We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Moroccan cuisine in Málaga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of restaurante Al-yamal

restaurante Al-yamal
Ranked #48 of 1,956 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centro
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Moroccan cuisine in Málaga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

and of the best I ever had. I have lived in Málaga most of my life, and this is one of our family favourites, and we are quite picky ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haidee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    99
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Having been in malaga for 5 days now, we were bored of the standard tapas served in the majority of restaurants. Having seen this restaurant at number 20 on trip advisor i thought we should give it a try. It was a little difficult to find at first ... we also thought it was closed as the doors were shut. Inside the restaurant is small and quaint but very nicely decorated. The waiter (owner?) Provided us with an english menu however we asked him for his recommendations, all of which turned out delicious. We had pitta bread and humous to start followed by a kofte, chicken tagine and beef with vegetable cous cous. We also ordered the mint tea with orange blossom water to finish which came with a selection of sweet biscuits. The food was delicious, the service was great as was the atmosphere. Just because this restaurant isnt number 1 on trip advisor you shouldnt rule it out, my boyfriend and i are huge foodies....we love good food (quality over quantity) and we highly recommend a visit to this restaurant. Its certainly not the cheapest place to eat...it came to just under €60 for 2 soft drinks, 4 dishes and a pot of tea with a selection of biscuits....however you will leave with a full tummy and wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMayo7514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT food, waiter gave us amazing recommendations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We LOVED this restaurant! The waiter (maybe owner?) was very knowledgeable about the history and culture behind the food and took the time to share his recommendations. This place is definitely worth visiting, we would go back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lsr1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

For a really good couscous, this is the place to go. It had been highly recommended by friends, so we booked to try it on the opening night of Málaga feria. What a brilliant start to our evening! Although a couple of dishes had already been suggested by our friends, we decided to let the restaurant decide what would be best - and we weren't disappointed. Effectively, we got a 5-course meal! Hummous and pitta bread to begin, then a starter of keftas (meat patties) with a little salad, followed by lamb pinchitos. The main was a mixed tagine of lamb, beef, chicken and vegetables with couscous and a delicious gravy. We were pretty full up after all that, so asked for a bit of a break before finishing with a tray of extraordinary mint tea with little arabian sweet cakes. Five courses plus drinks, yet the bill was only €26 each. We will DEFINITELY return, and although it is tempting to order the beef in plums that our friends recommended ...... it is also tempting just to let them bring us whatever they feel like again! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TamaraEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent arabian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent arabian restaurant.As I have seen the exterior I was a bit scared,but when I came in,I was from the start nicely surprised.The restaurant inside is nice and cozy.The staff/owner is very pleasent.The meal was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank itp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed restaurante Al-yamal also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to restaurante Al-yamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing