We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friends enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friends stayed recently whilst visiting us and would recommend it highly!The location was important as they were here to attend a wedding in Gib but wanted to be close to the action in Puerto Banus!! It had everything a good hotel should provide whilst maintaining a personal service!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are most thankful for constructive reviews as they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests’ needs and expectations.

We can assure that every single comment will be carefully analyzed and our standards will be reviewed.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to cater for your needs and expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    432
    184
    81
    46
See reviews for
594
639
41
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have spent my many a special occasion in this hotel the amenities are second to none the staff are great . To be honest I have never eaten there except the wonderful breakfast . As I go to a near by restaurant that me and my wife love .
I would recommend this hotel to anyone true 1st class rooms service and staff :)

Room Tip: If you can get room sea viewing junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa.

We are most thankful for constructive reviews as they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests’ needs and expectations.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to cater for your needs and expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Being a frequent user, I have found this Hotel to be tremendously relaxing during the day and with great night entertainment. The food is excellent and with great variety to which i must congratulate Mr Victor Gutierrez the Chef for his dedication. Such is my delight that i have approached the Director Gian Carlo Porcu and Public relations Pepa Alcaraz to make all the arrangements for my sons wedding to be celebrated there next year as the Hotel meets all the requirements. I must also mention the professionalism and great hospitality and help given to us by Gian Carlo and Pepa. I would most certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone who would find it great overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa for your stay in Costa del Sol.

As well, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Hotel in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The rooms are very nicely decorated and very spacious. Great view overlooking the beach. The hotel is around midway along the coast for those who wish to explore Gibraltar or Morocco. The desserts were lovely, but they can do a little better with the main meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yimika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Having read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and while I am very glad to learn about your positive comments. Thank you very much !

At Elba Hotels we strive to provide a unique experience to each client, therefore your opinion is very important to us.

It will be a big pleasure for all of us to welcome you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me on the occasion of any future visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I am extremely concerned that we have booked this hotel for a holiday on the 8th of November, 2013, we asked our travel agent to recommend a good five star hotel that will be spotlessly clean, good food and within walking distance of the town! If the reviews are anything to go by, I shouldn't have booked here, luckily we booked a junior suite, please please let the negative reviews be wrong!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank devonred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Client,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Costa del Sol next November 8th.

Our aim is to offer you a good experience at our hotel and this is our greatest pleasure, and the reason why we work so hard every day

All the opinions of our customers are important to us, being almost impossible to satisfy everyone. I can assure you that we are doing everything possible to achieve our main goal, the satisfaction of our customers.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information you may need.

Best regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed from 6 September until 20th September and were extremely disappointed since the hotel was billed as 5 star and quite clearly is about 3.5! Reception staff are extremely efficient and helpful but sadly the waiting staff are arrogant and rude. They need to be sent to 'charm school'. Food is monotonous, of poor quality and hot food in chafing dishes is cold! Coffee at breakfast is putrid and is not helped by the hotel only using long life milk. We had a suite with nice balcony but unfortunately the cushions for the sun beds were dirty, thin and particularly well worn. Luxury? Definitely not. A glass in the bathroom was wrapped in cellophane and when I took off the wrapping, found the last guest's toothpaste still at the bottom of the glass! At dinner one night, one of the restaurant managers asked us if we would prefer a table outside or inside the restaurant and before we had an opportunity to reply, he walked away and started giggling and laughing with two waitresses! This was exceptionally rude and I located him later and informed him of this. We received no apology, merely putting his hand on his heart as if he were sorry! Friends came to visit us one afternoon and we decided to have buffet lunch. At 30 euros a head this is an absolute rip off. A glass of red wine is 8euro 50, water 5 euros so we quickly decided to get basics from the local supermarket which is 8 euros there and 8 euros back! Having paid over 4000 pounds for our two week stay (half board) I feel utterly disgruntled and thoroughly ripped off. It is no wonder the hotel has lost its status as one of the luxury hotels of the world. It deserved to!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliceSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We value each and every comment from our guests and it was disconcerting to learn that your experience with us was under your expectations.

Unfortunately it seems you have left our hotel with a bad impression, which is a shame as we did our very best to satisfy your every need and we are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this.

Tripadvisor helps other clients to choose a hotel based on the overall satisfaction of other guests that have stayed in the same hotel, since the opening of our hotel we have achieved and maintained an excellent rating record.

The rooms are also properly reviewed before check in of guests, however if you find the slightest imperfection or anything in need of cleanliness or repair you may advise reception or the Management the same day in oder to make sure it is fixed straightaway, we never recieved any complain about the cushions for the sun beds.

We like to highlight that most of our client are talking positive about the great food and quality selection we offer as well about our frindly and helpfull staff, we are really surprised about your negative experience.

Our prices correspond to a hotel in our category, we regret that these have seemed very expensive and you had to go to a supermarket.

We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from an all inclusive stay at this hotel. It was very quiet only half full and so we had lots of space and usually the indoor pool to ourselves. Very few people around the pool and in the restaurant. We had a suite, impeccable and service was excellent. Believe me, we are a fussy late sixties couple who enjoy five star treatment. We went to the spa daily and really have no complaints whatsoever. Staff were always courteous and helpful and even though we had to formally check out at 12, our flight not till late the same evening, we were able to have meals and drinks, whatever we wanted, still in the inclusive package. We loved it!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffodilgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments.
We appreciate your comments and we will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff.
That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We will take your opinions into account, because it will doubtless help us improve our guests’ experiences in the future.

We hope to see you again soon at the Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Kindest regards.


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 35 in Estepona
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
807 reviews
8.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 35 in Estepona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
9.8 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 35 in Estepona
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Property: Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#5 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing