We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in hell”
Review of Atalaya Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atalaya Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“2 days in hell”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is simply the worst hotel I have ever had the displeasure of staying in.
However I can highly recommend it if you don't like air conditioning, love cockroaches the size of a fist, are aroused by the smell of stale smoke, think simple maintenance is for the overly privileged, grey thin towels are the hight of fashion and wish to battle 100 hungry Spanish children for a bit of breakfast.
On a slightly positive note there was a charming pregnant cat

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    402
    258
    122
    90
See reviews for
598
206
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been coming to Atalaya Park for 15 years or so and while it now seems a little more worn than before it still remains a wonderful resort for families. My daughter was one when she had her first Atalaya holiday. She is now 13 and having as much fun now as she did as a baby, toddler and growing up in-between. The rooms are simple and a bit outdated to say the least but they are comfortable and always immaculately clean. The TVs are a bit old but there's free WiFi all over the resort. Who wants to watch TV here anyway when there's so much to do for adults and kids? The food is served in two buffet restaurants and is always good. You can find something for every palate. A family can eat comfortably with plenty of choice for everyone. And the staff are always friendly and helpful. This holiday when we arrived I thought to myself maybe this would be the last time. But, after just 24 hours I stopped seeing the tired rooms and the lack of a fresh coat of paint and just fell back in love with the place. There's a huge pool, a small beach, tropical gardens, basketball court, running track, tennis courts and 2 golf courses five minutes away. Snacks and drinks are reasonably priced but the half-board option is a real steal and well worth it for the great breakfasts and dinners. If you're looking for something posh this is not it. If you are looking for a haven for families in a safe, friendly location then you can't find better. My only wish is that the management finds some time and cash to give the place an update. It would be great to know that this wonderful resort will be looking after my children and their children in generations to come. .

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have the best views though the rooms in the Annex building are much bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericmaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice resort with big and good facilities in wich you can relax and have a good time specially for kids.

There is a fantastic animation team (Golden Entertainment) that always do enjoyable activities for adults and children, all of them are such lovely people!

I definately recommend it to everyone, because it is the perfect place with the best weather of Spain to go on holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went with a group of friends on a golfing holiday. Main issue is that this is not a golf hotel. It is a hotel near a golf course. Better described as a very dated family resort. The resort was teaming with children. In fact they were running down the corridors making lots of noise till 11pm plus most nights. Again - this would not be the ned of the world if you go with kids, but definitely not somewhere to relax.

Also we all felt that the service from bar staff, restaurant staff, and reception staff was not good. Everything we asked for felt like a massive inconvenience. One of the tv's in the bar wasn't working so we asked the bar staff if they could help with the black and white picture - we were redirected to reception who gave us the interesting answer.. ' that is for the bar staff to fix - they are only interested in money'.

Sleeping was difficult on those sausage shaped rock pillows. Some of our rooms got very hot due to the air conditioning not working
The food was like being at a school canteen - lunch definitely being last nights left overs reinvented.
Avoid this one

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estepona hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been to this resort several times its a great location for a mini break a weekend-long weekend, nothing more. All of the staff members are really helpful and kind, and the rooms are spotless the cleaning staff do a great job, the food is alright, a few choices as it's buffet. Lovely green grass and different pools to choose from. Looking forward to
to another mini break soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I been coming to this hotel since i was litlle, every year its more amazing and incredible! The experience of being there some days with the animators doing the activities and playing with them its such a great experience that i recommend to everyone to live it! Thank you for every year and specially to the people and animators of this summer 2014!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We went for a long weekend break. On arrival we found the staff both helpful and friendly. The room was clean and with a good veiw of the sea. Clean tidy. Would recommend. Buffet both morning and evening were good plenty of choice, all though it was the same every day. It did appear busy with a lot of Germans, grab your pool area early. Towels were on the chairs very early.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalaya Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalaya Park Hotel

Property: Atalaya Park Hotel
Address: Avda de las Golondrinas, 2, 29688, Estepona, Spain (Formerly Atalaya Park Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atalaya Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalaya Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalaya Park Golf Hotel Estepona
Atalaya Park Resort
Atalaya Park Hotel Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing