We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastice and Outstanding Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastice and Outstanding Resort”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Amazing resort , we had a fanatstic time with the family here, spotless accomodation and all areas around just beautiful and defenitely will come back. The restaurant was pricy, but you have a fully equiped kitchen and can avoid going there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    273
    45
    12
    11
See reviews for
509
337
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good:
- very nice modern vacation club, better than most (we've staid at several others before)
- a true island of beautiful architecture and calm surrounded by eyesores and a very busy over built area
- large rooms
- easy and free parking
- nice pools and don't feel too crowded even in August
- very international crowd, lots of kids aged 0-12 (didn't see a lot of teens)
- lots of things to do for little kids (ours is 6 years old), great pools
- very clean, very good beds and pillows
- lots of sports activities and ok fitness club
- the BBQ grills, also great to meet others
- the store has everything and only slightly overpriced

Bad:
- the location, this was our first time at the Costa del Sol and certainly last. We went exploring all around the resort but were massively disappointed. Marbella and Puerto Banus are simply forgettable and the area around the resort is very built up. The bad rep of the Costa del Sol is well deserved and this resort unfortunately is right in the middle of it.
- the beach: too rocky and not clean, not good for kids
- the restaurant, but you already assumed that anyway, ok for an emergency
-lots of shopping around the resort so you can get anything but of course that means you have to brave the eyesore that the Costa del Sol is

Tips:
- beat grocery store: El Corte Ingles Hipermercado in Puerto Banus, has everything and very high quality, fresh local and Spanish goods, parking is expensive though
- closer grocery store is the Mercadona about 2 Kms across the very busy highway (plus turnaround)
- next to the Mercadona is an Asian Bazaar which has everything you need for a beach vacation and is very cheap!
- before you drive to the resort, make sure you have good directions, it is not easy to find the exit and to get to the resort, much of the Costa del Sol has confusing roads, road names and intersections can be deadly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalPolyglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean. The facilities are varied and of a high quality. The spa was a treat. The staff are knowledgable and friendly. The food was very pleasant at restaurant. Very enjoyable stay overall. Concierge very helpful. Would love to come back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at Playa Andaluza for three nights and were very impressed with the standard of accommodation. This is not a "luxury" resort in the way one would relate the term "luxury" to the offerings of proper 5 -star hotels. However, the apartments (we had a 2 bedroom one) are very clean and nicely specced from radios with iPod docking stations through to Bosch appliances in the kitchens. And I would say 3 LCD TV's is definitely enough for a 2 bed.
We stayed in a ground floor apartment in Huelva, which is the building right behind the reception building. Given that we were, for once, traveling without children, the location of the apartment was ideal. No activities in the near vicinity, yet only a 2 minute walk to the closest pool. Which was a nice one. The resort is also very quiet at night, so one generally gets a good night sleep. I detected some noise on Saturday night from the restaurant, but am a very light sleeper.
Drawback or not, but as pointed out in other reviews, you really do need a car when staying at the resort. Though there is a small shop on site, you need to get to a proper shop to buy the essentials to benefit from having a kitchen and a dining table. Otherwise, you are stuck with the pricey on site restaurant.
All in all, a very nice almost secluded resort with good pools and a decent (if public) beach. We intend to go back with the children at a later stage, but it does work also without the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

All of the comments about the resort generally are spot-on - this is a very nice resort with lovely grounds and amenities.

We actually own a 3bedroom slot here in peak season, which we use for the kids, the nanny and the grandparents. We deliver them down from London, stay the weekend and then go home to work. This time, we decided to rent a separate room for my husband and I - so we got a "studio". It was pretty pricey, at €229 per night. We were there for two nights.

In contrast to our light and spacious 3 bed apartment, this studio was noisy, cramped and incredibly gloomy. It was a lock off from a 3bed, which means that it shares an entrance hall - with an extremely noisy slamming door - with a two bedroom appt. it did not face the gardens and had we been staying for more than a flying visit, we would have kicked up a real fuss. It was like being in a dungeon. Housekeeping was also next door to add to the noise.

In the bathroom, the shower was not properly attached to the wall.

All very disappointing, especially given how nice we know the rest of the property is. Still, free wifi is good.

IF TAKING A STUDIO DO NOT ACCEPT GROUND FLOOR AND SPECIFICALLY AVOID Huelva 3001.

Room Tip: This resort is not set up for studios. Specifically AVOID the ground floor and especially Huelva 300...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We found this resort excellent. Firstly we are in the Granada building. It is located right by the restaurant and children's pool. You don't have far to walk to get to anywhere around here which when you have 3 young children is definitely a bonus!

The resort is extremely secure, children's pool is accessed by gates where the handles are positioned high so little ones cant reach it.

The beach is a stones throw away with free loungers for Marriott residence.

The apartment is serviced daily and has a washing machine and tumble dryer which is extremely handy.

We cannot fault this hotel and will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed by the standard of this resort. Stunning apartments with views across the Med. 4 swimming pools and a beach with one giant pool! We came on a 4 day trail and had the sales presentation to join Marriott Vacation Club and decided it was great value for money to join. So after been quoted a crazy amount of money from the Marriott Sales Rep we walked across the road to the Fab Timeshare Resales Office and saved ourselves 70% by taking over an existing membership that the current owner no longer uses. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxtrotalfabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing