We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient once you find it..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of the hotel & in fact is easier to get to on foot compared to car. Literally, exit the arrivals door, take a left & walk down the sloe, keeping to the left-hand side by the retail outlets.

The hotel is very basic - there is no restaurant (just a breakfast buffet) & no extra facilities such as gym etc. but is ideal for accommodating day trips up & down the Costa del Sol & up into mountains.

There is a truck-stop restaurant next door which is surprisingly cheap.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_McS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Brian_McS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We hardly slept when we stayed as the air conditioning was noisy and we could hear music playing in another room through the wall which kept us awake all night. We were assigned a smoking room which smelt of cigarettes despite the fact that I booked a family room through Booking.com. When we arrived we decided not to complain as I had managed to carry one of our children to the room without waking her up, but I did not like them sleeping in a room which smelt like this. It's not very practical to walk to the airport from this hotel without walking along the hard shoulder of dual carriageway and then along a dirt track past some undergrowth so be prepared to pay €19 flat rate for an 800 meter cab ride. Otherwise the staff were nice and the hotel was generally clean. Fine if you need somewhere to stay up all night working or watching TV, but don't expect to get much sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Will T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the room and noise from the air conditioning prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were delighted to see the Cleanliness and Service were highlights of your time with us. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously and we have shared your comments with the staff. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was closest to the airport though you need to take a cab there for 20 euro. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Unfortunately it was very inefficiently soundproofed and you could hear what was going on outside, both inside and outside the hotel.
It is a okay place to stay when arriving late to Malaga.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Evelina S,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. It is pleasing to know you appreciate our convenient hotel location and friendly hotel staff. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience. However, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the noise challenges encountered. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Close to airport. Best choice to stay before or after your flight.
I flew to Malaga at 2am, this hotel is convenient to sleep when not working rental car. A taxi to the hotel at night 20 euros, although there is very close. In the morning to the airport 3 euros per shuttle, 100metrov the left of the hotel stop.
Good hotel for one night. Clean, comfortable rooms. The room has tea and coffee.
Bathroom was quite spacious and pure. Restaurant meals were good.
The staff who were extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here overnight before travelling on to Benalmadena. This is the 3rd year we have done so as it makes our holiday start that little bit earlier. Hotel is easy to get to, just get on the bus at airport and keep an eye on your left hand side once you pass the San Miguel Brewery ring the bell when you see HI sign. On check in present your bus ticket and you'll get the cost (€3 each) refunded. Hotel is clean, comfortable and has friendly staff. Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment but you are basically getting what you pay for. I will be returning!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eustu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for one night after arriving on an overnight flight at 3 am. It truly is very close to the airport, but a little tricky to drive directly to. Not recommended for tourists, but for a transit stay. Breakfast was all bread! But, overall it was good for the price. Bring your own lotion, shampoo, etc...!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tressa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here last weekend and didn't want to pay the 20€ taxi fare for the short ride as I've read from other TA members. So we figured out the walk. We arrived at 2am so the road was quiet. You exit the airport and turn right. Walk along the edge and you'll see the airport car rental signs. Stay on the right as long as the road in the middle is split. When you see the roundabout approach, the 2 separate lanes will merge. I guess during the day there can be a bit of traffic. You would have also just passed under an overpass that goes across. Here you have to cross the road to get to the left side. You see commercial buildings there. You will need to climb the silver road barrier and cross the grass. With a heavy suitcase that might be difficult.
Now you can walk on this left side of the road either in front of the buildings or use the parallel little street behind the buildings. I recognised the Niza Cars place and we walked back 2 buildings to get to the parallel road. Just walk straight until you see the highway in front of you and there will be a little tar road to the left that leads you straight to the Holiday Inn. There is a shop with big bath tubs outside. In total I think the walk was 15min max.

About the hotel, it's ok for one night. We had to ask to exchange our smoking room for a non smoking. It was clean, the reception staff nice and the breakfast quite good. They have the typical Spanish breakfast (toast with tomatoe puree and olive oil), jam and meats, nice coffee variations, but not so great juice.
The bus to get into Malaga (either local bus or the A airport bus) leaves from across the highway when you exit the hotel. So you have to walk left and pass the blue bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcrazy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Travelcrazy013,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great to know that you found our reception staff to be nice and the breakfast served met your liking.

I truly hope that the next time your travels bring you back to the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
0.8 mi away
Campanile Malaga
Campanile Malaga
#56 of 89 in Malaga
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Budget Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Malaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
Hotel Malaga Nostrum
#45 of 89 in Malaga
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#20 of 89 in Malaga
306 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Humaina
Hotel Humaina
#66 of 89 in Malaga
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport

Address: Avenida Velazquez 294 | (Junto N-340), 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the closest Hotel to Málaga International Airport. The brand new Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is a comfortable and modern establishment ideally suited for both the Business and Leisure Traveller. If your flight is arriving late or you have an early departure time, and need a comfortable and familiar place to stay, this is the ideal place to stop over. SPECIAL OFFER:If you reach the Hotel via Public Transport (Bus 19) we will reimburse the Bus Ticket. Don't Miss Out!! Inaugurated on the 26th of June, 2008 its fantastic location makes it the ideal base camp to start off your day in the Malaga Area. Located directly on the N340 Motorway and with easy access & connections to all major city ring roads, the Holiday Inn Express Málaga Airport is surrounded by the Business Parks of Guadalhorce, Villa Rosa, and San Luís; and only a 2 minute drive (800m) from the Airport!For the leisure traveller the Hotel is next to Málaga's main beaches such as Guadalmar, Torremolinos and Benálmadena as well as Málaga City Centre.In the morning, we offer a delicious COMPLIMENTARY Continental Buffet Breakfast to all our guests! Both Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Access (HSIA) are available (at a charge).And now we offer a Limited Dining Service (Monday-Thursday) in our 'Restaurante La Biznaga' for 12 Euros + VAT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Hotel Malaga
Holiday Inn Express málaga
Holiday Inn málaga
málaga Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Malaga Airport Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing