We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol Princess
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Stayed at the Costa Princess on All Inclusive from 9th to 20th July..
Flight out was good and our coach transfer was easy to find and efficient.. we arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm, checking in was straightforward and although we weren't shown to our rooms, it wasn't rocket science to follow signs.
Staff at the reception are fab, brilliant english and very helpful, although the staff who tend to the C.D.S Princess bars can barely understand a word, which is acceptable to a point as you are in spain but its almost as though they lose patience trying to understand you, the paying guest! I found it particularly annoying as there was a very large (15+) family of Spaniards staying at the same time, and they were often favouritised at the bar and the staff and spanish guests would often have very long detailed coversations leaving you just stood there!
The restaraunt times are very flexible, open for 2-3 hours at every sitting; this ensured that you were never packed in like sardines and didnt wait very long for drinks to be brought over. Food was plentiful, and varied, with a salad bar, cold meats and pasta and selection of hot foods which changed every night. A dessert table and also a table of different types of bread meant there was something for everyone.. The chef round the corner serves up different things if you dont fancy whats on the main tables, and the pool bar, open from 10 til 6, served burgers, hotdogs, chips, salad etc all day which meant we never went hungry!!!
The drinks are nice [very strong!!!!], with cocktails inc in all inc. and we never waited more than 5 minutes to be served.
For the first week we never bothered with the entertainment, preferred to chill in the lounge (which is massive) but when we did go in it was average, but what you would expect from hotel entertainment!
Sunbeds were plentiful and many attendants walked around all day cleaning up litter and making sure things were tidy.. Full respect for the pool and lounger attendant as they worked their bums off cleaning the hotel pool EVERYDAY, as by the morning a lot of debris and palm tree leaves etc had found their way in.. i would go down to the longers quite early (around 10) and they would already be out cleaning it.. it was a really well maintained hotel!

The lifts are to be avoided at all costs! if you do need to use them i suggest that you use the one closest to the bar (the one on the left) as i got stuck in the right hand one several times! :S

the rooms are cleaned immaculately everyday (even sunday) and towels replaced daily too. also we recieved a free large bottle of water to the room everyday, which we kept in the fridge in the room (switched on-no extra charge)

You can book free tickets for the buses to Estepona and Puerto Banus which leave from the sister hotel the Andalucia everyday, and pick you up from the same place.. The Puerto Banus bus leaves at 10 and returns at 16.30, with the Estepona bus leaving at 11 and returning at 17.30. You book them at the CDS Princess reception the day before you wish to go.. Puerto Banus was gorgeous and the bus was very comfortable and punctual (make sure you're there- it leaves on the dot!!)
However my boyfriend and i found Estepona very boring and got a taxi back after a couple of hours.. cost us 11.50.
The hotel is right on the beach, however it is very dark and pebbly, definitely wear something on your feet for going down to the sea! Regardless of the beach however, it was nice to be so close to the med! :)
Overall I boked this holiday in the knowledge that it was a fair distance from any other resort or complex so we were prepared for the isolated feeling. I adored my time at the CDS Princess as it allowed for sheer relaxation and indulgence.. but I'd warn anybody who likes to be on the go constantly that this hotel is not for them!
If I could move the hotel to a more central location I'd go back in a shot, unfortuanately it was too far out to go every year without it becoming repetitive.
An absolute bargain for an all inclusive 11 night stay,and from the negative reviews it would seem that some people expect too much for their money..a pleasant surprise and a must for those seeking the sun and cocktails, but little else.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lauren_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Costa del Sol Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2006

Arrived at 1130 pm, to be advised there was a cold meal awaiting us in the dining room - a very nice touch, even if the food may not be to everyone's taste. Bottled water in the room each day was much appreciated, as was the fridge.

Very nice room, excellent view of the sea and the pools. High standard of furniture in our room, and throughout the whole hotel.
Excellent buffet selection, minor niggle is that the labelling could have been better, (or present!), especially for special dietary needs, preferences, etc.

Heated pools were great, could use the facilities of the Andalucia Princess next door, however, could not take all inclusive drinks next door - very petty, especially as the childrens pools and the majority of the sunshades/trees were there. Beautiful location, right on the beach, perfect for a quiet, family holiday, however courtesy buses run to Estepona and Puerto Banus daily for shopping and sightseeing.
Estepona market day was worth a trip, however, be aware that the shops close for siesta. Trip to Gibraltar via the Thomson Rep was great - WWII tunnels visit very informative, good shopping, not much time to shop though, if you add the dolphin trip too.

Overall, a lovely hotel, nice gardens, pool, views, and interiors, entertainment not brilliant, but was available. Some staff not as friendly as we'd like, but they were efficient if not chatty.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank SJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

oVERALL, the costa del sol princess was a very pleasent experiece. However, my family felt that there were a few unpleasent situations.

we arrived at the hotel at 11:00pm. this is when are dreamholiday started to show its true colours, when we asked the reception where our rooms where they gave us the CAN'T BE BOTHERED attitude, we mannaged to control our feelings and search for our room. After what seemed like an eternity we found our room. The hotel staff had saved us some dinner, we were pleased until we found out that they had left us carrot food. personally i didn't like the food and left. at 12:20 we went to the bar for two pina colarda and a orange juice all calm and relaxed when they gave us the drinks and we walked away they shouted after us and told us to pay, we explaind to them we were all inclusive but they said your only all inclusive until 12:00 pm.

There are three pool bars spaced out around the complex. however, only one is for the all inclusive guests. this is some what annoying when you are seated around one of the other pools. furthermore, if you purchased a drink from the all inclusive bar you were unable to take it back to your lounger as it had to be consumed around the all in bar-WHY! can understand it if you had a tray full could be giving them away to the other guests but when you are only carrying one.

furthermore, the standard of service in and ot of the hotel could have been improved if they listened to their customers when they have a quiery or enquiry.

contact firm_but_fair@hotmail.co.uk for any questions

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank bailysforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

I can not believe anyone can write a negative review on this hotel and as it is all inclusive some of the negatives must be for another hotel.

We arrived late receptions were friendly and the security man showed us to our rooms in block 5, with a view over the pool ans sea. The hotel had then laid on cold plates so we could get something to eat as we were long past the closing time of the restaurant. The room was spacious and very clean no marks on the walls oh and free bottled water in the fridge with a new one delivered each day.

All the meals were excellent and put out in small serving vessels so always hot and not messed about with, the show cooking also did pasta to order which suited the son. The staff were friendly your drinks came quickly and the plates were also cleared efficiently (I hate it when the dirty plates mount up).

Pool bar and main bar never had any queues even at night you could get your drinks in minutes as many as you wanted and teh all inclusive range was great. The pool bar also did tubs of walls ice cream and hot and cold snacks you definitely could not go hungry. Occassions people tried to sneek down from the andulician princess to use the restauarant and the bars but they were spotted and charged.

There are smoking areas but as none smokers we found the fact that you could not smoke in doors very much to our liking. We got sunbeds every day without a problem and clean pool towels the pool is great and if you want to use the pools at the sister hotel you can.

Entertainment was not to our taste so we just enjoyed drinks in teh bar at night the hotel is out of the way but the brochure makes that clear, the local bus is only 1.46 euro to estapona which is lovely around the marina. The Thomson rep Danni was always available and helpful and gave us help on were to go when we hired the car. We also did the tript to Gibralter.

A wonderful hotel very well run and a great place to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanttogoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

Returned from this hotel last Friday and was very disappointed at how remote it was, also complete lack of entertainment. Thomson rep left halfway through. On my only visit to the lounge where the alleged cabaret was being held, a cockroach was scuttling across the floor, NOT NICE. Hotel is non smoking although you can smoke on the restaurant terrace and outside.

On the plus side, there were loads of free sunbeds and towels are provided by the hotel, rooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday, max of 1 hour in coach to Gibratler (went there twice in one week as little to do around hotel). Nearest supermarket is across the motorway (via a bridge), apparently 15 minutes walk BUT as all inclusive we didn't need to go. Indoor pool although small was a lovely and was refreshing as some of the days were quite windy.

Would visit this hotel again BUT would probably go on more trips.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank juliedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

The holiday started well, nice flight and private taxi to the hotel. That's where the alarm bells started to ring.
The reception staff were very polite, but they were not very forthcoming on how to get to our block. Having struggled with the suitcase and golf clubs down steps we finally found the block, surprise, surprise the lift was not working and we were on the third floor. (later found out that the maids had blocked it to transfer their trolleys). Once in the room it was very pleasant large, nice balcony and air conditioned with plenty of cupboard space.

The following morning we went for breakfast, not a bad variety of food the bacon was typical Spanish (all fat no meat), the fried eggs had seen better days but all else especially the coffee was acceptable.

There were plenty of beds around the 3 huge pools which by the way are the best I have been around in years.

There is a food Bar which serves a full menu up to 3pm and then a snack menu after that, the sandwiches were not the best and I felt that they were quite pricey. The Coco Loco Bar alongside the pool is a complete farce, prior to Happy Hour (6pm - 7pm) you have to stand at the bar to get served, the staff seemed to be completely oblivious that anyone was there to be served and I sometimes felt as if I was invisible. Happy Hour (2 drinks for the price of 1) is where the fun and games start, the bell rings and the staff all run around eagerly taking your order and asking if you want to pay CASH or CHARGE YOUR ROOM, we preferred to pay cash, you do however NOT get your bill until the end of Happy Hour, by which time you have probably had two or three rounds. The bell rings Happy Hour is over, the staff then proceed to try and match your drinks bill with what they think you have had, we were on a number of occasions asked to pay for drinks we had not had and were clearly other peoples, if you go there please ask for the bill when they deliver the drinks and pay there and then (also keep the receipt). After speaking to a number of other guests around the pool we found we were not alone in this.
We reported this to the two Reps who were a complete waste of time, none spoke Spanish and were clearly not interested in our problemand only offered lame excuses.

The evening meal is very limited and if you like fish great if not then don't bother. Almost everything is fried from onion rings to Hake, the soup is non-descript, there is however plenty of food and we didn't go hungry.

The evening entertainment is woefull and unfortunately the Hotel is pretty remote so there are not a lot of bars around to go to.

Please do not get me wrong this hotel is very clean the pools are great but it is spoilt by a couple of issues that could easily be put right if Thomson and the Hotel are prepared to listen to its' customers.

Would I stay there again? No, once biten twice shy.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

OK let's get the bad stuff out of the way.

1. It IS remote so unless you're planning on using taxis or public transport (no problems with either) you'll need to either be planning to stay on the site OR take the package tour options. SO hire car would be a good idea.

2. If you're planning a beach holiday - then choose another location. The beach whilst within spitting distance (literally!) is not great - pebbly and not particularly attractive.

3. The transfer...if you're coming on a package then be prepared for a long transfer as Estepona is pretty well at the end of the line for holidays coming into Malaga. That said, you can gloat a little as you watch your fellow travellers stepping off into high-rise over developed Fuengirola etc safe in the knowledge that you'll be ending up in a far better place

4. Er that's it!



The hotel is one of a pair on the same site. The Costa Sol is all inclusive, the Andalucia Princess isn't. Frankly I know which one I'd prefer as the room that we were in was certainly of the standard that I'd expect from a 4* hotel. Large, well airconditioned and clean.

The grounds of the hotel are fantastic - there are 4 swimming pools, little kids pools and one of the pools has a sloping beach effect to it which makes it great for kids.

In fact the whole hotel is great for kids - food, plenty of space, a kids club, little playground etc. While we were staying there, the hotel was overrun with Spanish families who all seemed to be having the time of their lives - face it, which child wouldn't be in paradise with free coke & ice cream on tap all day!!!!

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - if you're prepared to take the trip down the coast away from the high rise hell of Benalmadena, Fuengirola et al, then this could be the hidey hole for you!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OliversArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
1.9 mi away
Buenavista
Buenavista
#28 of 34 in Estepona
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 34 in Estepona
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caracas Playa
Hotel Caracas Playa
#30 of 34 in Estepona
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.1 mi away
Ona Club Bena Vista
Ona Club Bena Vista
#21 of 34 in Estepona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol Princess

Address: Crta N-340 Cadiz-Malaga, Km 164, 29689, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa del Sol Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Costa del Sol Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Princess Hotel Estepona
Costa Del Sol Princess Estepona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing