We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Spa Hotel well designed but in the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
194 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spa Hotel well designed but in the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, the room was large, specious and well designed. Comfy beds, air con, tv (news channels only), lovely and clean modern bathroom, a bath (hurrah) and a nice balcony facing the pool. Breakfast was well stocked with everything you need from fresh fruits to full english in beautiful surroundings. We dined at the restaurant and apart from ordering a steak which turned out to a fish steak the food was all in all fairly good. The pool area is beautiful, although trying to get a drink at the bar was a bit faffy since you had to ring reception everytime, for staff to come down and serve you. I had a massage in the beautiful and stunning spa area, with several different water areas, a double height pool area, pling plong music, aquatic tanks, chill out areas which was very relaxing. The staff here as always with Barcelo hotels we're attentive and friendly, a credit to the company. However the downside is that the hotel is miles away from everywhere, Esteponte is 16 euros by cab, Marbella 26 and the airport 100 each way, its all adds up. There are no restaurants or bars in the hotel vicinity. The hotel itself is great, however it is isolated and your taxi fare bill will be nearly the same as the hotel bill. Wi-fi is limited and you had to put a code in every 5 mins which is found annoying in the end.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    257
    90
    19
    22
See reviews for
38
508
20
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in may 2014. Modern, clean and nice room with a big double bed. We also had a big balcony with evening sun.The air-condition did not work very well so we had to sleep with the balcony door opened. The breakfast was very nice with almost everything you could need. Even the pool area was nice. Adults only which we appreciated. We also visited the spa and it was amazing. I definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Room was fantastic with a huge double bed. Reasonable terrace overlooking the pool and gardens. Although very close to the A7 we were not aware of the traffic at all. Even shot some film scenes in the garden without a problem. Pool bar was not open but it was fairly early in the season. Breakfast was good but I have had better for the same price elsewhere. We were in Room 16 facing the pool and thought it was one of the best positions in the hotel. Staff were very helpful but speak very little English.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nigecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a weeks break having read some mixed reviews about this hotel. I know the area very well, and I like the Barcelo chain, so I had no worries. Hotel was all I expected and more, adults only, as advertised. Booked bed and breakfast and the room was very well appointed with air conditioning a pool view, balcony and well stocked mini bar. Some other reviewers complained that it was quiet, it was, but thats why you book and adults only hotel, surely? All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The pool bar was closed for a few days, when the hotel was les busy, but all you had to do was pick up the phone at the pool bar, place your order and hey presto the delightful staff brought your order, be it a drink, or a very tasty bar snack, the Caesar salad was a particular favourite of mine! Their are plenty of local restaurants to eat at in the evening as I wouldn't recommend the evening buffet in the hotel. We didn't try the hotel restaurant in the evening, as the one night we booked it was a buffet night, which is why I wouldn't recommend the evening buffet! All in all a fabulous break, thanks Barcelo!

Room Tip: Floor one and above with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great for what I needed. I have to say I didn't utilise the hotel services to full extent as only slept in room at night and was out all day. As far as accommodation goes, it was very comfortable. However, I did chat to another guest who mentioned that the Spa was amazing. So definitely on my list to re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Da-silva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Enjoyed a weeks stay at the hotel and really couldn't fault it. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet was fresh and filling with excellent pastries, breads and coffee. The pool area is beautiful with plenty of room. The spa was beautiful.
Having not stayed in that area for some time it does take some time to find your bearings. The hotel sits right on the A7 with fast access to Puerto Benus and Marbella, and down the coast to some stunning quiet beaches towards Gibralter. Estepona is a little disappointing asa resort but does have some lovely beaches as you head out of town. There are very pretty little places like Playa de la Ducesse which is great for lunch or a night out. The very best thing about staying at this hotel was the bed, a stunning super king unlike anything you'll experience in a resort hotel. A great bonus. Altogther cannot fault the hotel and it was an excellent stay.
Unlike others I would eat in the hotel and avoid Aiden's place in Cancelada. The food there was overpriced and underwhelming. The bar food in the hotel is much better quality.
There was entertainment on the Thursday night due to the Bank Holiday provided by an excellent keyboard player/singer.

Room Tip: The pool rooms will have the best view but our room (203) even though it faced the road was quiet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_H0tel_Inspectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Enjoyed the hotel particularly the Spa and Pool which were excellent but the position within the area is not good. Once in the hotel you are not aware of the pretty awful surroundings but certainly you need a car or a taxi if you want to explore. I would not recommend this hotel for a stay of more than a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
8.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
7.7 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
1.2 mi away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa

Property: Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Address: A-7 Autovia del Mediterraneo, Km. 165, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#7 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#9 Family Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only**** Hotel (belonging to the Barceló Hotel Group and formerly Barceló Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only) is a modern hotel recommended for adults (from 16 years old), located on the Costa del Sol, on the new golden mile between Estepona and Puerto Banús, just 600 m from the beach and surrounded by the best golf courses in the area. It is perfectly connected to Marbella (15 minutes away), and Malaga Airport, just 40 minutes along the motorway. The 93 rooms at the hotel have large terraces, some have an area of 70 m² and include their own hydromassage bath. There is also a deluxe apartment with a total surface area of 200 m², capacity for up to 5 people and a 110 m² terrace with hot tub. All the rooms are fully equipped for your convenience and stand out for their comfort and luminosity. Its U-Spa, with an area of 2,000 m², is the best Thalasso centre in Andalusia, with water extracted directly from the Mediterranean, making our Marine Therapeutic Circuit unique. It has more than 35 treatment cabins and offers the most innovative health and beauty services. The hotel also features a Lobby Bar and a Pool Bar, in addition to the Aguamar Restaurant, where you can enjoy a culinary offer that includes the innovative Healthy Gourmet concept. It also features meeting rooms boasting natural light and the latest technology. Enjoy a relaxing holiday only at Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa - Adults Only****. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Barcelo so you can book your Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing