We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
Hants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute week at the hotel in April. Was advertised as 'luxury 5* hotel' which it definitely is not!! However we got a good cheap deal and you get what you pay for, so overall we were happy. The room was spacious and clean and the pool area was nice. None of the extra touches you get with a 5* hotel tho and the service is not at that standard either... For example they Checked us into a twin room when I requested a double and we then had to wait outside the double while it was being cleaned! There were not enough cushions for the sunbeds by the pool, there was work going on with chainsaws and lawnmowers round the pool in the middle of the day (hardly peaceful!) and the reception couldn't help us at all with best way to get back to spirit they didn't have a clue!!
Location of hotel is good, it's NOT in estepona though, it's about half way between Puerto banus and estepona but there is lots of nice restaurant and bars nearby and over the road. Taxi from the airport there was very pricey though - we were charged 125 euros! And the hotel doesn't offer a shuttle service as was also advertised in the hotel description when we booked.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazza28Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our goal that always pass a different experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.
We remain at your disposal and we hope to visit again

Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    221
    65
    9
    11
See reviews for
44
398
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

As others have written this is a rebranded Crowne Plaza and as a Royal Ambassador of IHG the standards are well known to me, this hotel is in need of several cosmetic refurbishments and service improvements to reach a true five star international standard.

The presentation is good however the provisions thereof are lacking, for example there are blackout curtains in the room but they are worn and full of holes, the lights on the headboard are clean on top but filthy underneath at the button switch, at 11pm the breakfast buffet already had slices of bread beautifully presented on display which by morning would be stale. We could pick little faults all day long...

The standard room is perfectly comfortable and in April we paid a very reasonable rate room only. The hotel is easy to see from the A-7 but could do with a sign for directions that new guests can find easily where to exit after reversing direction from the airport, which is about 200m back from the overpass just before a 'radar' road sign.

There is absolutely no point eating or drinking in the hotel as there are very good and low cost options adjacent, over the main road by foot bridge many more choices but it is a walk for the less able bodied. Note the hotel bars closed before midnight whilst we were there. Anything else you will need a car, whilst the hotel advertises as being Estepona it is neither there or Banus and a taxi from the airport would be very expensive. Local taxi and bus are available, however...

The question is would you go back? Well yes, providing the rates remain reasonable as I expect improvements will be made. Overall good and acceptable, worth considering if you don't mind being a little out of town and seek a more relaxed quality atmosphere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AyrshireBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Know that it is our aim that pass a pleasant experience and that's what we are working and trying to improve every day.

Best Regards,

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We returned yesterday from a 10 day B&B holiday, we stayed at this hotel 18 months ago so we knew exactly what quality and service we would be getting before we set off, that was actually the main reason for returning.
Prior to leaving we were aware that the hotel was no longer a Crowne Plaza or part of the IHG group, which was a bit disappointing as I am a Platinum Ambassador member and would have earned a load of points from a 10 day stay! It was now called the Grand Plaza, which was Ok as nothing could really change that much... could it?

We arrived late at night, as we had been to the hotel previously we knew exactly where we going, when we arrived at the hotel it was now called something totally different, "Senator Banus Spa Hotel" we looked at each other and thought, what the hell!

We were greeted by Merribel on the front desk, she was lovely and explained the name had changed again recently, I asked if we were in a nice room, she said yes a standard room on the second floor, that would have been OK if we hadn't booked and paid for a suite! After giving her my paperwork she very quickly changed the room to match the booking, very efficient.

The suite was very nice and spacious, two nice flat screen tv's on the wall in the bedroom and living room, as a family we don't always want to be out until late every night, sometimes we want to relax in the room, watch a movie, my daughter will be on the computer and so on, so we choose this type of room to give us a few home comforts.

My daughter wanted a drink from the fridge, unfortunately the fridge wouldn't open, we rang downstairs and they sent an engineer up, 30 minutes later and two engineers they finally managed to open the fridge, again very efficient but very poor at the same time.

The following morning we turned on the tv's unfortunately they only had one english channel "BBC World News" I do like to keep up with the news I don't want it to be the only channel available to me, my daughter was happy...not!

I rang the front desk and they told me they were programming the satellite and it would be better tomorrow, it didn't improve for the whole 10 days.
When we stayed previously it had a large movie selection and a large choice of english speaking channels.

On day three my daughter noticed a new sign had been put up, it said "this is an adults only hotel, no one under the age of 16 is allowed" well that's great my 15 year old will have to move out!

It is very nice around the pool, however rather than collecting your fresh clean towel from the pool everyday, you are given a small blue towel in your room and that lasts your whole trip!

I'm sorry to say that this hotel, whilst very nice with beautiful rooms and pool is not not 5 star, in my opinion it's the finishing touches that make a hotel 5 star and I'm afraid at the moment this hotel is not there yet, lets hope it changes in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment

Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Arrived the day it opened for the season and a new re-branding (former Crowne Plaza) and expected some hiccoughs. We weren't disappointed. There was a complete lack of organisation and a bit of a laissez faire attitude. Attention to detail and consistency was missing and a completely help yourself style breakfast was not what we expected or wanted. We did not have dinner in the hotel as this was also a buffet style service neither of which one would expect of a 5* hotel, which this is certainly not. The was a lack of hotel information on general display so it was not easy to know when things were happening or available.
The one saving grace was the staff who were very good and accommodating but unfortunately showed their lack of training and guidance in superior hotel technique.

I hope they get their act together as the staff deserve the hotel to succeed but on this showing it will be a steep mountain to climb.

Room Tip: We started in a deluxe but upgraded to Penthouse suite which suited us but the deluxe and mini suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tezzauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Banus Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your review because through this we have the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday, understanding the perception towards getting a product to suit.
I deeply regret not being able to meet your expectations, we fight every day, to have the quality expected of a hotel of its category, Inform the service is buffet dinner for guests so desire because we have two restaurants to the letter, with a typical Mediterranean and international cuisine. Although as you said earlier they are always hard and strive to get a product to live up to the expectations of our guests.
We very much in mind your impressions and work on improving the points marked for a future visit in their perception of the product received is totally satisfactory.

Best Regards

Abel Garcia
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
9.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
10.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
8.9 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Banus Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Banus Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Address: Carretera Nacional 340 KM 168, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#6 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Senator Banus Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our first hotel specially for adults. Perfect for honeymoons, romantic getaways or anniversaries, whether it is for a relaxing holiday as a couple or for having fun with your friends with our entertainment team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Banus Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Banus Spa Hotel Estepona, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing