We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Domus
Ranked #71 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We got an excellent deal even extended our stay. The room was adequate, it was a twin room with two single beds and it was me and my husband traveling so that was interesting. The location is excellent very close to the beach like a 5 min walk. The beach area has some great sea food restaurants. The staff was great and spoke English too. Two stars less because our bathroom gave out some weird odor and it was stifling to stay in there longer than required

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is located in Pedregalejo - a fisherman area of Malaga. Thus, you are closely located to the beach and to several good seafood restaurants. From the city center it is a bit further away, so you will need to take a bus to get there. Hotel seems to be recently renovated, has a nice terrace and a bar, rooms are clean and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilze_tolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here to go to the beaches of Pedregalejo. Nice, recently refurbished hotel. Free internet (both wifi and a pc at the reception). Our room was clean and comfortable with airco, thought there was not too much natural light, and the bathroom didn't have window or exhaust fan, so it was always humid and the towels weren't dried there. You should pay for the breakfast which seemd to be ok, but we went to the nearby local bar. There are free parking places in the streets nearby. The airport is around 30 minutes driving.
Don't miss Tapas Elcano 44 restaurant on route to the beach: 2€ for each tapas and all of them were delicious, and we were accompanied only by malagueños.
Altogether very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street view if you like natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Due to our last minute booking, i guess we got the room with minimal natural light and resembled a cell! We did see some other rooms that looked more pleasant but weren't available. The staff were very friendly and it has a nice courtyard.

Also annoyingly wi-fi only worked in the shared area and not in the rooms! The hostal is a good 10min walk from the beach and is good, modern option compared to other hotels in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank the_beanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Wasn't really sure what to expect at the prices but it looks like it had just been refurbished, some work was still going on but only at reasonable hours. The room looked like it had never been used before. Decor of the hotel was very traditional, tiles and marble stairway. The room was clean, big, airy, with a modern pristinely clean bathroom with a strong hot shower.

Linen and towels were provided, the room had aircon, a safe and free wifi. They also did a laundry service for a price and you could request a hairdryer if you needed one.

Reception was 8am til 11pm but you got a key for out of hours. The staff were friendly but generally had very basic English so communicating had to be creative!

The local area of Pedragalejo was very spanish and not very touristy at least when we went in December. It took us about an hour to get the on 2 buses from the airport, the taxi back to the airport was about 27euros.

The beach is about 5 minutes walk, the beachfront is gorgeous there, really peaceful, sun facing and lined with bars and very nice seafood restaurants. In between the beach and the hostel is a supermarket for supplies but the hostel did sell a light breakfast if you were up in time. They have an outside terrace which is nice to eat on, or inside tables if it's chilly.

The weather was nice even in December, but check the weather reports as apparently that can be the rainy season.

All in all I felt that I wanted to write a review because the hostel was such good value for money and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mairiphinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Not perfect, but a fantastic value for the price. Clean and spacious.
Stayed here 2 nights.
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, low price. Bathroom in room as nice as most 3 star hotels if not better. Safe box in room. Air conditioning in room. Ample closet and a small couch as well. Wi-fi available and fee.
Cons: Though the site I found it on quoted it as being on the beach, it is about a 10 minute walk. (Actually better, since the beach is lined with restaurants and would be too noisy).
Staff ok. The guy who checked us in was very nice but was not there the rest of our stay. The woman who was there most of the time was not able to help us. Wifi did not work in my room, and I did not get sufficient help in resolving this matter.
Important:
I would recommend staying on the top floor, since the bottom floor includes the lobby with a door that slams shut frequently. We were in room 205, which was great- the only glitch was a noisy air conditioning unit (but I always wear ear plugs when I travel so it didn't bother me much).
I would skip the 4 Euro breakfast- there is a grocery store on the way to the beach that has a pastry shop and coffee bar inside in addition to produce and anything necessary for a picnic on the beach.
The beaches are clean and pleasant in the morning. By the afternoon, litter is carried in with the tide and the small crescent shaped beaches fill up. The beach is lined with several restaurants, many that serve fish and a few with other options- the prices very reasonable.
Also, this area is only about a 20 minute walk along the shore toward Malaga center. I would stay here again during the week, when locals are at work and the beaches are not as crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ToniTravelerFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Excellent value for 20 EUR per night! Hotel is clean and tidy, reception personnel is friendly and for this price you even get toasts with some jam and butter for breakfast. Located in a quiet residential area, to a beach with abundance of restaurants it is less than 10 minutes walk. All the city centre attractions, shopping facilities and nightlife are easy reachable by bus, service #11 runs about every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Humaina
#65 of 89 in Malaga
97 reviews
Hostal Moscatel
#57 of 89 in Malaga
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
391 reviews
Campanile Malaga
#56 of 89 in Malaga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus

Address: Calle Juan Valera 20, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Pedregalejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Domus is located in the quiet neighborhood of Pedregalejo, in Malaga, only 5 minutes walk from the beach of the same name. All rooms are elegant and have air conditioning / heating, flat screen TV and Wi-Fi. The rooms have a contemporary design with wooden floor, desk and private bathroom. The Hotel Domus has continental breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing