We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Cazador

El Cazador
Ranked #66 of 463 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first visit to El Cazador and the whole evening was fantastic, we were there to celebrate my Birthday and had booked a table of 9.

My brother in law Carl is an avid food critic and could find fault in a cheese sandwich, he ordered a medium rare steak which was cooked to perfection and was so big, it was a rare treat to see him speechless, he said it was the best meal he had eaten in years and will be returning on his next visit to Spain. The paella was amazing and beautifully presented, the staff were very attentive, happy and nothing was too much trouble. I can’t praise this restaurant enough.

I would say, ensure you book a table and to go there hungry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    51
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Family Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We ate at El Cazador on Saturday 8th February. We had eaten here in October 2008 so were well aware of the portion size. my wife had the prawn and mussel gratin and I had the avocado pear and prawn gratin. The cheese sauce used is delicious and creamy and very filling, also very warming on a cold damp winters day. Besides ourselves and another small party everybody eating here was Spanish which created a really nice family atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDC288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be Hungry or Share”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had searched the reviews for a restaurant that might have a reputation for a good paella as we all know we often get a tourist version that falls short of expectations. We were a party of six of mixed age group.

Also when we read about 'big portions' this makes me generally wary that quantity is being served up to make way for low quality. This is not the case with El Cazador.

This is an old school restaurant with experienced staff and a quiet competence. The atmosphere, the decor and surroundings over the New Year holiday period was similar to mountain restaurants that have been part of my life on ski trips. This restaurant has been in business for about 25 years and was busy when we were there.

I had read over some of the previous reviews and had made a mental note that we should share the starters as they were a tad bigger than average and this is what we did.

The paellas we ordered were very good and the difference between the 'standard' and the seafood seemed to be the addition of chicken to the standard paella. Both were above average and will not disappoint in both flavour and freshness.

We ordered paellas for two but they would easily feed three or four so this is my main message - share them among more than two or bring along a hungry dog.

If I were being picky I would say we would have preferred a little less liquid in our paella but the rice was cooked perfectly and we would choose to go back for more. Nonetheless it was an interesting variation with really excellent seafood.

The wines were reasonably priced in the €16- €22 range.

The service was perfect with no dramas.

Worth a visit!

El Cazador is located in Estepona Port on the lower right hand front (as you walk down the main central entrance road). Booking would be a good idea in high or any key holiday season and for weekends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliTravelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steaks and fantastic starters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for quite a few years and have never been disappointed. Our only problem is that we can rarely finish our meals as we haven't been able to resist starters. The seafood paella was fantastic. Make sure you are hungry before going there!
The staff are great too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Paella.. Great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We thought we has a nice Paella on the beach a few days back. Well it was nice, but the one (seafood) we had here was amazing.

Great ambience (we arrived at 8, thought it seemed a bit dead, but by 9;30 it was packed).

Just go there to eat, but bear in mind the meals are huge, one starter between 2 is enough, the mussels and prawns gratin was also amazing, very creamy. Don't think this is a place if you are counting calories!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cazador also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Cazador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing