We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich - UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our 3rd vacation at this resort, it gets better every time. Great place. Accomodation you can't fault - really good quality (even had all the UK digital channels - great for your kids), pools great, service from everyone around the hotel really impressive. Tomaso on concierge desk was amazingly helpful and friendly. Kids club was also good - basically runs for a couple of hours each morning & afternoon. The Laser Combat sessions were thoroughly enjoyed by the younger children each week, at 10€ it may seem expensive but the children loved running around shooting each other. My youngest at 8 had an excellent time between the pools, organized events and just using the various facilities.

Having 3 distinct pool types is excellent; kids with slide and water sprays, activity for water volleyball, etc and the massive main pool referred to as relax by many, that doesn't include the indoor pool. Although we did have more than one person complain about kids splashing around the kids pool, can't believe some people sit on the edge of the kids pool reading on their KINDLE then complain they get splashed!

The Solero restaurant is a bit disappointing given the rest of the resort, expensive and not really anything style in particular. The adjoining bar has a weird happy hour time of 21:30 to 23:00. The resort has a feel of not doing late nights, the bar area around midnight is very quiet. There seems a definite aim of letting people sleep in, pools do not open until 09:00 and close at 21:00. Padel Tennis could be played from 08:00, an activity enjoyed at that time every morning by my 22yr old son. Gym is open 24/7 for those that want it!

There are plenty of bars/restaurants within nearby walking distance, within 20 minutes waking there is The Steak & Rib Shak, Cinnamon, Tannino, Robin Hood Inn, plus many others. These are technically in an area called Benamara, within this area there are restaurants from many cuisines.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willmoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    261
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
493
324
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were a bit worried about staying at a marriott. Chose it because it is pretty difficult to find 3 bedroom apartments with kitchen, diner etc in a hotel around this area. We needn't have worried. Great place. Accomodation you couldn't fault - really nice (even had all the UK digital channels - great for yound kids), pools great, service from everyone around the hotel really impressive. Tomaso on concierge desk was amazingly helpful and friendly. Kids club was also good - basically runs for a couple of hours eah day. Really trying hard to find fault I guess 3 points if I'm pushed; 1) In house restaurant Solero is the hotels weak point - only 1 choice of restaurant in the evening in the hotel and this one is not good. Interestingly lunchtime beach restaurant is good). 2) Location is good in that there are lots of things close drivable, but bad in that theres not mch walkable. 3) Beach was disappointing - combination of imported sand and shingle mean you have run a gauntlet to make it to the sea! However these are pretty small points and overall we had a nice time and will likely go back at some point.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

all round fantastic experience would go back again tomorrow. Need BBQ area needs improved great location for golf family and eating out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltimeNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very nice fa,ily oriented complex, the rooms are large comfortable and complete of all amenities to feel at home. This hotel feels more like a vacation rental than a hotel but it is great as ypu are free to choose what services you want to use.

There are four pools they never feel crowded but it also doesn't feel that large and impersonal as other large resorts. The beach is ok, nothing special but the pools are all great. The staff is very good, and the mini market at the entrance is very practical.

The location is very good too, will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maderpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent a kid-free couples vacation here last week and it was a perfect and affordable home base. The 2-bedroom Villa was spacious and clean, the pools and beach were relaxing, and the location is convenient to all points of interest from Ronda to the Rock of Gibraltar. Best of all, the friendly front desk and exceptional concierge services (be sure to ask for Andres) made it easy for us to have a wonderful and memorable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I am currently writing using Playa Andaluza's wired internet. It is my third stay at this resort (second with husband and son), and the Andaluza is always awsome. Even better than my last stay (summer 2009, see different review). The grounds, pools, suites are spotless. In 2009, there was an area of the resort which was closed for further developments. No construction was then done (probably due to the world crisis), and it was converted into a nice BBQ area and playground for kids. Yes, this is a family resort so it is full with families with children of all ages. We are enjoying our stay at amazing & luxury Andaluza and yes, we will be back soon and are already planning our next visit here!!!
PS: as other reviewers said, the beach is not nice. Rocky and sometimes dirty, but I guess this is not under Marriott's management. So if you expect a nice beach, this is not the place for you! But the sea looks great seen from our balcony...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca-DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just spent a week here in August. Mainly families with kids running round. Could not fault the place. Well kept grounds, staff friendly and front desk staff exceptional. If I had to make any negative comments it would be from snooty couples or people without kids. These people moaned when kids dived into the relaxation pool and then caused a splash. My advice is to try and take a break out of season if this bothers you. The kid’s pool is great but not a place I would like to spend time and read my book as it is very noisy. Hence the popularity of the 'relaxation' pool by the families. The relaxation pool is large and has a beautiful pool area , next to the pool bar.

Most people did leave their towels on the sun beds all day and there is no 'towel police’ on operation. Basically, if you did not reserve a sun bed around the relaxation pool then, you would find it hard to find sun beds together. There are plenty of places round the resort though, to find a sun bed. On the resultant front, the Italian on the beach served small portions of food and had very slow service. I would not visit it again. Also, the newly opened Cocomo next to Crowne Plaza, did have great service but food was not anything to write home about, despite it’s recent raves. Food quality at on site restaurant was not wonderful either. Despite all of this, the Marriott is a great resort and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.3 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing