We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough. Good rooms; location and food disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice enough. Good rooms; location and food disappointing”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This place looks exactly like every other Marriott you've ever been to. It's pretty new, so the big rooms reflect that, have all mod cons, all ensuite, fabulous plasma tvs (we had 4 in our 3-bed!), well-equipped kitchen. Everso slightly dated decor. I agree with the previous reviewer about the hallways - they did have a motel feel, but not shabby at all. We had a balcony with a (cheapish) plastic table for 4. Unfortunately we overlooked some construction, but it wasn't too intrusive or noisy. The odd thing about this site is that it's quite small, and set right in the middle of a residential area, and not a very lovely one, so feels quite hemmed in.

You can easily self-cater, but other than for breakfast, that's not our style, so we ate in the restaurant the first night. Nice enough room- it was a bit too cold for the more attractive terrace option - although several groups did brave it. Slightly spoiled for me by the cheesy entertainer playing MOR standards ("Feelings") along to a backing tape. He played the harp, guitar and keyboard (not all at once), so was clearly versatile and talented, but I did feel like I was on a seniors cruise.

The restaurant was very busy and evidently understaffed. In the end we waited 20 minutes to get a menu/take our drinks orders - and this only happened when we went to the desk to chivvy them up. This was a feature throughout the evening. They do bring you bread and olives which are nice enough but nothing special. Starters were distinctly average. When the mains came, mine was cold and DH's was non-existent. After the requisite chasing (slightly embarassing, boy does that spoil an evening) mine was returned to the kitchen and his appeared shortly thereafter. So we kind of ate in 3 shifts. Didn't stick around for puds but managed to get the bill after about a 15 minute wait. I was tempted to walk and see if they noticed us then.

We didn't complain because 1) we were tired after an early start and 2) we're British. We did try the restaurant for lunch a couple of days later and it was slightly better but not all that. Staff are nice enough but it's not slick. Never saw a manager. Trouble is, there is only one restaurant on site (there's a beach bar in high season) and the nearby options were all a bit honky tonk (right by the busy A7, garish plastic signs, sport on huge TVs) for my liking so we had to go quite far afield to eat. Not ideal for me.

The pool area is lovely, spotless and roomy and you can buy drinks (no service). But the pools were all freezing (even the kids pool!) and therefore empty so the big indoor pool saw a lot of action. The beach is not lovely.

Great facilities for little kids (except for the cold pool, what a shame) and outdoor pool tables, ping pong. We were off season so for that reason I suppose we saw no evidence of any activities although they were timetabled.

This place is nice enough and the rooms are lovely but they're selling timeshares and I cannot imagine anyone wanting to return year after year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    282
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
532
346
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Check in was fast, the rooms were a bit small compared to Marriott Marbella Resort and Spa. For some reason the bathroom always had a bad smell no matter how much it was cleaned! The location was really nice as it was between the mountains and the beach which resulted in a very clean and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel had a near by supermarket and houses around it, where you can enjoy morning walks.

The hotel had an easy access to the beach but I didn't particularly like the beach as it consisted of stones, high waves and cold water. Also, the balcony was small.

The other negative thing about the hotel was that the glass around the light inside on of the pools had a screw that was sticking out and while playing volley ball my 8 year old sister stepped on it by mistake while trying to grab the ball and ended up cutting her foot and having a bad injury. We directly contacted the hotel manager and within minutes a doctor arrived and a wheelchair was provided for my sister but for the rest of the holiday my sister couldn't walk properly and therefore didn't enjoy her time much. The screw wasn't fixed directly which was a negative point for the hotel.

The hotel had a ping pong table, chess, two big pools, and a supermarket with a bakery.

Overall, the experience was nice and would recommend it for couples, family with children and teenagers, group of friends, and solo travellers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lina7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We had the unfortunate pleasure of booking a preview holiday for 3 nights and 4 days at Marriot Playa Andulaza at Bluewaters Mall.

We were very excited when we were told it will consist of Holiday Apartment with a Jacuzzi in a room and free rental car overlooking the beach.
There was no beach - no jacuzzi in the room - and a construction site opposite our balcony..!!!!
As we drive automatic - we asked If we will have to pay additional. We were categorically told no extra charge for automatic care hire.

We got confirmation in the post about our holiday and were then told to book the flights for 3 of us before our holiday dates could be confirmed.

Once we booked the flights and then called up. We were told the holiday package has no such rooms with Jacuzzi and you have a choice to cancel the holidays. By this time it was too late to cancel the holidays for the sake of Jacuzzi and loose 800£ for non-refundable flights.

We went ahead and informed that we are ready to go ahead and got a confirmation number and dates confirmation by email as well as by phone. We had also informed about the child car seat as well as automatic car as a reminder. We didn;t receive the details of the Rental Care Hire until just a week before the departure date. And when we did receive - it mentioned manual car. we called up again to the sales desk in Ireland - only to be told again that we never requested one in "WRITING""". Another shock. Because this was mentioned at the time of booking as well as over the phone when we confirmed. Only that the person with whom we were dealing with had left Marriot..
We were then told to pay directly to the hire company for automatic car.

We paid another 162£. Even though we kept the car for 3 days - we had to pay a premium for 4 days because Marriot had booked us for 4 DAYS..

When we reported this Jacuzzi Mess and the extra charge that we had to cough up for automatic car - we were told again ( verbally ) that - dont worrry - the refund of 162£ is already in progress ( without our knowledge !! ). This was too good to be true as when we called up again - we were told - there is no such log of redunf request...Nothing in writing again...!!!!


So please dont fall in this trap of Preview Holidays of Marriot...God Save the people who fall for this trap...It will be the most expensive holidays and painful and time consuming...!!!







The Sales executive at the Andaluza Preview Event was very good and very professional. Lebanese Mr Fahi.

However the guy who sold us the package in london missold us with lies which consisted of the following:
1> He mentioned there will be jacuzzi in the room which was nt the case as there was no such jacuzzi in the apartment room in the entire completed.
2> At the time of selling the package,we were told we could hire automatic or manual without paying anything extra.

However - after we booked our flights - we were told neither there are jacuzzi in the room in the entire complex nor is the automatic car free....:)

This was utter lies but we were tied in by that time since we had already paid for the flight..and had no choice but to say yes for extra 162£ for automatic car on arrival.

At the preview centre - we were told by the girl on arrival - that 162£ will be refunded. However when I followed the same on my return to UK - the non-polite rep from Corke in Ireland ( Sales office ) mentioned there was no such thing...!!!


So overall bad taste on leaving for holidays - good preview event and was impressed with sales guy - and then bad taste on speaking to Irish sales people after returning to UK

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank KHANLONDON082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We (two couples) spent a week in a two-bedroom, two-bath condo at Playa Andalusia. The bedrooms and baths are very spacious and the living room/kitchen were just right. A good-sized balcony gave us a view over a sparkling pool, with the Mediterranean in the distance; looking the other direction was a view of hills. The kitchen had everything we needed and the condo was well appointed, including a DVD and CD player; everything worked. The grounds are lovely - very typical of a Marriott resort: flowers, well tended shrubs, nice sitting areas, nice pools, everything clean and neat. The only negative about the condo is that accessing it was through dark interior hallways, which gave it a "motel" feel. Otherwise, it was lovely. The beach, however, is not great - it is extremely rocky and the sand is brown, but clean. Travelers who want to swim MUST bring swim shoes. I wore heavy rubber sandals to walk and it was difficult enough to make me turn back after 30 minutes or so (normally, I like to walk the beach for hours at a time). The water was too cold for two of us, but it is pleasant to look at and Gibraltar is in the distance. The pool areas were great - lots of chairs and umbrellas, very clean, and most areas looked right out over the sea. We only spent two days hanging out at the pool, but they were pleasant. I would never stay here for a beach vacation - I've been told that the Marbella Marriott resort just an hour north has a much better beach and better atmosphere for that type of vacation. But I would definitely stay here again for the way we used it with this trip - as a convenient home base for our day trips throughout Andalusia. We were only 7 kilometers from Benehavis - a gorgeous pueblo blanco (white village) with great food. Slightly farther away are Casares and Guacin - just lovely pueblos too pretty to adequately describe (Guacin has a castle). A longer drive gives you opportunities to explore pretty (but touristy) Mijas, amazing Ojen, and many other pueblos blancos. It's only 2.5 hours to drive to either Seville or Granada and Gibralter is only about 45 minutes. I definitely recommend this resort as the perfect place to stay for someone who wants to explore Andalusia vs. hang out at a beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Our first resort holiday. The self catering shop was really pricey (no surprise), but as we hired a car from Malaga airport, we went to the local Mercadona supermarket for a big shop. Well stock kitchen so we cooked each evening. Great air con in the 2 bed 2 bath apartment. Good sized utility room (odd thing to mention I know!!) but we hid the double buggy there, along with the recycling bins, washer, dryer and airers. For one week, we had 8, yes 8, beach towels. One thing to add - we were there on the back of a Timeshare Invite, so the cynics out there may consider we had plush 'taster' accommodation??! Good outside areas and pools and a creche, but you can get all that info on their website. Spa treatments were a bit pricey too. Totally recommend and likely to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisedubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

if you are looking for a holiday where nothing is missing -this is the place

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This resort is THE place to stay in Costa del Sol!!!!! Not only is it beautiful and well appointed, its in a great location, close to almost everything and the employees are all fantastic!!!
While it is best to have a rental car as there are so many things to do in Andalucia, there are also many shops, restaraunts, and markets near by! The Solera restaraunt in the resort has very good food and the olives and bread that you receive before the main course, are to die for!!!!! I am still dreaming of them!
There is a little beach restaraunt next to the resort that you absolutely must go to and have the Paella..the best I have had to date!
We loved our 1 week stay and cannot recommend this resort or area enough...you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houndcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 35 in Estepona
661 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
862 reviews
9.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Property: Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing