We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here with my son and we had a great time.

We got upgraded on arrival and had a fabulous 2 double bedroomed, 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the volleyball court.

As is the case everywhere in Spain the pools are cold but there are 3 good sized pools: one for young kids, one for playing games and one that they say is for adults but is full of children (albeit without the balls and inflatables of the other pools).

The resort isn't really geared up for those not eating in their apartments and the breakfast is average at best. They do a deal if you buy three breakfasts up front which is good value financially however.

The volleyball court, 5 a side football pitch and mini golf are all well kept and good fun and drinks and snacks are not wildly expensive. When happy hour starts however, the queues are long!

One word of caution however - don't go if you're expecting a relaxing spa retreat - it suited us but the indoor pool and many jacuzzis were full of kids for the entire time we were there.

This place is difficult to book (largely as it's used by those with timeshares) but if you can get in I'm not sure you can fail to enjoy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    283
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
537
346
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thanks to our time share we had the pleasure to visit this resort. It is strikingly welcoming, friendly, organized from start to end. Has three different types of outdoor pools so that one can choose either to go with the kids, or do some sports or else relax. Varied games are available on the premises, even mini golf. Free Wi-Fi is available around too. A market place is also available for a quick snack or a nice muffin with a coffee for breakfast with prices quite reasonable. Another point i really liked is the security. Going in and out of the resort is monitored. One final point on the advantages is the console where guests are allowed to print their airlines tickets easily and free of charge.

The only drawback that we experienced is the restaurant Solera. Either we were unlucky but our experience here was not a nice one.We were kept waiting for more than an hour to be served and when the food came it was far from what we expected. This restaurant was just organised disorganization... something which did not match the rest of the resort.

Overall however its a magnificent resort , great for families with kids and a great place to visit and enjoy..... highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardona73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Playa Andaluza! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Spain. Your comments about your dining experience are important to us and will be shared with the resort leadership team. We hope to welcome you back and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family of 5 (kids 9 - 16) styed 2 weeks in July in a 2 bedroom apartment and really enjoyed the experience.
On the positive side: this is a beautifully maintained oasis in the middle of nowhere. The grounds are large and well groomed and there is plenty of activity. The apartment was clean and had what we needed to cook oursleves if we wanted to. Parking is free and easy to access below the different buildings. The MarketPlace offers some food items, but there are several supermarkets within a 5-10 min drive. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and we especially appreciated the concierge staff who gave us so much information on the day trips that we had planned. We spent many lazy days at the pool side - which is exactly what we were looking for.

On the negative side: the real weakness of this property is the food and beverage. The restaurant and snack bar have a very limited menu and the quality of the food is rather mediocre. It is safer to stick with easy grill items, but one gets sick of these after a while. Since there are not really any restaurants within walking distance in your beach wear - you are rather stuck at the hotel. Furthermore, there was not enough staff and overall service was very poor. Some waiters were very good and others just terrible. There are a number of restaurants in the area, but most require a car and reservations, so more appropriate for the evening. There is no real beach, or walking along the waterfront or beach bars etc - the hotel is a self contained unit. Most resorts like this have more restaurants to choose from!

The location is a plus and a minus. On the good side it is close to many of the day trip locations that we did from the hotel (Gibraltar, Benahavis, Marbella, PortoBanus, Ronda and Granada), on the negative side there is really nothing around the immediate area - so no going for walks in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Mariott's Playa Andaluza! We appreciate your positive TripAdvisor review and are happy you enjoyed your time with us on vacation. We take your feedback about the dining options seriously and will share your comments with our food & beverage manager. Thank you again for visiting and our team looks forward to your next stay with us in Spain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second year here, and if anything I would say it was even better than last year. This place is spotlessly clean and very well maintained, the garden grounds are beautiful. As has been stated many times on this website, there is not a lot to do in the immediate surrounding area (a new addition for food, Salduna, was a highlight). But, if you have a car (highly recommended) then you are in a perfect base for lots of visits (Estepona, Puerto Banus, Marbella, Benehavis, and then all the cultural sites Rhonda, Seville etc).
That said, as a family with 2 children under 6, we hardly needed to leave the hotel.

The kids club is fabulous. The staff - Mar, Franky, Sandy, Anabel, Cristina - are ALL really outstanding. As well as speaking multiple languages they are just so brilliant with the children and all extremely talented. My eldest is not really that interested in kids clubs, but towards the end of our vacation she was with them more often than not. Also onsite they have Aerobics, Yoga, Pilates, and a wonderful gym. Christina in the studio is again amazing. There are other activities including Spanish lessons, Paella demonstrations etc. Staying at this resort is without doubt enhanced by the professional and extremely friendly staff.

The restaurant is sufficient and well priced - obviously they have to keep in line with the Marriott brand so the food is not traditional Spanish, although they did have wonderful Paella! The on site marketplace shop is well stocked. It is pricier than the nearby Mercadona, but you are paying for the convenience (and the fresh baked goods are very good!).

There are three outdoor pools, with one dedicated to kids, another for games and a more relaxing pool. All have plentiful sunbeds - no need to make a mad dash for beds by the pool - no matter when you arrive there is an abundance (A definite plus point!) There is direct access to the beach which has sun loungers and umbrellas for guests of the Marriott. Some entertainment a few times a week, the Flamenco night and BBQ being the best of these.

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was spotlessly clean, serviced very well each day. It had everything you could need for a family vacation, in keeping with Marriott Vacation clubs we have experienced in Florida.

We are already planning next years vacation back here!!!

Room Tip: You can request Morning or Afternoon sun on your balcony, almost all rooms have some view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sardinia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 8 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. Our unit was on the ground floor with a view of the one swimming pool. The view from our balcony was stunning, we could see the sea. The main bedroom is spacious and clean. The whole unit is clean and the furniture is comfortable and it shows the local area. Loved the wall tiles of 8 pointed stars which depicts the area and the recesses in the walls. Kitchen is very well equipped with all necessary appliances. The laundry is separate and a great idea as you can close the door and not hear the washing machine and tumble dryer working. We are a family with 4 teenagers. The kids enjoyed the activities such as football and water polo. The Solera restaurant has good food but the service was a bit slow. My husband and I enjoyed going to the beach every day to have a massage by one of the Chinese ladies. Foot and back/neck massages. The beach is clean and well kept. The gym has modern equipment and a good selection of cardio and resistance equipment. We used it every day. The shop has souvenirs and all necessary foods and cleaning products should you run out. The pools are sparkling and clean. Absolutely loved staying at Playa Andaluza, it was very relaxing and the resort is simply stunning. Do go to Don Juan restaurant for Tapas, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlusterer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great TripAdvisor review and resort photos, Dominique! We are pleased your family enjoyed their stay with us this summer and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We own at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, in California, and traded our two bedroom unit for this property. My husband and I had a fantastic stay and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and the pool areas very well maintained.

If you have a car, there's a grocery store about a 5 minute drive away where you can buy everything to stock your kitchen - wine, beer, fruit , fresh seafood and meat - all for much cheaper than the onsite Marketplace.

The hotel is in the perfect location for day trips to Ronda (highly recommended), Marbella (highly recommended), Gibraltar and Tangier. The concierge was most helpful with recommendations.

We loved it here and would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbenson5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, supposed to be 3 star but we had paid 5 star room rate.
Pros: 3 bedroomed apartments are really excellent, daily cleaning service very good. Underground parking available right under accommodation. Good for a base if that's all you want. Shop on site which sells a good selection of food, and freshly baked bread. The 4 swimming pools are good. Wifi excellent. A nice beach.

Cons: the location is terrible, if you like to walk out of the hotel on a night for a stroll to bars and restaurant forget it. There are a handful but mostly right on the motorway. Don't be fooled by the address Estepona, it's a 23 Euro cab there. Closer to Puerto Banus. There isn't much atmosphere in the on site restaurant on a night and it closes at midnight, and there is only one small cafe bar to eat and drink on site. Not many waiters to cleanup, an example I saw 2 empty sofa tables covered in food and they didn't get cleaned up for 40 mins, meantime no one wanted to sit there because there were loads of flies. Another time I had to clean a sofa table myself to get a seat. It's nice but I've stayed in MUCH nicer places in Spain for the price we paid.

We had rented for a week off the internet but it was emphasised to us many times by staff and 'owners' that mostly Marriott timeshare owners stay here, a bit snobby, not sure why as it doesn't merit this status.

Robin Hood bar is nice, about 20 mins walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Playa Andaluza! We are happy you enjoyed the spacious villa and resort amenities. Our team also appreciates your feedback on the resort location and dining offerings. We will share your comments with the appropriate managers and we thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We hope to host your family again on your next visit to Spain at one of the Marriott resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
676 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
866 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 35 in Estepona
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing