We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich - UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Resort right on the beach”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Another high quality Marriott Timeshare resort, this time the accommodation are fully featured apartments.

Great facilities, indoor pool great for kids, didn't try outdoor pools in February, but kids pool looked good.

Good mix of facilities, free Crazy Golf for kids went down well, also a decent kids room with pool tables & air hockey.

Really enjoyed our spring break here for week in February.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank willmoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    272
    45
    12
    11
See reviews for
509
337
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This holiday was one of our best holidays as we had a lovely sea view room which was upgraded by the hotel staff as it was our anniversary. The appartment grounds was very well kept and could not be faulted. The complex could do with a bar seperate from the dining area which could be used by people who want to watch TV and socialize with other appartment members. The lack of wireless in the rooms was a small disappointment but not enough to spoil our stay, some poeple want to leave technology behind when they go on holiday but with everyone having iphones nowadays wireless seems to now be a standard. There were no lack of places to eat, the chinese which is in walking distance is absolutely wonderful and you wont be dissapointed its fabulous value for money. We hired a car and took a trip up into the mountains to Ronda its a must to see some history quite a lovely drive up into the mountains. A must if you like seafood is to go into Marbella and visit the seafood resturant you wont be dissappointed if you like fish and lobster. If you fancy cooking then go to the supermarket you cant go wrong. Two tips for this appartment stay, go and buy the fresh bread baked in the appartment shop in the mornings and check out the fresh large prawns from the supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biggyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Just a short review as we only stayed for 3 nights. Absolutely fantastic. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was extremely well equipped (better than home). Views overlooking the seafront and the pool were excellent, and the balcony was a great place to sit and eat/drink in the evening under the stars. We went on the Marriott Vacation Club preview package at £99pp inc car hire. Brilliant value although we did have to sit through the 3+ hour (not 90 mins) timeshare presentation. Being a Marriott, everything about the stay was classy and exceeded our expectations. We'd love to have stayed longer but the preview is designed to give you a taste and leave you wanting more. If anybody gets the chance to take the MCVI preview trip, then my advice is to take it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daftbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

A lovely resort as you would expect from the Marriott chain, but is definitely geared more towards families rather than singles or friends. We stayed in an apartment which was lovely, but the maid only really made the beds and took the towels, however maybe it would have been different if we had been staying for longer.

The trip from Malaga to Estepona isn't a beautiful one even if you do travel on the E7 (the coast road not to be confused with the EP7 the toll road heading in the same direction). Location wise it is close to some lovely villages and not far from Puerto Banus and Marbella (around €15-20 in a cab). We drove to Gibralter for the day (about 50mins drive but be aware park outside if you can and walk through as the customs queue takes ages. The rock is most definitely worth a trip and ensure that you do the whole trip including the caves, 2nd world war tunnels etc to really appreciate it (the apes are quite amusing too).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0velyJubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, North Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed in the Cadiz block with wonderful view towards the sea. Our two bedroomed apartment was huge with all the amenities you'd expect including efficient air con, free internet, 3 TV's and large balcony. Rooms were very comfortable and clean and the shower was superb.

Disappointed with the breakfast in the restaurant, food of poor quality and overpriced. We purchased freshly baked croissants, baguettes and pastries from the onsite supermarket which were excellent. We ate at the restaurant a couple of evenings, the food was ok but nothing special bearing in mind the price, however the setting (outside) was lovely.

Whilst the complex was busy we never had a problem getting a sunbed by the pool or on the beach. The beach was fine although getting into the sea proved very tricky, due to the rocky sea bed, strong waves and steepness...definitley not child friendly. The food in the beach bar was better than in the restaurant.

A car is essential if you want to get out and about although there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance (just) along the busy A7.

We visited Ronda and Casares in the hills as well as the overrated Puerto Banus and Marbella. Estepona was nice but a hidden gem is Puerto La Duquesa just further along the A7. It has a beautiful marina and very quiet beach. The best thing though is the price of food and drink in the many bars and restaurants around the Marina...fantastic value.

Would fully recommend for a quieter holiday in lovely surroundings in top quality apartments...would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grfter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We visited this great property from 30th august- 6th september 09. This was our seconed visit after we were there the same time in 08. We are new vacation club owners and exchanged our home resort for here. The facilities within the complex are excellant, three pools ,one of which is a fabulous kids pool with slide. We spent most of our time there, as our two year old daughter loved it. All the areas around the pools are lovely and clean and what you would expect from Marriott properties.
The actual apartments are lovely, spacious with great air-conditioning. The beds are so comfortable with great pillows! Good kitchen and plenty of utensils and cookware.
I cannot fault this property in any way, we had super weather and had a very relaxing week. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot coment on the food on offer.
This is a great place for just chilling out with places of interest within reasonable driving distance. We had a lovely week and would not hesitate to recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lufcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed for a week in July, the resort was busy but did not feel overcrowded.

This is a long transfer from the airport at the moment due to roadworks in the San Pedro area.

This property is still not completed area around one of the pools is screened off but I dont think construction has yet started on this section. All facilities were open I think but there were vey few activities going on - even things advertised in the programme didnt take place.

Rooms are very nice - we stayed in the Almeria block which is the newest but has no underground parking so its not as convenient as the other blocks when you are carrying luggage etc. rooms are the standard Marriott vacation club standard with the usual facilities.

Cleanliness of the resort as with all Marriott properties was excellent.

The quality of the restaurants around are not great - if you want better quality you will need to go into Mabella, Puerto Banus or Estepona.

We have stayed at this property twice and the Marriott Marbella several times. The Marbella resort is better in terms of facilities, location, service and overall resort appearance in my opinion plus much closer to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2holidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing