We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Elba is deserved of it's five stars and doesn't come with some of the snootiness that can come with 5 star hotels in Europe.

The hotel is well maintained and very clean all round. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Classically finished but with up to date furniture not lacking in quality. Beds are comfortable and every room in the hotel look out on to the sea which is literally spitting distance away. So no issues with the view. We had the standard room but family rooms looked even better for space.

Food in the hotel is of the highest standard and its worth giving consideration to meal plans especially the All Inclusive. The evening buffet comes out around €110 for 2 adults and 1 Child lunch around half that but the drinks are a little toppy at about €3.50 regardless of it being a beer or a soft drink or a coffee or a water. My only complaint is this seemed a bit expensive for water/soft drinks/Juice or bottle water. But All Inclusive certainly would be a good shout for those spending most of the time in the hotel.

Staff are one of the biggest assets here always friendly always helpful and approach everything from a how could we help this guest approach. The pool bar guys do not stop all day long and keep smiling although they could probably do with one more staff member there. A cocktail can slow it all right down. Staff here are some of the best.

A note on location as this comes up in quite a few reviews. The hotel is on the outskirts of town. It's a solid 40 minute walk into the Port area with restaurants and bars but I would recommend having a car for here as we went back and forth a lot and explored the area too because Sotogrande, Marbella, Puerto Banus and Gibraltar are all on the door step and each within 30 minute drive or so. With a car we didn't think too much of it all but without I think we would have. So if you like pool and relaxing and eating is a pleasure here anyway then you won't worry, if you like to pop down the road for a change of scenery then a car or good walking shoes are needed. Just dont rent from Goldcar!!!

Overall awesome hotel, staff are great, food is excellent, non-alcholic drinks could be a bit cheaper, needs a car but we will be back 110%.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chrlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dearchrlyd,

thank you for your visit and for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We have carefully read your review and taken them into serious account. We work very hard and we always welcome any sort of feedback as it helps us to improve our services and take neccesary measures wherever required.

Once again thank you for your visit and best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Food very good, as was room with wonderful sea view. Staff members mostly friendly and helpful, one or two not so. Service was not what I would call 5 star (inconsistent is the best way to describe) - cocktail made by Antonio excellent but same cocktail made by another staff member undrinkable, repairs to fridge and fan needed to be reported three times before it got sorted and the communal toilets around the hotel were often very smelly and lacked toilet paper and not very clean but our rooms were clean. First day in pool garden no bar staff came round to serve us drinks, next day came round 4 times in an hour, next day no where to be seen again. Perhaps the Hotel gains the 5 star status because of the very good spa facilities. Very disappointed that none of my postcards whose postage was paid for at the hotel shop and that were posted in the box next to the shop arrived at family and friends (this is now 6 weeks later) and yet the single one posted in Estepona did. What is more disappointing is that I needed to phone the Hotel to get a response to an email on this and another matter (as it had been ignored). They said that the Hotel shop use a private delivery company and they would speak to them - but have heard nothing since and my email asking for contact details of this delivery company has been ignored (sent 10th August). Nevertheless an overall pleasant stay, but scope for this hotel to be better if it wants to be a truly 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 515Alemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear 515Alemap,

thank you for your visit and for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We have carefully read your review and taken them into serious account. We work very hard and we always welcome any sort of feedback as it helps us to improve our services and take neccesary measures wherever required.

Once again thank you for your visit and best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights all inclusive (8 of us with 4 children) we loved every moment, the highlight being the food, it is of a very high standard with top quality local produce, including great jamon iberico (Serrano) Fresh local langoustines and crab, even lobster on two nights! They cook a variety of fish or meats to order and have very good friendly staff. Rooms are very generous in size, the suites are massive. All in all a great stay. My special commendations go to the director Juan Manuel Galan, who personally made sure we felt comfortable at every stage of our stay and is running a very well managed team of great staff! Well done!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Horacio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elba Estepona E, Director General at Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Horacio R,

thank you for your visit and for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We have carefully read your review and taken them into serious account. We work very hard and we always welcome any sort of feedback as it helps us to improve our services and take neccesary measures wherever required.

Once again thank you for your visit and best regards,

Juan Manuel Galán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We travelled to this hotel with our grown-up family. The staff were exceptionally friendly and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping staff were great - two housekeepers per room cleaning glass and removing every finger print. Although we stayed on an all inclusive basis we felt the need to upgrade on three occasions to the A La Carte dining room. Although the hotel was extremely busy there was hardly any noise when in the bedrooms and sleep quality was exceptional. All in all a good family holiday.

Room Tip: We had two deluxe sea-view rooms and one junior suite - all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We are about to leave hotel elba after a five day stay.

It was just myself and my fiancee and we were on our own. We did read alot of reviews prior to booking this so here it goes. .....

Hotel staff were excellent in terms of their level of service and we were greeted with wine on arrival. The condition of the hotel is very good and the beach is right out side.

The room size is great. Its cleaned everyday. We stayed b and b and breakfast could not be faulted.

There are adult pool areas which was great as we didn't have the kids with us.

The spa is great. The missus loved it and so did I.

We didn't eat at the hotel but we did go to both marinas and there are plenty of places to eat. Average spend was 40 euros including a bottle of wine.

However you must go to el trejar tapas bar in the centre of estapona. We spent 21 euros including drink and dessert. Food was locally cooked.

Also buy your water from aldi across the highway. Believe me it was 3 euros for a bottle of water.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

There is no doubt that this is a beautiful hotel with lovely staff ,but if you like a walk out in the afternoon or evening, it 's a choice of round the hotel or over the motorway flyover to Aldi. A taxi to the port will set you back 10 euros each way (unless you are too miserable to tip). There are a reasonable number of places to eat and drink around the harbour and from there you can also walk to the old town, where you will find a selection of traditional places in varied price ranges.So if you don't mind being in the same location all the time and love a really fantastic bathroom then don't hesitate to book this hotel.As a rough guide as to whether to go all inclusive,work out your gain based on cocktails 6 euros 50 or so, wine 4 euros, beer 4 euros 50.
The evening entertainment was varied and certainly went down well with all age groups (maybe not for late teens or 20s).
There were plenty of sunbeds and lots of evidence of cleaners and maintenance people to ensure that everywhere was spotless.
We always found something to eat even if we have experienced a lot better elsewhere. The waiters were lovely and we had a free visit to the spa which is be highly recommended (salt water though so don't get it in your mouth).
So really_believe the good reviews but DO consider the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Delighted14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a week. Absolutely a lovey hotel with a great staff, very friendly and welcoming. Great food and services. A good choice for a family holiday.
We really didn't want to come back when our holiday finished.
Thanks to all the staff.
Certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonaKoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
10.1 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
0.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 34 in Estepona
1,458 reviews
8.6 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
7.2 mi away
Healthouse Las Dunas Beach Hotel and Spa
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa

Address: Urbanizacion Arena Beach | Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estepona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#4 Spa Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £100 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Estepona
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona And Thalasso Spa
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing