We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A post Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A post Christmas break”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I really enjoyed my few days at Playa Andaluza. I needed a few days on my own after the Christmas madhouse, and my break at Playa Andaluza was very pleasant indeed. I had a two-bedroom apartment to myself, which was great. The apartment itself was very large with a beautiful balcony which had a pool view. The kitchen was fully equipped and spotless, the bedrooms were comfortable and very spacious, the bathrooms were luxurious (one of which had the deepest bathtubs I've ever seen). The apartment had wireless internet (which was free, if memory serves), and the tv received all five UK terrestrial tv channels. The location of the property is a little 'remote' perhaps, and in my opinion, a car is definitely needed (which I had, thankfully, which allowed me to visit the local Carrefour hypermarket in Estepona, Puerto Banus, and the very nice La Cañada shopping centre in Marbella), but if you want a relaxing getaway, then this is definitely somewhere to consider.

My only gripe is about the swimming pool. I also stayed at Playa Andaluza in October 2010 (ie, 3 months before the trip I'm reviewing), and as lovely as the swimming pool is, the water was utterly freezing. I'm surprised there weren't icebergs floating on it. I love to swim, and I've been swimming most days since I was 4 years old, and usually, you can throw any amount of cold water at me you want to and it wont bother me, but the pool at Playa Andaluza was SERIOUSLY cold. Bone-numbingly cold.

I spoke to the hotel management about this, and was told that during the summer months, the pool isnt heated. I guess they consider October to still be summer on the Costa del Sol. I was also told that in the winter, the pool is fully heated.

In January, the water was even colder, and there's absolutely no way it was heated. Once again, I spoke to the management, and was first told that it was heated (which it clearly wasnt) and was later told that to keep costs down, the pool wouldn't be heated for the winter season. Very nice indeed, assuming you're a penguin.

This was a real shame, because the pool itself is stunning. Super clean and sparkling, and extremely inviting, especially as the weather in January was really beautiful most days - but in the time I was at the hotel in January, I didnt see one person get into the pool, apart from me, and I was in it for about (literally) four minutes before I realised that the initial 'ooh its cold' feeling wasnt going to wear off, and that it was just getting worse. To avoid having a heart attack and freezing to death, I got out, dried myself off, and went and sat in my extremely deep bath tub for half an hour to defrost.

Overall a very nice stay, but for me, it would have been ten times nicer if I could have used their lovely pool. I really dont understand why Marriott (or any company) would operate such a deluxe property but completely remove one of the biggest perks from their guests: the ability to go for a swim in a very attractive pool.

I must also add that a couple of years ago, I stayed at their sister property, the Marriott Marbella Beach, and the pool situation was the same. It wasnt heated, but it was bearable (just). It was unbearable at Playa Andaluza.

But I'd certainly recommend the property to anyone wanting a very deluxe self-catering experience, especially if they hate to swim. I would have given this property five stars if it hadnt been for my dip in the Antarctic ocean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OakPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    282
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
534
346
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Peaceful & quiet with quality amenities. Friendly staff and everything on site with numerous activites for everyone. First trip to Spain and enjoyed the people, the food, the weather, the beauty...the best. Thank you so much. Regards, Judy & Doug Irwin

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The Marriot Vacation Club is well worth a visit for a family or a group of friends. The suites are plush and nothing has been overlooked. I cannot think of one device that was missing from the suites. Despite being a solo traveller, I managed to gain some invaluable rest in pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: Suite Grenada 1005 VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgegrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Our decision to stay at Playa Andaluza for 5 days was made, in large part, because of my Marriott Platinum status, and reviews on Trip Advisor. In hindsight we should have avoided Easter Week at this property, since we were there without children or grandchildren.

Further, on all prior Marriott Vacation Club visits, I received a Platinum upgrade upon arrival. Due to the fact that this property was completely sold out during Easter Week, there was no upgrade. It is true, on the surface, that I had a decent deal here (119 Euros per night, including full buffet breakfast for 2), but the price I paid for that rate was a tiny, tiny single room (rather than an apartment), about the smallest I´ve ever stayed in. It was literally challenging to walk from one side of the room to the other. It consisted of two twin beds pushed together to form a pseudo-King bed, and the beds were inferior compared to Marriott standards in the rest of their properties. With a lousy US to Euro exchange rate presently, it turned out to be a not-so-good deal.

The bathroom walls were water stained and ugly. Hair dryer was weak and difficult to use effectively. Shower curtains were split in the middle, by design, and strange to use. Trash was not uniformly emptied daily, as advertised. Towels are not up to Marriott standards. Free washing machines (the ones we used are in the parking garage) took 2 hours to complete even on the simplest cycle. And, the dryer left permanent black stain marks on some of our white clothes.

So why does everyone rave about this place? It is a beautiful property. Garage parking is free. Staff is extraordinarily helpful and everyone greets you with "hola" and a smile constantly. The gym is top notch. The pool area is gorgeous. For families, this is a great location with so much to do on site. There are good restaurants (assuming you rent a car) within a reasonable distance. There are great day trips to be had from this location (e.g. Gibraltar).

Bottom Line: As a couple going for a relaxing romantic visit of several days in Costa del Sol, stay away from Playa Andaluza during Easter Week (unless you love sharing the property with every one else´s kids of all ages). Pray for good weather (which they seemingly never get during Easter Week). And make sure you rent a car (which we did, thankfully) so that we could spend as much time as possible outside of our tiny room.

Room Tip: Make sure you´re getting a full apartment here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We had alovely few days here, the weather was warm, the accommodation very comfortable and the facilities- indoor pool particularly great. You do need a car however, and it is a very big vacation club facility, still not quite finished where we were staying. The timing for us was excellent as there were no crowds and it was not too hot. I think we got very good value as it was not quite "in season".

Room Tip: The three bedroom villa was spacious for 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Had a great time, the rooms and common areas are so beautiful. The bar is actually a bit pricey since you can go just up the road to get beer and most of your food, wine, and drink much cheaper than the little onsite grocery. Don't miss meeting with the vacation advisor. Jordanne's recommendations were simply perfect and made our stay even better and we were in the tiny lock-off. We had a near perfect holiday here. So worth it, as Marriott usually is. The only negative was trying to walk the beach, which just isn't that nice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattymo514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Staff here are typical of what you find in a Marriott: friendly, professional and well trained. The rooms here are massive, although the decor (sort of Andalusian/Mexican tiling and wood) was a little grim and surprisingly dated given this hotel is only 4 years old. We've also stayed at the Marriott Som Antem Vacation Club in Majorca which is far nicer than this place with villas instead of apartments. The well-equipped kitchen would be handy if we were staying here for longer than the 3 days we had (the Mercadona supermarket nearby and more expensive but massive Hipercor in Puerto Banus are very good).

My main gripe with the Playa Analuza is its location. Nothing is within walking distance, and putting aside the fact that I don't much like the Costa del Concrete much, you really do need a car to get around. A taxi to Puerto Banus for the main entertainment: seeing where the tasteless rich spend their money, and watch crop-topped Russian Paris Hilton wannabees walking their poodles (do they scoop their poop?) will set you back EUR 20 and Marbella EUR 30. Estepona is about the same distance, but we didn't go.

The fitness centre is also good (typical Marriott).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
666 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
864 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing