We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Nearby Hotels
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diana Park(Estepona)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
FuerteHoteles.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$614
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
872
309
49
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
872
309
49
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantony wolfsonsolera restaurantmarket placemarriott resortvacation clubneil diamondmini golftypical marriottexcellent resortconcierge deskon site restauranthome resortindoor poolutility roomcrazy golffitness classestime share
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this Playa Andaluza already 2/3 times in the past and this year. We love the location of this resort because close to many places of what Andalusia and Spanish lifestyle has to offer,
We are Marriott vacation club owners and we like to pass our week stay in this Resort because all the staff were nice, gently and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gianpaolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My family has stayed at this property 5 times in the past 6 years. We love the location and all that Andalusia has to offer. We are Marriott vacation club owners and traded our week the first time we stayed and fell in love with the area, the resort and the Spanish lifestyle. The property is very well maintained and staff is great. Perfect place for families as well as couples on vacation. 3 pools and the Beach leaves something for everyone. Lots of nearby options for dinner with Marbella and Puerto Banus a short drive away. Nearby day trips are terrific (Gibraltar, Rhonda, Tangiers) as well as further can be done in a day but better to stay overnight (Sevilla, Granada). You won't be sorry if you choose this lovely property!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank jennifer_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Jennifer! We are pleased to hear your family has enjoyed Marriott's Playa Andaluza for the past six years. Your review is appreciated and our team looks forward to many more visits to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We, my partner and I and two kids aged 12 and 13, had five nights to look forward too. At the reception we got appointed a '00' appartment. Synonym for ground floor dungeon. Our first preview was also a ground floor appartment without any sun. I don't know why Marriott sells these dungeons for a test drive. Any self-respecting garage gives you a high-end car to test for free. Marriott though sells you, at a commercial price, a low-end appartment... which was roomy though but with superficial American level luxury and paper-thin walls and ceilings. We spent sleepless hours made to listen to the neighbours talking in the kithchen and doing the laundry.
Cheap slamming doors in the morning didn't help either. We started to look forward to the peace and quiet of our Brussels centre appartment when, for no reason, the fire alarm went off at five AM. It couldn't have been caused by the water seeping from the ceiling into our utility room wall sockets because I had switched of the jumpers.
The kitchen was very spacious and well equiped though. Good thing because the resort restaurant is devoid of any self-respect. Their paella signature dish reminded me of a crème brulée when punching my fork through the crusted top layer to get to the soft rice. My partner has a milk intolerance. When asking the waiter if there's any cream in the starter, the uninterested answer was 'I don't know, take a salad'. 'Could you please ask the chef?'. After about 10 seconds of wandering around he came back. 'I'll give you the salad'.
The resort, very well maintained by gardeners starting very early in the morning, was very nice though. The main swimming pool and deck chairs were surprisingly empty at the start of August.
The beach area was heaven on days with a gentle breeze. The sea itself reminded me of the north sea on a hot Belgian day but more difficult to get in to because of the rocks and stones. Very nice once you're through the waves and swimming though.
You'll need a car. Visit Puerto Banus and Malaga centre, it will make your stay memorable.
Would be buy a Marriott slot there? Never. We like the Adriatic, the Ionean and Cote d'Azur.
Would we go back? Yes but with a collection of professional ear plugs and a decent appartment.
Finally I can recommend the 15 euro massage on the beach. Best and longest one I ever had.

Room Tip: Do not take a ground-floor appartment if you have thechoice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Lauren. We are sorry to hear your second visit did not exceed your expectations due to the villa location. Owners of the resort are given priority on villa requests, which is a benefit of being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club. We will share your feedback with the resort leadership team and hope you will choose Marriott's Playa Andaluza again on your next visit to Spain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent the week in Spain. No complaints at all. the rooms are spacious. the pool and amenities are wonderful. The staff is attentive and goes above and beyond for everything. the concierge helped us with day trips we could drive in our rental, and they have plenty of excursions too. They are also very knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, and every place we went was as described. Grocery store is less than five minutes away, so its easy to fill the fridge. Plenty of activities for the kids. and quiet pools for the adults. activities every day, including shopping, dancing, and cooking demonstrations. Only complaint I could find is the restaurant menu. The restaurant is easy on vacationers with lots of menu choices you would see back home. All well prepared. if you want something with more local flavor, you will need to go to one of the local restaurants. not a problem for us at all. It made our home base comfortable and dependable. and easy on the kids if they were tired after a day of touring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0dys_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Playa Andaluza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Playa Andaluza! We are happy your family enjoyed their time with us in Spain and appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant menu. We hope you will visit us again and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my son and we had a great time.

We got upgraded on arrival and had a fabulous 2 double bedroomed, 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the volleyball court.

As is the case everywhere in Spain the pools are cold but there are 3 good sized pools: one for young kids, one for playing games and one that they say is for adults but is full of children (albeit without the balls and inflatables of the other pools).

The resort isn't really geared up for those not eating in their apartments and the breakfast is average at best. They do a deal if you buy three breakfasts up front which is good value financially however.

The volleyball court, 5 a side football pitch and mini golf are all well kept and good fun and drinks and snacks are not wildly expensive. When happy hour starts however, the queues are long!

One word of caution however - don't go if you're expecting a relaxing spa retreat - it suited us but the indoor pool and many jacuzzis were full of kids for the entire time we were there.

This place is difficult to book (largely as it's used by those with timeshares) but if you can get in I'm not sure you can fail to enjoy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews