We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas, great wine!”
Review of La Casa Del Rey

La Casa Del Rey
Ranked #7 of 479 Restaurants in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The best Wine-Bar in La Costa del Sol. We offer tapas and pinchos to go with over 50 wines by the glass. Located in the most charming house of Estepona city centre.
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great tapas, great wine!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Found this place thanks to good old Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The quality of food and the choice of wines we're quite superb! The service was a bit slow but the food was worth the wait!

Helpful?
Thank ianweatherbyblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    320
    84
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best Restaurants in Estepona with excellent taps and wine, great atmosphere and great service, also good price. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Go for Pinchos!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We visited La Casa Del Ray based on a recommendation from the owners of the Finca where we were staying in Caseres. We managed to get a table outside even though we hadn't booked in advance and ordered from the Pinchos menu. These delicious little pinches of food allowed us to try a variety of tasty treats and they didn't disappoint. Plenty on the hot and cold Pinchos menu for our fussy 12 year old too and the total bill for four of us, including wine came to €70 which we found to be the average cost of a two course meal with wine in the Estepona region.
The wine choice was interesting, in that you could choose from the standard wines that all of the local supermarkets carried or you could go for wines that LCDR recommended to go with their food. We selected a white, the Bolo Valdeorras 2013 which was vey nice, but more expensive at €20.
The service was not very attentive and we had to ask about a couple of dishes that we hadn't received but this didn't' spoil an enjoyable evening. We went for a 2nd visit, this time for lunch and the service was much better, depends who you get I suppose.
Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stumbled upon this place when visiting Plaza de las Flores and I'm so happy we did. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to describe dishes to us, as our grasp of Spanish is not as good as it should be. We opted for the Caesar salad and a range of pinchos, both were utterly amazing and really good value. We decided to eat inside as outside was particularly busy, and were pleasantly surprised to find that it was in fact a courtyard decorated to the highest standard yet extremely relaxed and inviting. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely staff, exciting food and a lovely selection of wines!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Durring our short stay in Estepona we found this lovely restaurant just nearby our hostel by the small charming plaza.

We highly recommend this restaurant if you love tapas and want something else than the traditional Spanish kind.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holmki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Del Rey also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 
Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Casa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing