We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday”
Review of Atalaya Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atalaya Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Six ladies visited the Atalaya Park in June 2013 for a 40th Birthday celebration. We wanted an all inclusive hotel but with easy accessibility into Peurto Benus for the nightlife. I had read several reviews and had my reservations. The hotel is a little tired in places i.e.. carpets and sun beds. The reception area is very nice as are the bar areas, the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The main pool area and quiet pool do get very busy, but are nice and again clean. The hotel guests are mainly Spanish and very few are English. Regarding the bar staff!!!! Most are pleasant - some are extremely rude and I can confirm what I'd read in previous reviews about them ignoring all inclusive guests to serve paying guests or even Spanish guests before the English is very true and they are blatant about it!!! Not true of all staff but some. Most of the reception staff and waiters/ress were pleasant but again some weren't!!! The two restaurants were very nice and we were very happy with the food and service, plenty of choice, very good salad bar, lots of fresh fruit and good choice of meats etc. The hotel is only 10 mins ride into peurto benus in a taxi costing between 14-17 euros. There is not alot around the hotel but a nice little irish bar 10 mins walk and a little pizzeria/tapas place which is basic but lovely food and very reasonably priced. We ate there as our all inclusive finished at 12pm on the day of departure - please be aware of this as we weren't and were not leaving the hotel until 6pm that day - we were bluntly told our all inclusive had finished at 12pm when attempting to get a drink from the bar, reception confirmed this in an equally unfriendly manner!!!! The centre of marbella and estepona are approx. 20 mins by car. Overall I would say we had a very pleasant stay (apart from some rude staff).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_renae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of June. Definitely go for a sea view room, our room had been recently decorated but not the bathroom. Beds were hard but comfortable. Carpets on the staircase were worn but lobby was light and airy and looked good. Food was good, a little repetitive but a good choice of salads, we certainly didn't go hungry. We had tennis lessons at the adjoining tennis centre which were excellent, a little pricey but well worth it. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere and the entertainment staff were very good with the children. The evening entertainment was pretty poor unless you enjoy spitting water fights !! The hotel is an hour from Malaga but more like two if you use Resorthoppa. Would recommend a hire car not only for the transfer but also as there is nothing within walking distance. The bar staff as everyone has said are indeed terrible, I think I saw one of them smile once.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thumperbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is very old and is very much in need of a little TLC, however, for a bog standard get away you can't complain... maybe you'd expect a little more for your money though?

There are quite a few activities and the pool staff are also fun and have a laugh with you.
The bar staff though are terrible, often serving Spanish/German people before the British, at one point they were extremely rude to my partners pregnant Mother as she stood in the sun waiting for literally 30 minutes to recieve a drink from a bar that was NOT, by any stretch of the imagination, busy.

The location is 50/50, You can take a short walk up the road and there is a nice italian restaurant, the food there is fab. However other than that and the stony beach infront of the hotel there's not a lot more here.

I probably would not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We have stated at Atalaya Park many times in the past and thoroughly enjoyed each stay.
It's five years since our last visit and sadly the place looks tired.

Every area is in need of refurbishment - gym, sun beds, carpets, bedrooms and the dining rooms. The food has also deteriorated and through lack of residents (the hotel was half empty), dining has moved to one of the much smaller restaurants. The buffet had limited choice and lack of daily variety and the hot dishes were typically like warm. That aside the hotel still has charm and the kids couldn't have enjoyed themselves more, mainly thanks to Mark the animation team leader.

The worst part of the holiday, the bar staff. In thirty years travelling I have never experienced such rude people, particularly to those wearing all inclusive wrist bands who they knew wouldn't be leaving a tip for each drink.

We did have a great time and would probably return as we still have much affection for Atalaya Park but improvement is definitely required.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

4 of us golfing, went here for on-site golf, but not on site, shuttle service is useless and you will need a cab most of the time, 10 euros each way, or hang arouind for an hour or 2 waiting for the coach - which just a hassle. Staff in hotel not that friendly especially in the restuarants, just seem completely uninterested. The hotel needs a revamp, especially carpets, tv in room didnt work - the tv must be 20 years old at least, even the showers must be 15 years old. Golf courses are poor and you are best of paying a bit extra and going somewhere brilliant like Los Arqueros / Marbella Golf Club - only an extra 2 or 3 euros via cab. Staff at the Atalya golf club are not friendly, agian completely uninterested in helping you, not made welcome and the courses were uncut and in a poor condition, Never ever going back here again and would not recommend to anyone - save up and go somewhere nice is my advice.Or ensure you have a good drink every night so you pass out in the hard beds - and skip breakfast - everything is re-heated or enjoy a frozen pastry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from a great trip to this hotel-16 golfers on an All Inclusive- thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. The room keys and bands in an envelope each waiting for us and the reception staff throughout the trip were always friendly and helpful. Rooms were good and although the carpets in the communal areas were a bit worn , it was hardly an issue. The two courses at the hotel are totally different , reached by a free coach that travels every hour. The new course , tight and hilly is a good test, the old course a gentler and flatter course , ideal as our last round of the trip. The bar staff were very good and thoroughly deserved the big tip that we left for them at the end. The food was served buffet style with a wide selection on every course , every day and again well received by our group. This 4 night stay was exceptional value and a great success and we would like to thank the whole team at the hotel for making it so.

Room Tip: Sea view just 12e a night extra - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We were here for 5 days for a training camp with our football team, a senior team with young guys at an average age of 21 years. We have been in Spain and Cyprus on training camps in recent years, so we have a lot to compare to.

Atalaya Park is a large facility with a focus on golf and it is clearly visible in the guests. The average age of a guess 60 + years put their mark on the atmosphere of the hotel. It is very quiet and the evening entertainment is of course directed to these guests. You can imagine that a football team with guys aged 20 - 23 years stands out and shows fairly well. For example, the clock is not much in the evening before someone started to complain that the boys were loud in their rooms and then we thought they were quiet and respectful ....
Perhaps one could have predicted this at the hotel and spread out rooms in a little more thoughtful way? But one advantage of the large age difference between us and the other guests was that the gym was almost always empty, and the guys could train there when they wanted.

Otherwise, we thought the resort was good for our purposes, with large rooms, an okey standard on them, and large areas and space on the site for additional activities. The food was top quality and saturated even hungry footballers. Training facility is located just ten minutes walk from the hotel and is the hotels own facility. Football field is of natural grass and is of acceptable quality and it is well shielded from unauthorized access which might possibly interfere with the training.

A major drawback is that there is no village right next to the hotel. You can not go out and have a cup of coffee in the village and the nearest supermercado is a 15-minute walk away.

I give it a medium ranking in total, if the hotel had been in a small village or town, and if we had been given room so the other guests had not perceived that they sometimes were disturbed by us, I would have given it a clearly higher rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
2.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
775 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Diana Park
Diana Park
#17 of 34 in Estepona
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
11.8 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 34 in Estepona
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalaya Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalaya Park Hotel

Address: Avda de las Golondrinas, 2, 29688, Estepona, Spain (Formerly Atalaya Park Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atalaya Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalaya Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalaya Park Golf Hotel Estepona
Atalaya Park Resort
Atalaya Park Hotel Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing