We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Domus
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It was a bit far from centre (but no prob with bus/night bus) but very close to beach. Very nice and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kamilkakvietok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
65
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We got an excellent deal even extended our stay. The room was adequate, it was a twin room with two single beds and it was me and my husband traveling so that was interesting. The location is excellent very close to the beach like a 5 min walk. The beach area has some great sea food restaurants. The staff was great and spoke English too. Two stars less because our bathroom gave out some weird odor and it was stifling to stay in there longer than required

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is located in Pedregalejo - a fisherman area of Malaga. Thus, you are closely located to the beach and to several good seafood restaurants. From the city center it is a bit further away, so you will need to take a bus to get there. Hotel seems to be recently renovated, has a nice terrace and a bar, rooms are clean and modern.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilze_tolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here to go to the beaches of Pedregalejo. Nice, recently refurbished hotel. Free internet (both wifi and a pc at the reception). Our room was clean and comfortable with airco, thought there was not too much natural light, and the bathroom didn't have window or exhaust fan, so it was always humid and the towels weren't dried there. You should pay for the breakfast which seemd to be ok, but we went to the nearby local bar. There are free parking places in the streets nearby. The airport is around 30 minutes driving.
Don't miss Tapas Elcano 44 restaurant on route to the beach: 2€ for each tapas and all of them were delicious, and we were accompanied only by malagueños.
Altogether very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street view if you like natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Due to our last minute booking, i guess we got the room with minimal natural light and resembled a cell! We did see some other rooms that looked more pleasant but weren't available. The staff were very friendly and it has a nice courtyard.

Also annoyingly wi-fi only worked in the shared area and not in the rooms! The hostal is a good 10min walk from the beach and is good, modern option compared to other hotels in the area!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank the_beanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Wasn't really sure what to expect at the prices but it looks like it had just been refurbished, some work was still going on but only at reasonable hours. The room looked like it had never been used before. Decor of the hotel was very traditional, tiles and marble stairway. The room was clean, big, airy, with a modern pristinely clean bathroom with a strong hot shower.

Linen and towels were provided, the room had aircon, a safe and free wifi. They also did a laundry service for a price and you could request a hairdryer if you needed one.

Reception was 8am til 11pm but you got a key for out of hours. The staff were friendly but generally had very basic English so communicating had to be creative!

The local area of Pedragalejo was very spanish and not very touristy at least when we went in December. It took us about an hour to get the on 2 buses from the airport, the taxi back to the airport was about 27euros.

The beach is about 5 minutes walk, the beachfront is gorgeous there, really peaceful, sun facing and lined with bars and very nice seafood restaurants. In between the beach and the hostel is a supermarket for supplies but the hostel did sell a light breakfast if you were up in time. They have an outside terrace which is nice to eat on, or inside tables if it's chilly.

The weather was nice even in December, but check the weather reports as apparently that can be the rainy season.

All in all I felt that I wanted to write a review because the hostel was such good value for money and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mairiphinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Not perfect, but a fantastic value for the price. Clean and spacious.
Stayed here 2 nights.
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, low price. Bathroom in room as nice as most 3 star hotels if not better. Safe box in room. Air conditioning in room. Ample closet and a small couch as well. Wi-fi available and fee.
Cons: Though the site I found it on quoted it as being on the beach, it is about a 10 minute walk. (Actually better, since the beach is lined with restaurants and would be too noisy).
Staff ok. The guy who checked us in was very nice but was not there the rest of our stay. The woman who was there most of the time was not able to help us. Wifi did not work in my room, and I did not get sufficient help in resolving this matter.
Important:
I would recommend staying on the top floor, since the bottom floor includes the lobby with a door that slams shut frequently. We were in room 205, which was great- the only glitch was a noisy air conditioning unit (but I always wear ear plugs when I travel so it didn't bother me much).
I would skip the 4 Euro breakfast- there is a grocery store on the way to the beach that has a pastry shop and coffee bar inside in addition to produce and anything necessary for a picnic on the beach.
The beaches are clean and pleasant in the morning. By the afternoon, litter is carried in with the tide and the small crescent shaped beaches fill up. The beach is lined with several restaurants, many that serve fish and a few with other options- the prices very reasonable.
Also, this area is only about a 20 minute walk along the shore toward Malaga center. I would stay here again during the week, when locals are at work and the beaches are not as crowded.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ToniTravelerFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Pedregalejo
Hotel Elcano
Hotel Elcano
#51 of 88 in Malaga
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#42 of 88 in Malaga
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus

Property: Hotel Domus
Address: Calle Juan Valera 20, 29017 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Pedregalejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Domus is located in the quiet neighborhood of Pedregalejo, in Malaga, only 5 minutes walk from the beach of the same name. All rooms are elegant and have air conditioning / heating, flat screen TV and Wi-Fi. The rooms have a contemporary design with wooden floor, desk and private bathroom. The Hotel Domus has continental breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domus Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing