We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this place a chance and make up your own mind”

Restaurante Strachan
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurante Strachan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #303 of 2,087 Restaurants in Malaga
Price range: US$17 - US$58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance and make up your own mind”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by another couple we met in a bar and although we didn't plan to eat there we passed the door and decided to give it a try. I'm so pleased we hadn't read the hostile reviews because we would have missed an excellent meal. Yes they do charge for the bread but it's only 1.50, and the practice is common. We found the staff extremely friendly, although they didn't speak much English so we had to busk a bit. The grilled prawns were delicious and sweet, I had a dish of braised pigs cheek which was truly delicious. the wine was good and cheap, and they weren't fazed when we ordered another dish from the tapas menu as well as a delicious rice pudding flavoured with cinnamon. Even the coffee was reasonable. Sure the local dishes in this part of Spain can be a bit challenging, and a vegetarian would die of starvation but it's good, earthy, local and filling. If you want MacSpanish eat across the street at Gorkeys.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    103
    50
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intimate”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Intimate venue with fantastic food. Made a change from the many brilliant tapas bars around.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shiner6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Unfortunately, we had sat and ordered our food before we looked up tripadvisor and saw the bad reviews. but we decided to stick it out. Big mistake! The portions were small and the quality was poor. We weren't expecting gourmet food for a circa €15 per head main course but did expect it to be of a much better standard. They also charge for the bread which they bring to your table without you asking for it-sly! We ate up as quickly as possible (which didn't take long, that been the only upside of the small portions) and left for dessert elsewhere. By far, the worst meal that we had during our 10 day stay in Spain which took in Nerja, Granada and Malaga.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I honestly don't understand all the bad reviews of this restaurant...I have eaten at Strachan 4 times this year and I don't even live in the same country!! The tapas are lovely. I have also tried the spaghetti bolognese which was perfect. And the wine is of high quality. The biggest surprise is always when the bill arrives-I honestly think its very good value for money and we spent a lot less than we would normally on a meal for 2 with a bottle of wine...
The restaurant itself is lovely inside. We have sat both inside and out. We've had no problem with the language barrier as they offer an English version of the menu and I had no problems ordering anything. We will definatley eat there again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Costa_Azul_9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dont do it :)”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

tourist trap, bad service and food. its nice to sit outside on a lovely street but i would only recommend ordering water.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Strachan also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Strachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing