We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fab design, well priced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fab design, well priced!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Just B&B for us but it's a fabulous hotel with some serious money spend on design and matched by great friendly and efficient service. Well placed just off the A7 (although you won't notice it's there) the Barcelo is definitely a great place to base yourself if you're exploring from Malaga to Gib - so it's not on the beach! However, lots of restaurants along the A7 in Estapona, Marbella and a somewhat tacky Peuto Banus (but great if you're partying in a crowd I'm sure)

The only annoyance is the limited TV (although I guess I should learn more Spanish) and the Internet (although free each device phone/laptop/ipad etc. has to have it's own code which expires on checkout - fine but we extended our stay twice so ended up surrounded by paper with codes on. I guess that's a small issue and won't bother many - no idea why that should happen nowadays though!)

Spa looked amazing but at €30 each per day (although if you get there at 10am they were doing 241) it seemed a lot to add when you just fancy a quick dip in the evening though.

I'd definitely stay again though - breakfast was great with a lot of options - I made it down everyday which makes a real change for me! Outdoor pool was lovely....

Room Tip: Higher floors do give you a view over the sea and local area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 469jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    278
    96
    20
    23
See reviews for
41
552
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Lovely clean relaxing hotel, not least as it is is child free. Lovely pool area and indoors very roomy areas and a large spa with a wide range of facilities. Food excellent with a wide range of healthy and tasty foods. The Nespresso coffee available is amazing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable . All staff very pleasant and helpful. Would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farges, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A new hotel/spa complex. Rooms are large and very clean with spacious bathrooms. Buffet breakfast with a large selection, fresh fruit, real coffee!! A very nice swimming pool area, robes in the room, towels at the pool. Although the hotel is not on the sea, there is a sandy beach with beach bar/restaurant (chiringuito) just 10 minutes walk/2 minutes drive from the hotel. Spa treatments available, but unfortunately we had no time to try them. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Everything is wonderful except for the location. The car is necessary to go to the main beaches and Marbella.
The hotel have a 5 star standard, nice room, nice pool, good breakfast. Spa very nice but quite expensive (30 euro for 90 minutes of sauna, beaches, etc)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pozzo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Returned last night from this hotel and feel the need to quickly do a review. Yes its off the beaten track but then Estepona is not your average same old same old touristy location. This is a quality hotel, I saw some reviews on other sites when we booked and was a bit nervous but on finding upon arrival that ebookers had not sorted our booking properly.. the Barcelo staff took over. They sorted the problem with ebookers and upgraded us to a pool view room for our trouble. This hotel lacks nothing if you are looking for an ideal location to explore this section of the coast. There is a shuttle to the beach but it can also be reached on foot by using the footbridge that sits along side the Mercadona which is a five minute stroll away. At Pepes beach you can get sunbeds with comfy matresses, a parasol, a drinks table and either complementary sangria or fruit for the cost of 4.50 Euro per person !! So back to the hotel ...amazingly helpful staff... excellent rooms ( I wanted to bring the super super super sized king bed home with us) great food (we only did B&B) brillaint outdoor pool etc..etc.. we did not try the spa but heard others praising the facility. If you are prepared to drive or spend a fair bit on taxis this is the hotel for you. As this is an adults only hotel if you are looking for a Benidorm style entertainment packed hotel then its not for you. Overall what we liked was that this hotel could quite possibly get away with classing itself as 5* instead of its 4* rating but unlike many unworthy others it does not !!!!!

I always think that seeing a countries native people using a facility is a good reference... most of the guests whilst we were there were Spanish holiday makers with the odd business person.. I thin k this soeaks for itself..... The Barcelo Estepona comes highly recommended !!!!

Room Tip: The only advantage of a pool view room is what it says on the tin ...the view because the whole hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUFCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel has recently been opened under the above name,as newly renovated and under new management.

It is a good clean and airy hotel
Location is not very good as it is located next to the main high way, there are no shops near this hotel.

the spa is very good and the staff try friendly and profesional.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
8.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
7.7 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa

Property: Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Address: A-7 Autovia del Mediterraneo, Km. 165, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#7 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#9 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only**** Hotel (belonging to the Barceló Hotel Group and formerly Barceló Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only) is a modern hotel recommended for adults (from 16 years old), located on the Costa del Sol, on the new golden mile between Estepona and Puerto Banús, just 600 m from the beach and surrounded by the best golf courses in the area. It is perfectly connected to Marbella (15 minutes away), and Malaga Airport, just 40 minutes along the motorway. The 93 rooms at the hotel have large terraces, some have an area of 70 m² and include their own hydromassage bath. There is also a deluxe apartment with a total surface area of 200 m², capacity for up to 5 people and a 110 m² terrace with hot tub. All the rooms are fully equipped for your convenience and stand out for their comfort and luminosity. Its U-Spa, with an area of 2,000 m², is the best Thalasso centre in Andalusia, with water extracted directly from the Mediterranean, making our Marine Therapeutic Circuit unique. It has more than 35 treatment cabins and offers the most innovative health and beauty services. The hotel also features a Lobby Bar and a Pool Bar, in addition to the Aguamar Restaurant, where you can enjoy a culinary offer that includes the innovative Healthy Gourmet concept. It also features meeting rooms boasting natural light and the latest technology. Enjoy a relaxing holiday only at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only****. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing