We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel! Not friendly and freezing cold pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Estepona Palace
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Estepona
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Currently staying at this hotel!! We have 3 days left!! We booked this hotel cause we are going to a wedding nearby so needed a hotel fairly close. We chose this hotel cause it said family friendly and looked amazing. The hotel itself is amazing, lovely white hotel with turrets that are lit up at night. The rooms are lovely spacious and clean with a lovely modern bathroom. The double bed is 2 singles pushed together which is okay but obviously not a double bed!! All areas are kept clean and tidy. If you are coming all inclusive and you like a drink this hotel gives the real stuff jack Daniels Smirnoff vodka ammereto all the brands :) which is very unusual for an all inclusive! Food is good and each day you can watch your desired meat or fish being cooked in front of you! The beach is directly behind the hotel although the sea is a little rocky and rough! Now for the bad bits!!!...... The pool is absolutely freezing, I go away every year and love going in the pool but this one is so cold the only way to get in is to jump in, and the baby pool is even colder!! Although there was kids playing in it my daughter hated it and she refused to go in!! (She is 2) also the pool does not open till 10am this is crazy! I have never been sitting on a sunned waiting till 10am for a pool to open!!!! If you have older children you can not jump in can not use kilos can not throw a ball basically you can swim and that's it no fun in the pool!!!!! So very boring for older children!
the staff are not what we are used to and hardly speak or smile! Some are extremely rude and we met a few other couples who had to complain about the rudeness of the staff :( not good for a supposed to be 4 * hotel!!!! I like to go shopping of an evening and you need to walk a good 45 mins at speed to reach the shops there are no shops at the harbour like some of the staff will tell u!! You need to walk further than the harbour! So overall a beautiful looking hotel but needs new staff and needs a more fun family friendly atmosphere!!!! And a warmer pool!!!! :)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room 1 or above. There is basement rooms with no view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank vikki2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us for your holiday, taking time to share your opinion, for rating us and recommending us.
It delights us to read you like the architecture of the hotel, our All inclusive program and the food.
We apologize if opening hours and pool’s water temperature in July did not meet your expectations.
The rules in the swimming pool are for safety, as our guests health and wellbeing in the hotel premises is our responsibility. That is why we cannot allow in the pool area guests doing as they wish if it may ending in an accident.
We are a family friendly hotel, with play ground, mini club and children activities. You also have nature for you, as in the beach you can play to all you like.
Regarding our staff, we apologize if you felt they were somewhat rude, usually all guests pride the friendliness of our team members, which in your case it was not achieved.
Please recommend us and visit us once again. We will be happy to welcome you.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the H10 Palace with a group of friends. Starting with the positives: the hotel was very clean and well maintained, the rooms were big and spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, comfy beds and a modern bathroom. Hotel is situated within a 5 minute taxi ride into the Estepona old town where there are lots of lovely restaurants where you can sit outside and mix with the locals. Swimming pool was big and kept clean. There are a few areas where I feel the hotel could improve: the swimming pool does not open until 11am which is something I have not come across before, to me this seems very late. There are also very strict rules, i.e. no ball games in the pool, yet they allow water volleyball as an activity? Children not allowed to wear t-shirts in the pool. The rules are very strict - basically no fun allowed in the pool! Feel this could be relaxed a little. The hotel charges for the use of the safe, and for the use of an ironing service (no irons provided). Only minor criticisms, but feel the hotel could improve a little in these areas. Aside from that, this is a nice, modern hotel, with good food and in a good location. Ideal if you want a week relaxing in the Spanish sun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lots54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us for your holiday, taking time to share your opinion, for rating us and recommending us.
It is a pleasure for us to read your positive opinion of cleanliness and maintenance, the room, bed and bathroom and also the location.
We apologize if opening hours are did not meet your expectations.
The rules in the swimming pool are for safety and hygienic reasons as we want to avoid any sort of hazard by using non permitted playing articles and also avoiding any sort of infection. Our guests health in the hotel premises is our responsibility.
We do make the water volley activity, which is under a controlled environment to avoid any hazard from happening.
On our website you can see that we charge for the safe from the beginning and we never have advertised to have iron in room service.
Never the less, we appreciate all our guest opinion so we can keep on improving our service.
Please recommend us and visit us once again. We will be happy to welcome you.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary in April. We were instantly impressed with the reception area and the beautiful view. We stayed in a Privilege Room located on the top floor and couldn't have asked for a better view! We had a bottle of champagne in our room and a little car wishing us a happy anniversary which was a nice touch! The room was lovely and clean and my only complaint really was the balcony area. We were disappointed that this wasn't very well maintain and the little planted area was full of weeds. I appreciate this was low season but would still have been nice to have looked a little more cared for.

We only had breakfast at the hotel and ate out the rest of the time. The breakfasts were amazing!!! I've never had so much choice. My favourite was the fresh bakery and all the pastries!! The marina isn't too far from the hotel (a long walk or short taxi ride) with some lovely little bars/restaurants which we really enjoyed.

I would certainly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us, taking time to share your opinion, for rating us and recommending us.
It is a pleasure for us to read your positive review, as it means we met your expectations, which is our main mission.
Thank you for your tip of the thing you dislike, this will help us improve our service and room presentation.
Please do not forget to visit us once again.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful, large and clean hotel with a rather large pool garden and access to a quiet beach. We had a standard room on the 6th floor in the western wing of the hotel with two seaview balconies, one of them large, facing the adjoining resort and evening sun. A beautiful view over to Gibraltar. Our room was spacious and very quiet but we had read room tips saying that rooms right above the show room (in the eastern wing) were very noisy in the evening. Our sole complaint regarding the room was the A/C, although we had it on the whole time the air in the room was always very stuffy.
Pool garden was beautiful with two larger pools and one kiddy pool. The pools are open from 11am to 7pm. Pool garden opens to a quiet although a little bit rocky beach. A 5 minutes walk to Playa del Cristo which is a more sandy beach.
Although the hotel rules state that you are not allowed to reserve sunbeds by the pool, guests nevertheless do so early in the morning. After 9am it seems like all the sunbeds are taken although only about 10% of them are actually in use until around 11am when the pool opens. The hotel does nothing to prevent this.
There is a pool bar/restaurant which had good food and plenty of tables, both inside and outside. The lobby bar was comfortable to sit in and every night there was a show going on which we though never attended but seemed to be popular with children. The chill-out bar is a beautiful lounge, open from 7pm, with a majestic view over to Gibraltar (and Marocco on a clear day). As everywhere else in Spain, there are no designated areas for smoking, therefore you are exposed to (a rather lot of) smoking when lying by the pool or sitting outside in the bars.
There is a gym included in the price of the room. The spa seemed nice but we did not try it and it is not included in the price of a standard room.
Hotel seems to be understaffed, despite the very friendly staff being truly hardworking and trying their best. This is especially apparent during the breakfast buffet (we did not go all-inclusive), where the glasses and plates were routinely dirty or missing.
The wi-fi is included in the price of the standard room. Our room though had a terrible wi-fi connection but even when connected to the wi-fi in other hotel locations, including the lobby, the internet was so slow it was practically useless. We tried this with multiple devices and informed the hotel staff which could not fix the problem.
The location of the hotel is fairly remote but to us this was an advantage. Since most of the larger hotels are situated outside of the center of Estepona, the center still retains that Spanish charm, more than many of the other beach towns around. From the hotel there is about a 20 minute walk to the harbor where there are a lot of good restaurants and very nice atmosphere, although more touristic than the center. It probably takes around 40 minutes to walk to the center of Estepona, we usually took a taxi, about a 5 minutes drive for ca 8 euros each way.
There is ample parking at the hotel with spaces outside and also paid parking in the garage.
All-in-all we had a very nice stay at H10 Estepona Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berglind J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us, taking time to share your opinion and for rating us.
We are glad to read you like the hotel, location, space, cleanliness, pool gardens, your room and views, our restaurants and bars. This means we have achieve in your holidays what we aim our effort to, our guests having a good holiday.
What we do is ask for our guests not to reserve sunbeds so everyone can enjoy them. To provide sunbeds, our team is prepared to find an empty one in the pool area or bring you one as guests ask them. This way we compensate the practice some guests have of sunbed reservation.
Our apologies if in some peak times service was not what you expected, and for the possible internet failure during your stay.
All-in we appreciate all our guest opinions and feel really happy of offering you a very nice stay.
Please do not forget to recommend us and visit us once again.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

For a resort hotel this is definitely one of the better ones. We stayed here for 5 nights as my sister was getting married nearby. We went half board and had a Privilege room. The room had a fantastic view of the sea and the pool. The daily bottle of water and welcome bowl of fruit was greatly received. There is a garage just down the road that is good for buying bottles of water and snacks. The Privilege lounge is great for a drink and getting out of the sun for a while. I thought the selection of snacks was pretty limited though. We have stayed in hotels with lounges before and they have all had bigger selections. It was also hard to know what the snacks were as they are on a tray in the fridge with no labels.

Friends also staying at the hotel were disappointed there was no iron in their rooms or kettles (in the non Privilege rooms). The iron would have been useful when you are going to a wedding and your clothes are creased from travelling.

There was plenty of choice at the buffet, and definitely something for everyone. My only criticism was some of the dishes tended to be over oily and I would end up with oil on my plate making everything else soggy.

The hotel has a great spa but Privilege customers only get one free use of the spa. I think it would have been better if Privilege customers got free use of the spa and a good discount be given to non Privilege customers. It seemed to be pretty empty when we went, Beware you also have to wear a swimming cap (that is provided).

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with a sea and pool view or you could end up overlooking waste land and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickles2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us, taking time to share your opinion and for rating us.
We are glad to read you had an overall good stay and recommend us. This means we have achieve in your holidays what we aim our effort to, our guests having a good holiday.
We take into consideration all of our guests opinion to improve our service, so we are grateful for your tips.
We will be pleased to welcome you again.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Got exactly what we went for. If your looking for a relaxing, do very little holiday then this will be for you.
Location as already stated is fairly remote, nothing around, no restaurants or bars.
If you want these then taken a bus or taxi into Estepona or walk 20mins to the marina.
The Hotel was spotless and staff very friendly. Service not the quickest but come on your on holiday! take your time, relax and enjoy. The Hotel surroundings are beautiful we liked the way it was set out.
Sun beds very comfortable and not set in particular rows. Once you find your spot its great in the sun or shaded by the many Palm trees if that's what you prefer. Yes it was getting busier at the end of our stay 24th June but still had relaxed feel. More children but we enjoy watching them enjoy themselves. I would say great for people with smaller children and good for couples both young and old.
We opted for all inclusive which was the right choice for us as we wanted to spend the time mostly in the Hotel grounds, only needed a stroll around now and again. Liked the walk to the marina via the beach.
If you like swimming in the sea, beach at hotel no good as a lot of rocks when going in could easy cut yourself. Just take a little walk to the left follow the path round for 5 or 10 minuets and the beach is nice and sandy and easy to walk into the sea from there.
Room was again spotless, we chose to upgrade to Privilege again pleased we did had a lovely view of Gibraltar and the Atlas mountains in Africa. Not much point to sun beds on balcony as not much sun to lie in but again that's what the pool areas for isn't it?
Will we return, well that's the plan I’ll be very surprised if we don’t.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us, taking time to share your opinion and for rating us.
We are glad to read you had an overall good and relax holiday. This means we have achieve in your holidays what we aim our effort to, our guests having a good holiday.
We hope you recommend will be pleased to welcome you again.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our first impressions of the hotel were very good.The reception staff were welcoming,it was clean and our first meal excellent.Our room was well presented but being on the garage side of the building meant it could be noisy early morning when staff arrived or late at night when they left.The view was a rubbish dump with the sea in the distance!We should really have asked for an upgrade.
The hotel is cleaned by a very hardworking staff who are very friendly.We had no problem at all with the service in the dining room.The food choice is varied,well served and excellent.We were all-inclusive and although we had to wear the dreaded blue plastic wrist band,were impressed with the quality of the local wine and other drinks.There were plenty of options and we had no need to pay extra for specific brands which were mostly available anyway.
The pool area is well maintained but there is definitely a sunbed problem.After a couple of days without a sunbed we joined the race in a morning and had to put our towels on beds as everyone else did!!This brings me to my next point.There were three wedding parties staying when we did.From overheard conversations we gleaned that some of the guests were staying in appartments etc nearby and using the facilities of the hotel(mostly the pool and sunbeds!)
It is definitely a hotel for large groups and they made quite a lot of noise when returning to their rooms at night(3-4a.m.usually!)
For us there was another big problem.....cigarettes.I have never seen so many people smoking when we have been on holiday.There are no designated areas...anywhere goes.This meant that we had to inhale smoke by the pool area.As the beds are close together it is impossible to escape!A big downside for us was the smoking in the outside bar areas.After a couple of days we gave up the fight and took our drinks inside rather than suffer.I'm sure the hotel must address this problem as it will stop non-smokers using the hotel.
It is such a pity that although we enjoyed our meals and all the staff were hardworking and lovely,the large groups,the lack of space and the smoky outside areas will definitely put me off recommending Estepona Palace and sadly we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room and avoid the garage/road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10EsteponaPalace1, Assistant Manager at H10 Estepona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for trusting us, taking time to share your opinion and for rating us.
On one hand we are pleased to read you had a good impression of the hotel, its cleanliness, overall service and food.
We are also sorry to know you join to put towels on sun beds as you did not find any free one. We do find a free sunbed or bring out one from our stock if there isn’t any if our guests ask any of our team, to overtake the sun bed reservations that some guests practice.
Regarding the wedding extra people party, we try to find always non hotel guests to ask them to live the premises as they are not allowed to use them, to avoid any exploid.
Our apologies if felt uncomfortable with the behavior of other guests of the hotel.
We hope you change your mind so you can recommend us and visit us once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
7.7 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
Iberostar Costa Del Sol
#3 of 34 in Estepona
797 reviews
9.2 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
8.9 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 34 in Estepona
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Estepona Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Estepona Palace

Address: Avda del Carmen 99 | Playa del Guadalobon, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#8 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#8 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range: £68 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Estepona Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Estepona Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Estepona Palace Hotel Estepona
h10 Hotel Estepona
Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing