We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Andaluza puts Costa del Sol at your fingertips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Playa Andaluza is a Marriott Vacation Club timeshare resort located close to the city of Marbella. Some posters refer to it as a hotel, but this mischaracterizes the fact that it is a timeshare resort which duing the peak seasons ( June through October ) will be mostly occupied by resort owners, other timeshare owners trading into the resort, and individuals who reserve a stay via Marriott's hotel site or who visit on a discounted "preview" stay.

The resort consists of five buildings containing apartments which have a full kitchen, ( w/ washer dryer) dining room, living room ( TVs in the LR and BRs ), full-sized balcony, master bedroom/bath/shower ( these bedrooms do contain a "spa" tub ) w/ king bed, and a second bedroom with a seperate bathroom/shower w/ twins which can be kept seperate or together. Some units are three bedroom units -- the third bedroom has it's own toilet/shower, balcony, microwave/mini-fridge and it is more to a hotel room in size/dimension. This third bedroom can be "locked off" apart from the main 2 BR apartment.

The resort is lushly landscaped and has 3 outdoor pools, the main pool has a disappearing view edge, another pool a dedicated "sports pool" and the thirds pool an expansive "kiddie pool" for toddlers and older kids with a water slide. This idea tends to spread guests out so that one does not feel crowded/confined even when the resort is at high occupancy. There is also an indoor pool with jacuzzis and a large exercise room overlooking this pool. There are also massage rooms, showers, and saunas. The beach sits in front of the resort and free lounge chairs are provided. The beach here is fine dark sand which turns to mostly small rounded stones. That said, the first 15 meters into the Mediterranean require some dexterity as there are rounded stones the size of melons at water's edge. This doesn't impeed swimming or bathing, but some guests put on an entertaining show as they wobble in and out of the water.

The resort also has on on-site restaurant/bar serving B/L/D, a store selling food and sundries, a chiringuito on the beach, and all sort of activities in a games pavillion. Concierge service offers the ability to book tours with pick up at the resort, car rentals, airport transportation ( contact the resort prior to your arrival to arrange airport pick up ). An airport limo is a bit pricy ( 90 Euros ), but the drive from Malaga airport to the resort is close to 40 miles so it is what it is.

One can anticipate a comfortable, relaxing stay at Playa Andaluza as the staff is friendly and accomodating. There are a few restaurants within walking distance of the resort, but one will require a car or a taxi to access the larger array of dining choices availible. One key attribute of the resort is its' location to the towns and tourist sites. Puerto Banus and Marbella are an 8 minute drive, Estepona 15, and Gibraltar 45 minutes. There are nearly 100 golf courses within a 60 minute radius of the resort. Ronda is less than an hour away and Sevilla, Cordoba and Granada between 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 hours drive. The mountains and scores of white villages are easily accessible via good roads. Throw in Roman ruins, prehistoric cave paintings and horseback riding and there are more things to do here than time to do it.

If you plan a Costa del Sol visit, I strongly suggest that you allow sufficient time to

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerseyfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Playa Andaluza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2011

I just came back from a week stay at Marriott's Playa Andaluza. I had a two bedroom apartment fully equipped with full kitchen, living room dinning room. There was a LCD TV in each of the bedrooms to include the living room. Each of the tv's had an HDMI output which came in handy with my computer which was loaded with movies. I just connected the HDMI cable to the TV and watched the movies right from my computer. As far as the kitchen it had a full-size refrigerator, coffeemaker, toaster, dishwasher, dishes, etc... The masterbedroom had a jacuzzi which it was nice to have. We had maid everyday. The resort had two heated pools (I only used once). The beach was nice however I never went in or see anyone enjoying the beach (this could be because it was a little bit cold) It was nice just to walk and enjoy the scenery. The grounds and landscape were outstanding and well kept. It had gym open 24 hours which it was nice. They had a grocery store open from 8:30 in the morning to 9p.m. We took some tours. The tour that really standout was to Tangiers, Morocco Tours. It was not what I expected. I paid 81 euros per person to go on this tour to be basically taken to different shops with the hope of buying a rug or any given item. They will not take no for an answer. These merchants ,hundredths of them, will follow you throughout the city (Guided Tour) trying to sell you anything. In despite of this cultural shock event it was a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We loved this Marriott property! The property is only about 4-5 years old and absolutely beautiful on the beach. It has 4 pools and a great workout room. It's wonderful for families as they have a children's pool and game room with computers, ping pong table, movie nights, etc. They also have an outdoor area with ping pong tables near the tot lot. The on-site restaurant is very good and offers a nice lunch/dinner menu.

We took a few day trips arranged through the concierge. The day trips are costly. I emailed a week before arrival to find out what day trips they offered and Maita responded with a lot of information. Andre at the concirge desk was also very helpful.
I would not recommend the day trip to Sevilla as we were on the bus for 14 hours with only 4 hours in Sevilla. So much time is spent picking up and dropping off passengers from the other hotels/resorts you waste so much time in addition to the drive time to Sevilla which is quite far. We did enjoy the day trip to Tangier, Morocco. Be careful as the street vendors are extremely aggressive and get too close to you while trying to sell you souvenir. My son was frightened at times. Start the haggling very low as a leather purse I was thinking about was haggled down from $60 USD to $15 USD.

We arrived at the Malaga airport with no transportation to the resort. The cabs wanted to charge $150 USD. The best thing to do is to take the direct airport bus to Marbella for $5
(50 minutes) then take a cab to the resort for about $35 USD. The bus is a very nice luxury bus. Do the same thing when returning to the airport. P.S - some cabs do take credit cards if you want that option.

The resort has many activites planned to choose from. They also had a day when vendors came in to sell souviners such as clothing, accessories, leather goods, scarves, shawls, etc. The products were good quality and presented nicely. Make sure you bargain...

Overall, the rooms were very clean and good size, the service was excellant, a perfect vacation. We would definitly visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The construction for A4 was a bit confusing but worth it. The place is beautiful and we went at the perfect time. The restaurant was very good and they had a lot of activities. It was a short drive to most placed on the coast. Ronda was beautiful but I could never drive it because of the winding roads and heights. Overall, Spain is great. We also spent some days in Madrid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Had some initial difficulty in finding the hotel (even with GPS) but after that no problems. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which gave us plenty of space - we were 2 adults, 2 children. 3 flatscreen TV's with all BBC and ITV channels and DVD and CD/radio players. 2 bathroms, with 2 baths, with showers and then a separate shower cubicle as well - with 2 shower heads! Double sink basins in master bathroom. Kitchen was excellent and we made full use of it. One of the bathrooms by the way had an unpleasant smell which just didn't go away - the bathrooms do not have any external windows which doesn't help I suppose.

Nice balcony,although furniture is lightish plastic.

Facilities at the resort are good - all the outside pools - there are around 4 at least - are unheated though so cold. Indoor pool is heated and can get a little crowded. Pool tables, crazy golf etc etc on site.

Beach is brown sand, where the sunbeds are set out, - but stoney, with some bits of glass I noticed as you get closer to the sea.

There is a shop on site open all day selling fresh bread and bakery items - very nice indeed- and other essentials including frozen food and milk etc. There is a nearby supermarket as well.

Staff are pleasant enough but we did have a couple of issues with them in that on the date of arival we were told breakfast was included but when we turned up at the restauarant for breakfast we were told that they were sorry for the error but we would be charged. We didn't eat there again as we were disappointed with the way they dealt with our complaint.

Other than that pleny of car parking and the location is ok proving you have a car. Overall, we, including the kids, enjoyed the place. Very nice gardens

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmad786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

On arrival, we were checked in by very friendly reception staff. Even though we arrived early, and it was a busy time, our apartment was made availabe. We overlooked the children's pool but were at no time disturbed.

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is very well equipped and fitted. Did not lack anything.....

I heeded a recommendation on Tripadvisor and got my shopping in the supermarket up the road. The on-site supermarker does do everything and their bread is excellent.

The concierge service were excellent (Gracias Tomas!) - they gave us wonderful suggestions, maps, directions and even helped me to get some medication for an allergy.......all the other staff - in the supermarket, by the pool side were very friendly.

The beach is pebbly so bring some sturdy shoes but otherwise, the range of facilities is so vast, I cannot imagine anyone getting bored. (pools, games, I loved the giant chess board).

This is an ideal base to explore the pueblos blancos (the white villages) - Ronda, Guaciin......a must see!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddys_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This place looks exactly like every other Marriott you've ever been to. It's pretty new, so the big rooms reflect that, have all mod cons, all ensuite, fabulous plasma tvs (we had 4 in our 3-bed!), well-equipped kitchen. Everso slightly dated decor. I agree with the previous reviewer about the hallways - they did have a motel feel, but not shabby at all. We had a balcony with a (cheapish) plastic table for 4. Unfortunately we overlooked some construction, but it wasn't too intrusive or noisy. The odd thing about this site is that it's quite small, and set right in the middle of a residential area, and not a very lovely one, so feels quite hemmed in.

You can easily self-cater, but other than for breakfast, that's not our style, so we ate in the restaurant the first night. Nice enough room- it was a bit too cold for the more attractive terrace option - although several groups did brave it. Slightly spoiled for me by the cheesy entertainer playing MOR standards ("Feelings") along to a backing tape. He played the harp, guitar and keyboard (not all at once), so was clearly versatile and talented, but I did feel like I was on a seniors cruise.

The restaurant was very busy and evidently understaffed. In the end we waited 20 minutes to get a menu/take our drinks orders - and this only happened when we went to the desk to chivvy them up. This was a feature throughout the evening. They do bring you bread and olives which are nice enough but nothing special. Starters were distinctly average. When the mains came, mine was cold and DH's was non-existent. After the requisite chasing (slightly embarassing, boy does that spoil an evening) mine was returned to the kitchen and his appeared shortly thereafter. So we kind of ate in 3 shifts. Didn't stick around for puds but managed to get the bill after about a 15 minute wait. I was tempted to walk and see if they noticed us then.

We didn't complain because 1) we were tired after an early start and 2) we're British. We did try the restaurant for lunch a couple of days later and it was slightly better but not all that. Staff are nice enough but it's not slick. Never saw a manager. Trouble is, there is only one restaurant on site (there's a beach bar in high season) and the nearby options were all a bit honky tonk (right by the busy A7, garish plastic signs, sport on huge TVs) for my liking so we had to go quite far afield to eat. Not ideal for me.

The pool area is lovely, spotless and roomy and you can buy drinks (no service). But the pools were all freezing (even the kids pool!) and therefore empty so the big indoor pool saw a lot of action. The beach is not lovely.

Great facilities for little kids (except for the cold pool, what a shame) and outdoor pool tables, ping pong. We were off season so for that reason I suppose we saw no evidence of any activities although they were timetabled.

This place is nice enough and the rooms are lovely but they're selling timeshares and I cannot imagine anyone wanting to return year after year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estepona
1.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
745 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
13.8 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 34 in Estepona
895 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#7 of 34 in Estepona
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Playa Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Playa Andaluza

Address: Calle Cadiz km 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#1 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#1 Family Hotel in Estepona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £111 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Playa Andaluza 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Playa Andaluza invites you to a place of relaxation surrounded by lush beauty. Located in beautiful Malaga, Spain, alluring backdrops accompany yoru stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott's Playa Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Playa Andaluza Hotel Estepona
Marriott Vacation Club Estepona
Marriotts Hotel Estepona
Marriott Estepona
Estepona Marriott
Marriott Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing