We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars plus, not good enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga
Level Contributor
454 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“5 stars plus, not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Elba for 2 nights. The place in nice, but for a 5 star plus hotel things is not good enough. The mini bar selection is bad, in a fridge that is not cooling that well. The gym equipment is OK, but the room itself should be a lot larger, with more equipment. Breakfast OK. When you arrive at a 5 star hotel, you expect the bellboys to be standing in line to help with luggage - no not!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Costumer

First of all a very kind and sunny regards from Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your comments which helps us to improve our services..

I am sure that on the occasion of any future visit you will enjoy the peaceful and relaxing ambiance of the place throughout your stay.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    414
    173
    77
    45
See reviews for
565
610
39
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We vist some retired friends every year in Estepona, have been in most of the 5 star properties around the area and this one is no different. How they get 5 star GL is amazing.
The hotel itself is okay, typical spanish construction, paper thin walls, so your peace in the room depends on the rooms either side of you. The junior suite was okay, very spacious and large bathroom. Decor rather on the dark side.
They simply don't have the staff to be classed as 5*, there is no service around the pool at all, it's a case of go up and get it yourself, and please bring it back ! Drinks served in the cheapest plastic tumblers. At breakfast they are hopelessly understaffed, they simply clean the tables once you have left, if you finnish with a plate it simply stays on the table till you have gone. Scrambled eggs were out of a tetra pack !
In the evening the main restaurant only has buffet, once again saving on staff. Can't see how you can classify a hotel as 5* with only a buffet service.
The staff seemed friendly enough, but they didnt have a moment to comunicate with guests since thy were so busy.
All in all after years of visiting the Costa it's about what you can expect for the price, Kempinski is a little better but also average. I guess unless you move up to paying 700/800 Euros per day you cant expect any real service, it's average European beach resort standard. Beware if you are looking for a beach holiday there is no sandy beach in front of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Client

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your comments, which help us to improve our services.

I am sure that on the occasion of any future visit you will enjoy the peaceful and relaxing ambiance of the place throughout your stay.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

If your are looking for an excelent place to chill out, sit back and relax this is the best choice. About the activities, during the day children and parents can enjoy the many activities the hotel has to offer, a nice spaa, a mini club for the little ones, and some exercising in the pool. The rooms are up to standards, nice and confortable beds, air-conditioning and an excelent room service. The beach is only 20meters away from the pool not many hotels can say the same. After all the activities and sunbathing hunger will start to kick in, the restaurants at the hotel will take perfect care of that, with a display of spanish dishes and local food. We cant forget the staff, it is the first hotel where I actually was greeded by the director, a very polite gentleman that seems to enjoy chatting with his costumers and getting to know them. Overall I had a wonderfull time at Gran hotel Elba, by the way you can not miss the spaa trust me!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrizzioferese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on your most recent stay at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso, which I much appreciated, especially in view that you could notice our efforts of training standards.

I am also likewise happy that you comment positively about our Spa, Food and Room.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you soon again to our resort.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hold your horses! Who in their right mind gave this hotel 5 stars grand lux rating?? A scam. A scandal. How can we trust ratings after this? So I checked the rating definitions on the internet. Turns out there is no official body awarding stars. And every country have their own ratings. Nevertheless, 5 stars GL is supposed to be the best. And Elba is the worst. Go figure! Probably because Elba offers all the services it "needs to" in order to get 5 stars GL, but it offers nothing else. Example: Elba has an elevator, it has a spa, it has 24 hrs roomservice, it has a pool, bla bla bla. But it does NOT have a good athmosphere, not good service, it smells (!), and the hotel is so deserted you feel you're alone on another planet (in fact a bit scary in the huge corridors).

We were supposed to stay for 4 nights. We left in a hurry after 1 day. Why? Having spent a day at a nearby beach (Elba's beach is very bad!), we came back to our junior suite to find the room smell strongly of sewer! We called the reseption, and they said there was a problem with the hotels's AC, but "it might be solved by tomorrow". With a pregnant wife the decision was tough but easy: We left immediately and checked in at Hotel Kempinski (5 stars GL) only 12 minutes by car away. Kempinski, a heaven on earth on comparison!

Note! When making the booking at Elba I used the hotel's phone number at the bottom of its web page. I woman at the other end told me to send her an email with my request, and so she gave me the email address. No problem, she reserved the room and I gave her my credit card details. When we (as described above) decided to check-out after 1 night I obviously asked that our remaining stay was not to be charged for (we left due to "force majeur", or sewer stink). But at the reseption I was now told that my booking had been made through a travel agency! To make a long story short: Elba seems to have a double web page that makes all bookings go through a travel agency and not directly through the hotel's booking dept. Which makes it incredibly difficult to make your arguments in case you need to change your arrangements. Conclusion: Don't trust the Elba booking system!

All in all, to me it's a mystery how Elba got their 5 stars GL rating. At best I'd give it 3 stars. And 3 stars may be quite sufficient, but a great disappiontment when you're expection and paying for 5 stars GL!! Stay away from Elba Estepona, chose in stead Hotel Kempinski only 12 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Client,

First of all a very kind and sunny regards from Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Having read your comments regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about it, because it gives us the opportunity to answering you.

1) The Hotel has the official rating of 5 stars GL according the Spanish Touristic Lawn. We are very sorry that you not enjoyed your stay among us like the most of our clients.

2) About the hotel atmosphere, of course it is your own point of view, we are vey sorry that our hotel was not the place you was looking for.

3) In fact your room had a problem with the A/C on the second day and the rooms had a strong smells. Straight away our reception staff offered you a new rooms, but you decided to leave the hotel

4) Due to that all our rooms have a fantastic view to the ocean our huge and nice decorated corridors are very large

5) In reference to your reservation , you have contacted the online "Reservation Call Center" called Travelevdokia and not the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona.

6) We have only one web page

From our part, please be informed that we haven’t charged to the agency any cancelation fee for your reservation. We informed you already about this the same day.

Once again we are very sorry for all the inconvenience caused, I can assure you that cases like yours are very exceptional and that we are very proud about the high satisfaction of our clients.

I am sure that on the occasion of any future visit you will enjoy the peaceful and relaxing ambiance of the place throughout your stay.


With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Gran Hotel Elba is a nice enough hotel boasting five restaurants of which only two are open at any one time, three pools - a main pool with ample loungers, a small pool for children which is really more suitable for toddlers and another small pool that is restricted to adults only.

The pool side bar serves drinks, lunch and refreshments although all of this comes at a cost.

We had breakfast included and the buffet certainly offers lots of choice but is the same format everyday.

Whilst, this is classed as a 5 star hotel it doesn't strictly feel like it has all the elements that make a 5 star - the rooms are clean but not big on luxury, we requested an iron and were told they only had three for the whole place, the air conditioning was temperamental, the evening buffet at €38 offers variety but is the same most days, one thing which is 5 star is the cost at €250ish a night for a double room and €350 for a suite.

I would recommend the Gran Hotel Elba but don't expect to get a whole lot for your money... .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Customer ,

First of all a very kind and sunny regards from Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your comments, which help us to improve our services.

In reference to the restaurants, for sure we have a total of 5 restaurants, including the restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Every night during the summer season 3 different restaurant are open.

I am sure that on the occasion of any future visit you will enjoy the peaceful and relaxing ambiance of the place throughout your stay.

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Let me start by saying that this a good hotel. Located directly at the seafront, nice garden with beautiful pool. Nothing wrong with that.
However, the rooms are ok but very noisy. When a neighbour moves a chair, you can hear that. Also the banging of the doors is 'loud and clear', as the suitcases of fellow guests rolling over the corridors are.
The staff in the restaurants are not friendly at all. I guess they have worked in this place for too long and have forgotten what 5-star service should look like.
The spa was disappointimg as well. Two of the five sauna's were out of order. The steambath was cold at the floor and warm at the head.

To conclude: a good 3-star hotel!

To conclude: a good 3 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillemSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELBAESTEPONA, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
First of all a very kind and sunny regards from Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your comments, which help us to improve our services.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,060 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed 1 night in late April 2011 with my wife part of our travel around Andalucia in Southern Spain. Choosed this place based on TA's review and the 5*.
But in fact, we were disapointed about this hotel which seems to overprice the bill they charge you. We've paid 160 Euros for 1 night in a standard room with buffet breakfast and free parking.
The room itself is with seaview and a large marble bathroom but does not offer all the good amenities you could expect from that hotel category. For example, no flat screen TV (just an old TV like in the 90's) and no Tea/coffee maker. Bed was ok. But the decoration of the room is really old and shabby and could be easily be replaced by something more modern. Old style 5* hotel in general.

The pool is nice but the beach isn't. Staff is not really friendly (especially Frontdesk). And what means G.L. after the 5*?

When we'll be back in the aera, we'll surely not choose this place again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Property: Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#5 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing