We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for both a family holiday and a relaxing retreat with mates.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Azul Resort Estepona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mar Azul Resort Estepona
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for both a family holiday and a relaxing retreat with mates.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

May 16 to May 23rd 2014

The MARAZUL-Resort at Estepona has long been a favourite of ours, and we have very much enjoyed holidays there, for 6 years, almost since it was built. For the first time this year we stayed without our children, but with friends instead, and we can now say it is suitable for both a family holiday and a relaxing retreat with mates.

Most of the staff, particularly the security staff, have worked there over all the time we’ve visited, and we are treat them, and they treat us, like friends ! They are always around for help and advice, and they can rectify any little problem we may have within the apartments. We have stayed in a few different ones, but they are not all alike. Some have poor views, or in the shade much of the day. Our favourite is easily Brian’s apartment E5, in which we have stayed 4 times, the latest time for a week in May 2014. It has a great view over the Sea (we watched a fishing boat checking his lobster pots from our bed two mornings running) and over the gardens and pools. Brian keeps it in absolutely immaculate condition, and yet every year we find a little addition or improvement when we arrive. Find Brian’s details on his very own web-site : www.marazul-resort.com

There is no shortage of bars & restaurants within easy walking distance, the nearest being a 2 minute walk away ! Although we like splashing the cash occasionally on a posh meal in the very nearby 5-star Kempinski Hotel (4 minutes walk away from door to door) or in one of the fab restaurants in Laguna Village (8 minutes further) we have had many a cheap & cheerful nights (and an afternoon or two ! ) in Cruisos Beach Bar with our feet in the sand, just a 15 minute stroll along the beach……perfect !

Estepona is a lovely unspoilt town just 5 minutes in a taxi, 8 minutes in a bus, or a lovely 35 minute walk away, along a mixture of side roads, a tree-covered boulevard, and a promenade, and there are cafes and tapas bars on the way if things get too hot. Estepona is amazingly relaxing……local children walking around hand in hand with their grannies at 11.00 at night….it’s just the normal thing to do ! The choice of places for eating & drinking is amazing, from the cheapest (but full of character) tapas bars in the old town (nearest) to the chic restaurants around the marina (furthest away) with wonderful views of the piers full of bobbing boats.

We tend to re-book when we return from one holiday, for another, because we can’t wait to go back. And Brian’s apartment gets booked up early, particularly in high season (June through to September) but out of season prices are cheaper and the weather normally good too.

MARAZUL is not the cheapest place on the coast for a holiday, so...once you’ve tried the rest, try the best !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caterina008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    3
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at the exclusive MAR AZUL resort for a pre-booked 2 bedroom apartment for the 4 of us. We stayed in apartment E2. This so called luxury ground floor apartment didn't live up to our expectations.
List of findings:

• Surface of kitchen doors is getting off
• Cracks in living room walls
• Mold on main bathroom wall in the shower
• Garden chairs are worn out
• Only two garden chair cushions available
• Dirty kitchen and living room walls
• No cover on (very small) rubbish bin
• Not enough drinking glasses
• No cleaning service included!

Furthermore, the dishcloths in the kitchen were either a bit wet or dirty and worn out.
Most important we stated is the poor quality of the mattresses. We constantly felt the springs of the mattress on our body. Adding a mattress padding to each bed would be wise!
Finally, we didn’t find any instructions for using the television in combination with the skybox. The Skycard was also missing.

We contacted the owner immediately (by email) to discuss our findings. He felt sorry, but did not take any action. Although someone from the reception was sent to fix the TV.

During the second week we met other guests who were renting a three bedroom apartment in MAR AZUL. This apartment was much better maintained, much more luxury and better mattrasses. Even the rental price is less expensive.

We are used to renting very high standard villa’s throughout the years in Spain. This year we decided to rent a luxurious apartment, therefore we didn’t expect to be confronted with these findings as mentioned above.
No negative comments on the MARAZUL resort itself. It's a high quality resort with all luxury facilities available.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fastvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuelfrath, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We just got back from our summer vacation in MarAzul and write this review.
We are here now the 4th time and will come back next year.
It all started in 2011 and we wanted the first time of a private apartment for rent.
Looking for an apartment we met Mr. Brian Colling.
Of course, we never met personally, but only to email with him was so helpful that we chose for his apartment number E5 in Mar Azul.
His website is www.marazul-resort.com.
This decision was for vacations the best we have ever made!
Brian is absolutely correct, helpful, super friendly and takes care of all the issues immediately.
We have found our dream vacation.
About Mar Azul itself much has been written here, and we can only confirm everything.
The pool area is stunning, the staff friendly and helpful, the location right on the beach is priceless.
And within this resort is in our opinion Brian's apartment number E5 the absolute best.
Because the apartment is very tastefully decorated, the garden beautiful, the location and the views incredible. Everything is very modern and luxurious.
We always rent a car for the whole holiday (which we highly recommend), so we can sometimes make day trips or half day trips.
There are a plenty of beautiful cities to visit in Andalusia, such as Seville, Cadiz, Ronda, Ojen, Tarifa, Granada, etc.
In the evening you can refresh yourself in the pool or even in the sea.
Or we simply rest in Brian's garden, read a book, our daughter chats with her friends (thanks wifi in the apartment), swim in the pool or take a walk along the beach and collect shells.
You can even get a massage at the Mar Azul, everything is very professional.
In the evening it is then difficult to decide:
Either you can make a delicious dinner in the apartment, drinking a glass of wine and watch the sunset.
Or you can go in one of the many really good restaurants nearby in Estepona or Laguna Village.
One thing should be mentioned: The pool is so incredibly large, that it is never a problem to get a place on a sun lounger, although we prefer to lie in our (Brian´s) own garden, which is only a few steps away from the pool.
We would highly recommend to anyone this apartment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCJ3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family rented a very nice apartment (C12) from Frank and Shirley, they were informative and friendly before the trip and we were really looking forward to the arrival.

We also rent a car, which I recommend you to do, and drove to the hotel where we were greeted by a nice, polite and humorous man (we called him "the big boss"). He showed us around and we were really loving the hotel, even though it's a distance from everything (except from laguna village)!

We liked the room which had a modern and clean design and the balcony was also very nice with view over the palm trees etc. and also minor view over the pool and the sea.

We also travelled to Puerto Banús, Ronda, Marbella, Estepona and Setenil des Las Bodegas and these places were really nice and worth a visit.

We stayed here for 14 days, and who would believe that a 5-star rating could end up as a 3-star rating on the last day?

We woke up our last day and were immidiately called by the reception by the curly haired woman (the big boss' wife if im not mistaken... I feel sorry for him). She had a couple of days back blamed us for ruining the door to the apartment, and now she was calling asking us to leave, so or say, immidiately, even though we had agreed with "the big boss" to leave one hour later.

This made us frustrated and we asked if we could stay at the hotel because we had a late flight at 18:30, the answer was no! We then asked another person who told us we could use the pool for a couple of hours.

We put our bags im the car, only wearing our swimsuits and parked the car outside the hotel and went to the pool. We were then told that we couldn't stay one more time by the curly haired woman and she even threathened us to call the police if we didn't leave the hotel right away. So there we stood in the road outside the hotel, and everyone had to change to their normal clothes.

Summary:
Nice hotel, lovely apartments, nice pool, nice surroundings, all the staff except for the curly haired woman (who somehow is the manager!?), was helpful, polite, smiling, humorous.

To describe the woman: very rude, threathening, never smiling, unprofessional and she seemed bothered by us, which actually made some of us dislike going to the reception when we wanted some information, "afraid" that she would be there...

We can now understand why the hotel struggles to sell/rent out their own properties with her as the manager.

I'm sorry Franck and Shirley, we won't be coming back thanks to her, but we loved your apartment!

- Kristian

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank haughom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from a vacation in the MARAZUL Resort where we had a wonderful experience. We stayed in Brian's amazing E5 apartment ( www.marazul-resort.com,) which was splendid!! Brian leaves NO detail unattended to. From our initial contact with him he remained helpful and informative up to our return home. The apartment quite simply has everything that you could need....and then some more. In my un-biased opinion I think that apartment E5 is the best one in the resort.

The Resort itself is idyllically located in a peaceful and tranquil setting with breath-taking views over the Med. There is an excellent Pool Bar on site which serves excellent food (not just burgers and nuggets but some great salads) and yummy cocktails. We were travelling with our teenage children (18,17,13) and unfortunately during our stay there wasn't any other kids in the resort of similar ages......so they entertained themselves by going to the Laguna Beach Club about 8 minute walk away.....but missed the usual interaction with kids of similar age groups that you might get in the "bigger" resorts.

Security is very tight so you can rest assured that no un-invited guests are getting in past the 24 hours security guards. There are 2 life guards on duty from early morning to late afternoon and are great with the smaller kids.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this immaculately kept resort to couples and families with younger children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been going to apartment E5 at Marazul now for 6 years so I think that speaks volumes. The apartment has everything you could possibly need in it and Brian the owner gives you so much information about the apartment and Mar Azul. The apartment is super deluxe. modern, clean and extremely comfortable. Large flat screen tv with so many tv channels, wifi, stereo, DVD player, fully equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms, jacuzzi bath and a large lounge that opens up onto the patio/garden, 2 large bedrooms (master also leads out onto terrace/garden). The terrace has a large table and chairs, there are sun loungers too so you can chill from there and enjoy the wonderful views. This ground floor apartment is huge and perfectly positioned,... A few steps from the private garden is the huge swimming pool with waterfalls, jet sprays, a bridge, cabanas, and a few steps from the pool is the beach and sea so the view from the garden and patio is magnificent. There is a pool bar that serves food high season - lovely. The staff at Mar Azul are very welcoming and friendly. Recommend E5 highly and we can't wait to go back next year to Brian's wonderful apartment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MelTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed in Brian's E5 apartment. First of all, I haven't met Brian in person, but only by mailing I found him so helpful, open and kind. The general information he provided us about staying in Estepona was very very helpful.

Location of Marazul Resort: real beachfront, quiet with beautiful 40cm-190cm pool. and all of this still only 3 minutes driving or 10 minutes walk to Estepona. YOU DO NOT NEED TO USE HIGHWAY TO GET TO THE CITY. You can rent thousands of apartments in Costa Del Sol, but only few percent of them are directly on the beach. The rest is "behind the highway" with beautiful look on hundreds of cars.

Driving directions: 1h-1h30m driving from Malaga airport. It is easy to get there - for GPS use "Kempinski Hotel Estepona" - its next to Marazul.

When we arrived to our place I have realized that we have rented approximtely 120sqm spaceful apartment and moreover with 40sqm terrace. The apartment is simply huge for 4 person family and it can EASILY fit 6 person.
It contains 2 master bedroom. Two bathrooms (one with jacuzzi function bath). Big and sunny saloon and leisure terrace entered from saloon and one bedroom. As me and my wife are fans of cooking we were also delighted with fully equiped kitchen. Brian - only thing missing in your kitchen is raw steak sharp chef knife :).
All the place is finished with genuine materials. Equipped with TV, Stereo, library of DVDs, toys, even baby carriage and many more.

Location of the E5 apartment: - in my opinion apartment on 0 floor with terrace is the best for families with small children - the terrace is spacious and nice, the kids can play on it. If its too sunny you can use beach umbrellas provided. Also terrace is 10m close to shallow part of the pool. The kids can go there alone, and if something goes wrong you need 5 seconds to be there.

I think all apartments in Marazul have beautiful sea view.

We were Apr. 7-14. so out of season, the Mar Azul was almost empty so we feel very comfortable. The temp in the day was 20-26C. 5 days sunny, 2 days very cloudy, but no rain. This is not the time for hot holiday, but its perfect for a refreshing week break.
Anyway, kids were happy to use the pool, for me and my wife it was a bit cold. On cloudy days - you can use indoor pool. Good break is to visit Ronda - one hour of beautiful mounty road to astonishing historical city. You can also go to Estepona for nice walk on its old town.

Please imagine you wake up, open the terrace door and see the blue sea and the palms. On lunch you can have FRESH sirloin steak or shripms or 50 different fishes :) If you want it cold - eat finest iberico ham and gazpacho on terrace. For a drink - wine from supermarket. 300 kinds so it is hard to choose the one. ITS SPAIN. If you prefer mojito - simply buy fresh mint and limes :).

And do not go to Marbella, it is no longer Spain :). Its rather a one big shop and russian realty agency :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
4.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
3.8 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
5.5 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
3.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.0 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Azul Resort Estepona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Azul Resort Estepona

Property: Mar Azul Resort Estepona
Address: Apartment E5, Mar Azul, | Next to Kempinski Hotel,, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
#6 Family Hotel in Estepona
#10 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mar Azul Resort is an exclusive, luxurious and peaceful oasis in a prime South-facing beach-side location next to the Kempinski Hotel Estepona & Laguna Village, with panoramic views over the Mediterranean Sea. It comprises only 72 privately-owned luxury apartments (some of which are available for rental) & Aparthotel with leisure centre, in a magical setting of tropical gardens, sculptured swimming pools, fountains, waterfalls, and romantic thatched cabanas. The Mar Azul apartments encompass the external charm of traditional rustic Andalusian architecture, yet with every concession to todays' requirements for comfort, convenience, stylish outdoor living, and security. No effort or expense has been spared to provide the ultimate levels of luxury and comfort:- Top of the range air-quality, heat & cool control system throughout the apartment;. Under-floor heating with independent control to every room, including entrance hall & bathrooms. Infinitely adjustable sunken lighting incorporating 'mood-lighting' in lounge & dining area. High quality piped music system throughout the apartment, including bathrooms & terrace. Ultra modern kitchen featuring :- Siemens dishwasher, washing machine & tumble-dryer Stainless-steel fridge, freezer, microwave & cooker. Beautifully sculptured cupboard doors & granite worktops. Convenient marble "hatch" to dining area. Highest quality Travertino Marble on floors, walls and surfaces in both bathrooms, enhanced by:- Bidet in both bathrooms. Hydro-massage shower in a perfectly-matching marble cubicle. Rinsing shower over jacuzzi bath. "His & hers" wash-basins. Vast electrically heated mirrors which never steam-up ! Unfortunately, there's no rushing the ladies out of these bathrooms! For the security conscious, though never yet needed in an emergency, we have :- Video & audio entry system Magnetic key-cards Underground car park with remote-controlled gates Lift from garage Safety deposit box in master bedroom Alarm system and panic alarm button, Peep-hole in front door. These all combines to maximise the feeling of well-being on MARAZUL, enhancing the relaxing and care-free ambiance of this peaceful haven. "Outside living" is what it is all about here at Mar Azul. Vast full-width sliding doors open from both the master bedroom and lounge onto Sun-drenched terraces. Some ground floor apartments have their own gardens provided with dining table and comfortable chairs. This is the perfect place for those alfresco breakfasts in the morning. The perfect place for spreading yourselves out and relaxing during the day. The perfect place for a romantic candle-lit dinner in the evening 'til late. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar Azul Resort Estepona Hotel Estepona
Mar Azul Hotel
Mar Azul Resort Estepona Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing