can also arrange taxis & we found the one we used very reasonable.
My biggest moan about this hotel is that it is totally NON-SMOKING inside & I was not aware of this until we got there. A big plus point, of course for non-smokers, but a few people were moaning ! There are two seating areas outside where you can smoke, & also the two outside bars provide tables with ashtrays. This DID NOT spoil my holiday, just thought people should know !
This was the most relaxing holiday that we have had, a great place to come to soak up the sun & just chill.
To sum up, would say that it's definitely a 4* hotel, with perhaps, 3* food.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank leaveitma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
6.7 mi away
Healthouse Las Dunas Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 33 in Estepona
1,471 reviews
7.9 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 33 in Estepona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Buenavista
Buenavista
#26 of 33 in Estepona
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Princess

Address: Crta N-340 Cadiz-Malaga, Km 164, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa del Sol Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Costa del Sol Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Princess Hotel Estepona
Costa Del Sol Princess Estepona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing